Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 22nd October 2009, 04:56 AM
miles Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 91
linuxfedorafirefox
Network Manager going backwards

so I went to plug in my cdma broadband card on my new updated F12 laptop and now instead of auto detecting it wants me to input all kinds of information (model number, ......) What a PITA ! What happened to the auto detection that worked just fine. Frankly I don't know where that info is so now I'm stuck without internet on my F12 laptop. (I still have F11 on this laptop and now I guess I can't update it if I want to use my card).

Making life more difficult is not the way to go.
  #2  
Old 22nd October 2009, 05:01 AM
Demz
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
windows_98_nt_2000firefox
its all fun in the end.. look at it this way, least you wont have to go to the barbar toget your haircut since you've pulled it all out by now

cant you EDIT the connection an have it auto connect?
  #3  
Old 22nd October 2009, 05:51 AM
miles Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 91
linuxfedorafirefox
Quote:
Originally Posted by Demz View Post
its all fun in the end.. look at it this way, least you wont have to go to the barbar toget your haircut since you've pulled it all out by now

cant you EDIT the connection an have it auto connect?
okay, I went beyond the opening dialog (for new cdma connection) - it only asked for Carrier and Country - then it connected. While that's not hard or burdensome, I guess I still must ask why when it auto detected that before.

And if that's all the info it requires, then the opening dialog is more demanding than necessary.
  #4  
Old 22nd October 2009, 06:41 AM
AdamW Offline
Fedora QA Community Monkey
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 4,176
linuxfedorafirefox
I think it wasn't necessarily *auto-detected* before - I think it had hardcoded values which were actually only valid for most North American carriers. It's become more sophisticated in F12 and handles a much wider range of connection types. While that makes it very slightly more trouble if you happen to have a carrier which uses the hardcoded settings from previous releases, it's a significant win for people on any other carrier

It's not actually technically possible to entirely auto-detect what settings should be used, as all NM can auto-detect is the attributes of the hardware involved. Dan Williams, NM lead developer, goes into more detail on the changes here:

http://blogs.gnome.org/dcbw/2009/06/...makes-it-easy/

he notes that we can auto-detect most settings for GSM-type networks from the SIM card ID, but obviously that doesn't apply to CDMA-type networks which don't use SIM cards.
__________________
Adam Williamson | awilliam AT redhat DOT com
Fedora QA Community Monkey
IRC: adamw | Twitter: AdamW_Fedora | identi.ca: adamwfedora
http://www.happyassassin.net
  #5  
Old 22nd October 2009, 06:46 AM
ozjd Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Age: 59
Posts: 2,365
linuxfedorafirefox
I gather the idea is to make it easier for those who can't connect automatically. There have been a few I've noticed on here. But it may make it more difficult for the first use for those of us who have it working now.

There is more info at http://blogs.gnome.org/dcbw/2009/06/...makes-it-easy/
 

Tags
backwards, manager, network

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Network Manager disconnects after 2-3 seconds, but network works.. atomax Servers & Networking 12 6th July 2009 12:02 PM
fedora,realtek wireless network card and network manager lodore Servers & Networking 4 5th January 2009 12:39 AM
Slow network traffic / Network manager doesn't work MadVillain Servers & Networking 1 28th July 2008 03:53 PM
confused about sytem-config-network and Network manager - I need only one, right? IvanI Servers & Networking 16 26th June 2008 03:31 PM
Can’t find Network Manager/ Problems with wireless card/network psakhil Servers & Networking 4 5th February 2008 10:22 AM


Current GMT-time: 04:03 (Monday, 15-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat