Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 9th January 2012, 10:25 AM
duffman128 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: South Africa
Posts: 10
unknownopera
How to properly switch between cpupower governors?

Hi there. I'm new to linux and the forum. I have to say that I'm loving gnome 3 and fedora 16 so far.

I have a few problems though with fedora 16. One of them is switching between cpu frequency governors. Whenever I try to switch a governor using "sudo cpupower frequency-set -g <governor>", the program seems to save the current frequencies to <governor>

Here's an example:
[user@local ~]$ cpupower frequency-info
analyzing CPU 0:
driver: acpi-cpufreq
CPUs which run at the same hardware frequency: 0 1
CPUs which need to have their frequency coordinated by software: 0
maximum transition latency: 10.0 us.
hardware limits: 1.20 GHz - 2.50 GHz
available frequency steps: 2.50 GHz, 2.00 GHz, 1.60 GHz, 1.20 GHz
available cpufreq governors: conservative, userspace, powersave, ondemand, performance
current policy: frequency should be within 1.20 GHz and 2.50 GHz.
The governor "ondemand" may decide which speed to use
within this range.
current CPU frequency is 1.20 GHz.
boost state support:
Supported: yes
Active: yes
[user@local ~]$ sudo cpupower frequency-set -g powersave
Setting cpu: 0
Setting cpu: 1
[user@local ~]$ cpupower frequency-info
analyzing CPU 0:
driver: acpi-cpufreq
CPUs which run at the same hardware frequency: 0 1
CPUs which need to have their frequency coordinated by software: 0
maximum transition latency: 10.0 us.
hardware limits: 1.20 GHz - 2.50 GHz
available frequency steps: 2.50 GHz, 2.00 GHz, 1.60 GHz, 1.20 GHz
available cpufreq governors: conservative, userspace, powersave, ondemand, performance
current policy: frequency should be within 1.20 GHz and 2.50 GHz.
The governor "powersave" may decide which speed to use
within this range.
current CPU frequency is 1.20 GHz.
boost state support:
Supported: yes
Active: yes
[user@local ~]$

My question is how do I properly switch between the governors?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25th June 2012, 02:28 AM
Speeddymon Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 18
linuxfirefox
Re: How to properly switch between cpupower governors?

I realize this thread is old; it came up after I posted a similar but unrelated thread, and I saw there was no answer. It appears you are doing it the right way. What seems to be happening is that your ondemand governor is already running at the lowest available speed:

ONDEMAND
[user@local ~]$ cpupower frequency-info
-snip-
hardware limits: 1.20 GHz - 2.50 GHz
available frequency steps: 2.50 GHz, 2.00 GHz, 1.60 GHz, 1.20 GHz
available cpufreq governors: conservative, userspace, powersave, ondemand, performance
current policy: frequency should be within 1.20 GHz and 2.50 GHz.
The governor "ondemand" may decide which speed to use
within this range.
current CPU frequency is 1.20 GHz.

-snip-

POWERSAVE
[user@local ~]$ cpupower frequency-info
-snip-
hardware limits: 1.20 GHz - 2.50 GHz
available frequency steps: 2.50 GHz, 2.00 GHz, 1.60 GHz, 1.20 GHz
available cpufreq governors: conservative, userspace, powersave, ondemand, performance
current policy: frequency should be within 1.20 GHz and 2.50 GHz.
The governor "powersave" may decide which speed to use
within this range.
current CPU frequency is 1.20 GHz.

-snip-

The BOLDED items above indicate that your CPU supports a minimum frequency of 1.2GHz and a max of 2.5GHz. If your system were under load, then while the ONDEMAND governor was active, the frequency should be higher. In other words, the ondemand governor provides the higher frequency when the system requests it, but otherwise provides the lower frequency -- there's no reason for the system to run at 2.5GHz when it is otherwise idle.

On the other hand, the POWERSAVE governor will be more conservative about raising the frequency, and therefore will keep it at the lower end even if the system requests it, only raising it when absolutely necessary.

Based on that, I believe it is working as expected.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cpupower, governors, switch

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to extend battery life by automatically changing cpu governors. dd_wizard Guides & Solutions (No Questions) 2 3rd April 2013 07:54 PM
cpupower.service and up and down thresholds cgrim Using Fedora 3 27th December 2011 12:08 AM
How to install KDE in yum properly vindane Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 7 15th June 2006 07:57 AM
klaptop governors and centrino cpu holr Hardware & Laptops 4 19th July 2005 10:56 AM


Current GMT-time: 12:48 (Wednesday, 26-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Megion - Plainville Instagram Photos - Pelhrimov Photos on Instagram