Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 30th May 2013, 04:13 AM
martyfelker Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Floyd, VA
Posts: 84
linuxfirefox
Raid5??

Has anyone tried installing FC 18 or 19 (new Anaconda) on an existing RAID 5 system (I have installed Debian in software RAID5 as md0). Fedora 17 installs RAID 5 as md1 without a hitch (/boot on seperate partition of course). If you have let lime know the steps you took using the new Anaconda. Otherwise I'm just upgrading to o19 beta from 18 which was a FC 17 upgrade (using Fedora. The upgrade to FC 19 will use yum --releasever=19 distro-sync --nogpgcheck
  #2  
Old 30th May 2013, 07:17 PM
rtguille Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 91
linuxfirefox
Re: Raid5??

I can say that with F19b RC4 you can install (and re-install over it) to:

sda:
* sda1: swap
* sda2: /boot
* The rest of sda was left unpartitioned.

* sdb1, sdc1, sdd1, sde1, sdf1 as a md raid5 software raid.

You need to use Custom Partitioning for that.

First create the /boot and swap partitions. Restrict them to the disk you want
them to be (there is a button for that, the one with the 'tools' icons).

Then create a / partition, make if smaller at first. Then restrict it to the
disks you want it to make the raid5. Then switch it to raid and select raid5 and
change the size back to the maximum and 'update settings'.

I still do not recommend to have the / partition on a raid5 device, but it can be done.
  #3  
Old 30th May 2013, 07:51 PM
martyfelker Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Floyd, VA
Posts: 84
linuxfirefox
Re: Raid5??

Well yeah. But custom [attioning in FC 17 is vastly simpler. I have been using Linux since 1996. A bells-whistle installer is the last thing I need. Besides the system already has a Debian RAID5. The odds of the news Fedora installer picking that up is remote. Besides my question was not how to do it - I know that - its was if anybody had actually DONE it.

BTW I have seperate /boot an / partition and no swap file (I have 24 GB of RAM). I'm posting this from my FC 19 RAID 5 which is workinig great (can run in degraded mode if need for example). I have a program which I believe can backup the entire array so I'm set.
  #4  
Old 30th May 2013, 08:25 PM
rtguille Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 91
linuxfirefox
Re: Raid5??

Quote:
I know that - its was if anybody had actually DONE it.
Well, i installed it to a kvm guest, and then installed it over again and it worked both times. I think it count as a yes, at least strictly speaking. :-)
  #5  
Old 31st May 2013, 01:14 AM
AdamW Offline
Fedora QA Community Monkey
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 4,204
linuxfirefox
Re: Raid5??

There's no reason it wouldn't work. anaconda reads most existing filesystems, certainly including md raid sets. The partitions should show up on the left hand side of custom partitioning and you should be able to do whatever you like with them; delete them, reformat them, assign a mount point in the new Fedora install to them, whatever you like.
__________________
Adam Williamson | awilliam AT redhat DOT com
Fedora QA Community Monkey
IRC: adamw | Twitter: AdamW_Fedora | identi.ca: adamwfedora
http://www.happyassassin.net
  #6  
Old 31st May 2013, 04:52 AM
chrismurphy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 970
macoschrome
Re: Raid5??

I've done this before quite a few times and it is possible. What I haven't done is start with Debian first, but it uses the md driver same as Fedora so I don't see why that'd be a factor. The confusing part is Fedora's installer as a first step shows only physical devices, not LVs or md devices. So you must choose all, and only, the physical devices that make up the LV's and md devices. Then in Manual Partitioning the LV or md device will be seen and you can specify it for use with Fedora. If it's root, you will have to reformat (create a new file system).
 

Tags
raid5

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Did I kill my RAID5? erasmix Using Fedora 0 1st March 2010 04:09 AM
Software Raid5 seabird Using Fedora 8 24th July 2009 08:41 PM
Is this my software raid5?? seabird Using Fedora 0 13th March 2009 11:36 PM
Raid5 Rebuild nemo2005 Hardware & Laptops 1 24th July 2005 03:19 AM


Current GMT-time: 09:28 (Saturday, 25-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Molfetta - Marion Instagram Photos - Katwijk aan Zee Instagram Photos