Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 12th February 2017, 08:40 PM
billcu Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 343
windows_98_nt_2000firefox
qemu and kvm module

I am trying to boot a ipxe.lkrn for another distro of linux. I use F20 and F23 side by side. Now I use 'qemu-system-x86_64 -enable-kvm -m 1G -kernel ipxe.lkrn' and qemu says it can't find a kvm module or kernel module, something like that. I tried to save the error and it printed to stdout despite the > to a text file. There must be something kvm missing. A kernel module is what it wants.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12th February 2017, 08:56 PM
bob Offline
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 71
Posts: 23,104
linuxubuntuchrome
Re: qemu and kvm module

moved to EOL
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th February 2017, 10:47 PM
Dutchy Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: ~
Posts: 1,874
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: qemu and kvm module

try `lsmod | grep kvm` to see if the kvm kernel module is loaded (and the one corresponding to your processor type e.g., kvm_intel).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th February 2017, 09:07 PM
billcu Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 343
windows_98_nt_2000firefox
Re: qemu and kvm module

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dutchy View Post
try `lsmod | grep kvm` to see if the kvm kernel module is loaded (and the one corresponding to your processor type e.g., kvm_intel).
I tried the above and there was nothing printed. A quick yum search of kvm revealed two rpms, both installed. qemu-kvm and qemu-kvm-tools. I installed virt-manager and its dependencies and still nothing run. I want to run,

qemu-x86_64 -enable-kvm -m 1G -kernel ipxe.lkrn. Which is an archlinux distro virtual network.

IDK how Fedora 20 works. But it has worked before. Something isn't in this install.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15th February 2017, 11:00 PM
Dutchy Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: ~
Posts: 1,874
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: qemu and kvm module

Well, unless you don't have kernel-core installed you should be able to `modprobe kvm[-intel-amd]` the module.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16th February 2017, 07:30 PM
billcu Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 343
windows_98_nt_2000firefox
Re: qemu and kvm module

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dutchy View Post
Well, unless you don't have kernel-core installed you should be able to `modprobe kvm[-intel-amd]` the module.
yum search did not reveal anything called "kernel-core". I tried modprobe kvm-amd, modprobe kvm, and modprobe kvm-intel and there was no result.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16th February 2017, 09:47 PM
Dutchy Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: ~
Posts: 1,874
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: qemu and kvm module

Code:
find /usr/lib/modules/$(uname -r) -name "kvm*"
That should return the modules.
Using dnf to search for files works via:
Code:
dnf provides \*kvm-amd.ko.xz
I think the same should work for yum.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17th February 2017, 05:41 PM
billcu Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 343
windows_98_nt_2000firefox
Re: qemu and kvm module

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dutchy View Post
Code:
find /usr/lib/modules/$(uname -r) -name "kvm*"
That should return the modules.
Using dnf to search for files works via:
Code:
dnf provides \*kvm-amd.ko.xz
I think the same should work for yum.
These kernel modules exist. kvm-amd-ko kvm-intel.ko but maybe I am not using the right interface. I tried i386-qemu and it doesn't load. The switches -kernel and --enable-kvm don't seem to be documented.

humm
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
kvm, module, qemu

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
rebuilding qemu from src.rpm package wont produce qemu-system*.rpm packages helikaon Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 21st July 2014 06:34 PM
searching for a network simulator/emulator that works on qemu or qemu-kvm emekadavid Servers & Networking 2 24th September 2013 07:24 PM
What's the difference? qemu vs qemu-kvm vs qemu-system-x86_64 KenJackson Using Fedora 0 30th June 2011 04:08 AM
did qemu design change? Depsolving problem with qemu marko Alpha, Beta & Snapshots Discussions (Fedora 11 Only) 1 3rd April 2009 11:09 PM
qemu-common vs qemu-img dependancy problem marko Alpha, Beta & Snapshots Discussions (Fedora 11 Only) 1 6th March 2009 10:50 PM


Current GMT-time: 08:41 (Sunday, 28-05-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat