Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora Resources > Guides & Solutions (No Questions)
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Guides & Solutions (No Questions) Post your guides here (No links to Blogs accepted). You can also append your comments/questions to a guide, but don't start a new thread to ask a question. Use another forum for that.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 2nd July 2012, 09:55 AM
argoden Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: orange
Posts: 4
linuxchrome
Re: Using GNOME2 on Fedora 16

script dies after Started Command Schedule declaration on boot screen. System started in text mode,
rhgb declaration was removed, did not boot otherwise.

installing fedora 16 in minimal config
followed all the instructions

any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 3rd July 2012, 04:40 AM
timliim Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ol' US of A
Posts: 74
linuxfirefox
Re: Using GNOME2 on Fedora 16

Yes; one of the known issue with workaround is
Quote:
The GDM login window does not show.
=> remove "rhgb" (redhat graphical boot) from kernel args in
/boot/grub2/grub.cfg. Or hit <ESC> key during plymouth graphical boot
to use text mode.
BTW, did you build your own binary using gnome2.build.pl, or used my
binary from http://formosa.homelinux.com/...? I updated my binary
distribution a few weeks to Fedora17, so they may not work well with
F16.

> script dies after Started Command Schedule declaration on boot screen.
Which script are you referring to?

Thanks for trying out GNOME2.F16!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 3rd July 2012, 06:26 AM
argoden Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: orange
Posts: 4
linuxchrome
Re: Using GNOME2 on Fedora 16

i was building my own library from gnome2.build.pl
script run fine, i have repository successfully made, great job btw
then i run gnome2-install.sh and that run fine as well

on reboot that's when i've got problems
gnome does not seem to start, i can access machine via SSH, server seems to be working fine, but boot log stops at Started Command Schedule declaration. Hitting Ecs did not help, i just got a little bit further away with boot log.
i removed rhgb from /boot/grub2/grub.cfg, but still no change
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 5th July 2012, 04:05 AM
timliim Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ol' US of A
Posts: 74
linuxfirefox
Re: Using GNOME2 on Fedora 16

Argoden,
Thanks a lot for your nice words. It helps in getting the project
going.

> Hitting Ecs did not help,
Did you get to text mode after hitting Esc? If not, you need to hit
Esc earlier in the boot process.

> i removed rhgb from /boot/grub2/grub.cfg, but still no change
Does that bring you into text mode boot? Text mode is the key of this
workaround.

I'll try debugging this issue on my side too; previously the
workaround (text mode boot) was good enough for me, so there was no
urgent need for me to look into this issue.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11th July 2012, 04:51 AM
timliim Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ol' US of A
Posts: 74
linuxfirefox
Re: Using GNOME2 on Fedora 16

Argoden,
Could you please do the following to check if the issue you saw was
the same one? Ssh in as root, then "init 3", "startx". If you see
the msg "undefined symbol: drm_intel_bufmgr_gem_set_vma_cache_size",
we know we found it.

The fix: "yum update libdrm".

Please let me know how it goes for you.



The details.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Eventually I found one laptop with Intel graphics chips and was able
to reproduce something similar. Same as Argoden, I was able to ssh
into the box but neither ESC nor removing rhgb helps. Once ssh in, I
did "ps -aef" and saw no X server running (bad). So I did "init 3" as
root, then "startx" to start X server manually. ThenI saw the
following:
Quote:
# init 3
# startx
/usr/bin/X: symbol lookup error:
/usr/lib64/xorg/modules/drivers/intel_drv.so: undefined symbol:
drm_intel_bufmgr_gem_set_vma_cache_size

# rpm -qf /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/drivers/intel_drv.so
xorg-x11-drv-intel-2.19.0-3.fc16.x86_64
# debuginfo-install xorg-x11-drv-intel
# f=/usr/lib/debug//usr/lib64/xorg/modules/drivers/intel_drv.so.debug
# s=drm_intel_bufmgr_gem_set_vma_cache_size
# nm $f | grep $s
U drm_intel_bufmgr_gem_set_vma_cache_size
## ^^ U means undefined
X dies because a symbol in intel_drv.so was not resolved. How does
a regular F16 work then? I installed regular F16 on the same box,
and found the missing symbol was from libdrm_intel.so.1:
Quote:
# ldd /usr/lib/debug//usr/lib64/xorg/modules/drivers/intel_drv.so.debug
libdrm_intel.so.1 => /usr/lib64/libdrm_intel.so.1 (0x00007f02a15db000)
# rpm -qf /usr/lib64/libdrm_intel.so.1
libdrm-2.4.26-3.fc16.x86_64
# debuginfo-install libdrm
# rpm -ql libdrm-debuginfo | grep libdrm_intel
# f=/usr/lib/debug/usr/lib64/libdrm_intel.so.1.0.0.debug
# s=drm_intel_bufmgr_gem_set_vma_cache_size
# nm $f | grep $s
0000000000008960 T drm_intel_bufmgr_gem_set_vma_cache_size
## T means "text", ie. symbol is defined here.
Hmmm, but libdrm.rpm was present when X died? They are different
version. I'll use the following shorthands for discussion:
Quote:
#1 xorg-x11-drv-intel-2.16.0-2.fc16.x86_64 (good)
#2 xorg-x11-drv-intel-2.19.0-3.fc16.x86_64 (bad)
#3 libdrm-2.4.26-3.fc16.x86_64
#4 libdrm-2.4.33-1.fc16.x86_64
#5 the symbol drm_intel_bufmgr_gem_set_vma_cache_size
When F16 was first released, it comes with #1 and #3. Since #5 was
not used by #1, #1 worked fine when I first released GNOME2.F16 in Apr
2012.

Around 2012-05-29 #2 was released. #2 requiers #5, which is provided
by #4. If you acquires #2 via "yum update", #4 will be updated also.
#2 is happy with #4, and X is happy.

