Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 11th December 2012, 09:45 AM
satimis Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,398
linuxubuntufirefox
About RAM speed

Hi all,

This is a newly built PC with following config

AMD 8-core FX-8150 CPU
Motherboard ASUS M5A97R2.0
Video card ASUS HD6450 Silent 1GB DDR3
Hard Disk WD 2TB Black Series
RAM Kingston HyperX KHX1600C10D381K2/16G (2x8G) (Blue Memory)
OS Ubuntu 12.04 desktop 64bit

Installation w/o problem. PC is now working.

$ sudo lshw -short -C memory
Code:
H/W path             Device     Class       Description
=======================================================
/0/0                            memory      64KiB BIOS
/0/4/5                          memory      384KiB L1 cache
/0/4/6                          memory      8MiB L2 cache
/0/4/7                          memory      8MiB L3 cache
/0/2c                           memory      16GiB System Memory
/0/2c/0                         memory      DIMM Synchronous [empty]
/0/2c/1                         memory      8GiB DIMM DDR3 Synchronous 1333 MHz 
/0/2c/2                         memory      DIMM Synchronous [empty]
/0/2c/3                         memory      8GiB DIMM DDR3 Synchronous 1333 MHz
Showing the RAM speed is 1333 NOT 1600?

ASUS M5A97 R2.0 Specification
http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/AMD...specifications

Kingston HyperX KHX1600C10D381K2/16G (2x8G) (Blue Memory)
http://www.kingston.com/us/memory/hyperx/blu

The RAM sticks are inserted on slot-1 and slot-3
(counted from the Power Supple Connectors-socket)

Did I make mistake here? Pls advise. TA

B.R.
satimis
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11th December 2012, 11:21 AM
Yellowman
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
linuxfirefox
Re: About RAM speed

Quote:
DESCRIPTION FEATURES
Kingston's KHX1600C10D3B1K2/16G is a kit of two 1G x 64-bit • JEDEC standard 1.5V (1.425V ~ 1.575V) Power Supply

(8GB) DDR3-1600 CL10 SDRAM (Synchronous DRAM), 2Rx8
memory modules, based on sixteen 512M x 8-bit FBGA compo-
nents per module. Total kit capacity is 16GB. Each module kit
has been tested to run at DDR3-1600 at a low latency timing of
10-10-10 at 1.5V.The SPD's are programmed to JEDEC stan-
dard latency DDR3-1333 timing of 9-9-9 at 1.5V.
Each 240-pin
DIMM uses gold contact fingers. The JEDEC electrical and
mechanical specifications are as follows

You will need to increase the ram speed in bios and also alter the cas timings to get DDR3-1600
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th December 2012, 12:35 PM
bob Online
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 69
Posts: 22,084
linuxfirefox
Re: About RAM speed

moved to Linux Chat (Ubuntu involved, not Fedora)
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th December 2012, 02:36 PM
satimis Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,398
linuxubuntufirefox
Re: About RAM speed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yellowman View Post
You will need to increase the ram speed in bios and also alter the cas timings to get DDR3-1600
Hi,

I got it.

On BIOS
Memory Frequency - Auto

change "Auto" -> "DDR3 1600"

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th December 2012, 11:35 PM
Maryyy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 575
linuxfirefox
Re: About RAM speed

Just out of curiosity, does it now say 1600 in lshw or still 1333?

I'm curious, becasue I have similar Kingston memory, but it's XMP capable. After selecting the XMP (1600Mhz) profile in BIOS it was still at 1333, not only reported by BIOS, but also by lshw.

After forcing it to 1600Mhz it's reported as running at 1600Mhz in BIOS, but not in lshw, that still reports 1333.
Memtest86+ reports correctly 1600Mhz and I did few benchmarks and it is technically really running at 1600, though only 1333 reported by lshw.
Also, I had to raise voltage to 1.55V (1.53V reported), otherwise even if it was 100% stable even in prime95's blend, it refused to boot in maybe 10% of cases.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14th December 2012, 03:08 PM
Ihatewindows Offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,135
linuxfirefox
Re: About RAM speed

It is probably a limitation with Ubuntu.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14th December 2012, 03:53 PM
satimis Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,398
linuxfirefox
Re: About RAM speed

Hi all,

I'm now running Fedora 17 desktop 64bit on the same PC (another HD)

BIOS
Memory Frequency auto

$ sudo lshw -short -C memory
Code:
[sudo] password for satimis: 
H/W path        Device      Class       Description
===================================================
/0/0                        memory      64KiB BIOS
/0/4/5                      memory      384KiB L1 cache
/0/4/6                      memory      8MiB L2 cache
/0/4/7                      memory      8MiB L3 cache
/0/2c                       memory      16GiB System Memory
/0/2c/0                     memory      8GiB DIMM DDR3 Synchronous 1333 MHz (0.8
/0/2c/1                     memory      DIMM Synchronous [empty]
/0/2c/2                     memory      8GiB DIMM DDR3 Synchronous 1333 MHz (0.8
/0/2c/3                     memory      DIMM Synchronous [empty]
/0/2c/0 memory 8GiB DIMM DDR3 Synchronous 1333 MHz (0.8

If set the "Memory Frequency 1600MHz" on BIOS, it shows "1600 MHz

I have run memtest but could not find the frequency there.

One thing I couldn't resolve:-
On BIOS it shows;
Code:
DRAM SPEED INF  Max Bandwith 1333
But on the packing box of Kingston RAM it indicates
Code:
HyperX KHX1600C10D381K2/16G (2x8G) (Blue Memory)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14th December 2012, 04:50 PM
Maryyy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 575
linuxfirefox
Re: About RAM speed

Thanks satimis.
I just think that different chipsets/memory controlers give lshw a headache. Like it reads only SPD info with some chipsets and is not capable of determinig actual memory speed correctly, who knows.

Apart from not being XMP capable (which didn't work for me anyway even though it should), your memory is the same as mine, including module sizes. Yet, memtest86+ reports speed correctly for me, not for you. But lshw reports correct speed for you, but not for me.

Golden CPU-Z..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ihatewindows View Post
It is probably a limitation with Ubuntu.
Hardly.
Code:
$ cat /etc/fedora-release 
Fedora release 17 (Beefy Miracle)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15th December 2012, 08:34 AM
satimis Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,398
linuxubuntufirefox
Re: About RAM speed

Hi Maryyy

Quote:
your memory is the same as mine, including module sizes....
Actually I was looking for;
Corsair Vengeance CMZ32GX3M4X1600C10 DDR3 1600MHz 32GB Kit (4x8GB)

Unfortunately it was not available. No 32G kit was available on the shop which I visited. The shopkeeper recommended me;
Kingston's KHX1600C10D3B1K2/16G

I never use Kingston RAM before. Therefore I purchased one set to try. After one month if w/o problem I'll get another set.

satimis
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 15th December 2012, 09:40 AM
Maryyy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 575
windows_7firefox
Re: About RAM speed

I used Kingston's before. Four 2GB DDR2 modules are in this work machine I'm typing this from now.
I chose it simply because they tend to play nice with Intel and Intel has more of lab tests with them on their boards. Plus, this specific XMP type was also certified directly by Kingston to run on my DH77KC. Well, it runs fine, but only after forcing the speed. But this may as well be a BIOS problem and can be resolved later. Even though I got the latest BIOS after I read that the new release should fix just that. Hmm, one can't have everything.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 2nd February 2013, 11:28 PM
schurke Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: ::1
Posts: 7
linuxfirefox
Re: About RAM speed

Hello,

Similar problem here, 1600 MHz modules are seen as 800 MHz by lshw:
Code:
$  sudo lshw -short -C memory
H/W path       Device     Class       Description
=================================================
/0/0                      memory      64KiB BIOS
/0/34                     memory      32GiB System Memory
/0/34/0                   memory      8GiB DIMM DDR3 Synchronous 800 MHz (1.2 ns)
/0/34/1                   memory      8GiB DIMM DDR3 Synchronous 800 MHz (1.2 ns)
/0/34/2                   memory      8GiB DIMM DDR3 Synchronous 800 MHz (1.2 ns)
/0/34/3                   memory      8GiB DIMM DDR3 Synchronous 800 MHz (1.2 ns)
/0/42                     memory      192KiB L1 cache
/0/43                     memory      4MiB L2 cache
and dmidecode fails, too, particularly with "Configured Clock Speed":
Code:
$ sudo dmidecode -t memory
# dmidecode 2.11
SMBIOS 2.7 present.