Unfortunately this posed an issue for those of us who do "yum install
xorg-x11-drv-intel", include GNOME2.F16 users, after #2 is released.
Why? Let's see what #2 requires and what #3 provides:
# rpm -q --requires xorg-x11-drv-intel-2.19.0-3.fc16.x86_64
libdrm_intel.so.1()(64bit)
# rpm -q --provides libdrm-2.4.26-3.fc16.x86_64
libdrm_intel.so.1()(64bit)
Note that #3 is part of F16 minimum installation. So when we install
#2, yum/rpm says, "yup, #3 provides what #2 requires; no need to
update #3 to #4." But #3 actually does not provide what #2 needs
(#5). Thus our issue at hand.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 11th July 2012, 05:03 AM
argoden Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: orange
Posts: 4
linuxchrome
Re: Using GNOME2 on Fedora 16

i will try this right now

---------- Post added at 09:03 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:55 PM ----------

yes it does fix the problem

amazing amazing work
thank you very much for keeping GNOME2 alive
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11th July 2012, 05:26 AM
timliim Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ol' US of A
Posts: 74
linuxfirefox
Re: Using GNOME2 on Fedora 16

Great! Glad you like it!
Thanks a lot for reporting this issue; I'll add it to my GNOME2.F16
page.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 13th July 2012, 12:40 PM
secipolla Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 700
linuxfirefox
Re: Using GNOME2 on Fedora 16

Hi. I don't use neither GNOME 2 nor MATE but didn't MATE fork the gnome screensaver so it has that feature you want or couldn't you ask the MATE folks to do it?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 13th July 2012, 07:12 PM
argoden Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: orange
Posts: 4
linuxchrome
Re: Using GNOME2 on Fedora 16

dear secipolla,
my reason for going through this trouble was GNOME2, not screen savor.
I feel GNOME2 is superior to all others GUI and i felt really disappointed, when fedora crew came up with GNOME3 and stopped supporting GNOME2. i know i am not the only one, actually i don't know a single person, who likes new GNOME.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 13th July 2012, 07:49 PM
secipolla Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 700
linuxfirefox
Re: Using GNOME2 on Fedora 16

Ok. Sorry, but I was asking timliin (the screensaver was one of the reasons he done it).
Anyway, it doesn't really matter, I think, as eventually for coming fedora releases MATE will probably be in the official repo.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 17th July 2012, 05:38 AM
timliim Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ol' US of A
Posts: 74
linuxfirefox
Re: Using GNOME2 on Fedora 16

Updated GNOME2.F16 page with the Intel video card issue found by
Argoden at
http://formosa.homelinux.com/pub/fed...html#Appendix1


secipolla,
> as eventually for coming fedora releases MATE will probably be in
> the official repo.

Could you elaborate more? Which release? TK492 found an article
dated Feburary 2012
http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?pag...tem&px=MTA2MzM
that Fedora would not take MATE, or forks in general. Maybe they
changed stance since.

> but didn't MATE fork the gnome screensaver so it has that feature
> you want or couldn't you ask the MATE folks to do it?

It's about freedom of choice, the can-do attitude, rugged
individualism that made US great. If you like MATE, by all means go
for it. For me GNOME2.F16 is an interestnig experiment inspired by
BlueBubble: can I take only Fedora source code (F14 and F16) and make
a GNOME2 blend? Better yet, all done in one build script? The result
is the GNOME2.F16 project (and I learned a lot about rpm build on the
way).

If you like Gnome2 built from Fedora sources only, now you have the
choice. And if you like to tweak further, you have the source code of
Gnome2 and the gnome2.build.pl build script.

MATE as part of official Fedora is certainly welcome. But before that
happens, I need Gnome2 to keep me sane. Gnome2 is certainly a reason
I started GNOME2.F16; I just did not list it because it was obvious.

> I feel GNOME2 is superior to all others GUI
Same here.

> but I was asking timliin
BTW, my name is Tim Liim; double-i means long vowel in Taiwanese.

Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 23rd March 2013, 04:41 AM
timliim Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ol' US of A
Posts: 74
linuxfirefox
Re: Using GNOME2 on Fedora 16

The script and the repository are updated for Fedora 18, in case
anyone is interested. Also I lost my formosa.homelinux.com name
during the hurricane. The new URL is
http://formosa.dyndns-ip.com/pub/fed...NOME2.F16.html
The screensaver in Fedora18+GNOME3 is still incapable of showing
photos, so I ported GNOME2.F16 to GNOME2.F18.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 23rd March 2013, 04:56 AM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,320
linuxfirefox
Re: Using GNOME2 on Fedora 16 thru Fedora 18

Changed thread title to reflect that this is for several Fedora versions instead of just Fedora 16 (which is now EOL)
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 5th October 2013, 12:56 PM
timliim Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ol' US of A
Posts: 74
linuxfirefox
Re: Using GNOME2 on Fedora 16 thru Fedora 18

GNOM2.F16 completed its interim role as of July 2013. Fedora 19 was
released with Mate as an installation option, thus there is no more
need for GNOME2.F16.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fedora16, gnome2

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using GNOME2 on Fedora 16 timliim Guides & Solutions (No Questions) 1 23rd April 2012 08:45 AM
How to Upgarde GNOME2.20 to GNOME2.22 kumarkrishnan Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 9 11th April 2008 12:00 PM
Need help with upgrading to Gnome2.14 markdashwood Using Fedora 1 1st April 2006 07:40 PM
What to do after Garnome has compiled my Gnome2.6 mac48bit Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 26th April 2004 07:26 PM


Current GMT-time: 03:48 (Thursday, 23-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Awsim - Mansfield Travel Photos on Instagram - Idku Photos