Handle 0x0034, DMI type 16, 23 bytes
Physical Memory Array
	Location: System Board Or Motherboard
	Use: System Memory
	Error Correction Type: None
	Maximum Capacity: 8 GB
	Error Information Handle: Not Provided
	Number Of Devices: 4

Handle 0x0036, DMI type 17, 34 bytes
Memory Device
	Array Handle: 0x0034
	Error Information Handle: Not Provided
	Total Width: 64 bits
	Data Width: 64 bits
	Size: 8192 MB
	Form Factor: DIMM
	Set: None
	Locator: DIMM_A1
	Bank Locator: A1_BANK0
	Type: DDR3
	Type Detail: Synchronous Unbuffered (Unregistered)
	Speed: 800 MHz
	Manufacturer: Kingston        
	Serial Number: 8D16B745  
	Asset Tag: A1_AssetTagNum1
	Part Number: 99U5471-039.A00LF 
	Rank: 2
	Configured Clock Speed: Unknown

Handle 0x0038, DMI type 17, 34 bytes
Memory Device
	Array Handle: 0x0034
	Error Information Handle: Not Provided
	Total Width: 64 bits
	Data Width: 64 bits
	Size: 8192 MB
	Form Factor: DIMM
	Set: None
	Locator: DIMM_A2
	Bank Locator: A1_BANK1
	Type: DDR3
	Type Detail: Synchronous Unbuffered (Unregistered)
	Speed: 800 MHz
	Manufacturer: Kingston        
	Serial Number: 9516F87A  
	Asset Tag: A1_AssetTagNum0
	Part Number: 99U5471-039.A00LF 
	Rank: 2
	Configured Clock Speed: 30955 MHz

Handle 0x003A, DMI type 17, 34 bytes
Memory Device
	Array Handle: 0x0034
	Error Information Handle: Not Provided
	Total Width: 64 bits
	Data Width: 64 bits
	Size: 8192 MB
	Form Factor: DIMM
	Set: None
	Locator: DIMM_B1
	Bank Locator: A1_BANK2
	Type: DDR3
	Type Detail: Synchronous Unbuffered (Unregistered)
	Speed: 800 MHz
	Manufacturer: Kingston        
	Serial Number: 92162646  
	Asset Tag: A1_AssetTagNum2
	Part Number: 99U5471-039.A00LF 
	Rank: 2
	Configured Clock Speed: Unknown

Handle 0x003C, DMI type 17, 34 bytes
Memory Device
	Array Handle: 0x0034
	Error Information Handle: Not Provided
	Total Width: 64 bits
	Data Width: 64 bits
	Size: 8192 MB
	Form Factor: DIMM
	Set: None
	Locator: DIMM_B2
	Bank Locator: A1_BANK3
	Type: DDR3
	Type Detail: Synchronous Unbuffered (Unregistered)
	Speed: 800 MHz
	Manufacturer: Kingston        
	Serial Number: 95163A7B  
	Asset Tag: A1_AssetTagNum3
	Part Number: 99U5471-039.A00LF 
	Rank: 2
	Configured Clock Speed: 1 MHz
BIOS is well set-up, and displays 1600 MHz both when set on "auto" and "force 1600".

What - if anything - should be done to have the memory speed properly displayed?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 3rd February 2013, 02:49 AM
satimis Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,398
linuxubuntufirefox
Re: About RAM speed

Quote:
Originally Posted by schurke View Post
- snip -

BIOS is well set-up, and displays 1600 MHz both when set on "auto" and "force 1600".

What - if anything - should be done to have the memory speed properly displayed?
Hi.

On BIOS don't select "auto". Select the speed corresponding to the RAM module. That fixed my problem, nothing else.

satimis
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 3rd February 2013, 09:55 AM
schurke Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: ::1
Posts: 7
linuxfirefox
Re: About RAM speed

Quote:
Originally Posted by satimis View Post
... Select the speed corresponding to the RAM module...
Nope, still the same, as I mentioned previously. The board can see and adjust the memory but lshw and dmidecode cannot guess the right memory "speed".
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 5th February 2013, 09:49 PM
hbaird Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 205
linuxfirefox
Re: About RAM speed

I am glad I saw this thread. I had set my MB Bios for 1600 ram when I got it two years ago. updated the Bios a few days ago when it failed. The bios went back to nominal 1066. I ran code shown and found the clock speed to be 1066. I rebooted and reset the Bios to 1600. All is well. It does not seem any faster.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ram, speed

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cpuinfo current speed greater than max speed tashirosgt Hardware & Laptops 10 1st May 2012 01:14 PM
Tweak the speed of broadband connection speed anishjp Using Fedora 2 11th February 2011 02:23 PM
Connection speed and download speed tech291083 Linux Chat 0 1st December 2008 09:17 AM
HP fan speed oziris Hardware & Laptops 10 10th September 2007 09:46 PM
Help: network SENT speed only 1/2 of RECEIVING speed? fly2moon2 Servers & Networking 0 8th September 2006 03:45 AM


Current GMT-time: 15:33 (Thursday, 31-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat