Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 20th April 2017, 05:19 AM
karentutor Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 25
macossafari
Production and Development same server

Hi

I am running a small home based LAMP server for a small web page. I both run in production mode and development mode the website using the same laptop.

I am wondering if I can use my apache server for development but some how have the domain name not be broadcasting globally when apache is on?

Some basics it is a simple LAMP setup using ddclient to create a fixed ip on a 127.0.0.1:8080 host and when I connect it to the internet my domain name resolves to a fixed ip.

Ideally, I would like to have apache on, connect to the internet through my router, but not have my domain broadcast?

Is this possible?

ps I am a novice but can work terminal.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20th April 2017, 01:37 PM
wolfred Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 48
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Production and Development same server

You can add a username/password login to your devsite, https://www.server-world.info/en/not..._7&p=httpd&f=8

You can also allow ip addresses, but if the ip addresses change then setting up username/password will be better.
http://sharadchhetri.com/2016/07/24/...in-apache-2-4/

You can also setup vpn but that might take more time than the two suggestions I mentioned. Those two links are examples of how to set it up. You can to modify it to match your setup.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20th April 2017, 05:32 PM
karentutor Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 25
macossafari
Re: Production and Development same server

Thanks I'll give those a try 👍
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st April 2017, 01:57 PM
karentutor Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 25
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Production and Development same server

Worked like a charm - I upped the directory for any access to the /var/www/html directory, so it took a bit of fiddling.

But, it works great!

Thanks
Karen
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st April 2017, 03:54 PM
wolfred Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 48
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Production and Development same server

I am glad it works :-)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
development, production, server

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Perfect Server, aka ISPConfig based web mail dns and ... production level server LaKing Guides & Solutions (Not For Questions) 1 22nd September 2010 03:12 PM
Production Server DEAD stefshuuj Servers & Networking 24 8th December 2007 08:16 PM
yum vs self-compilation for a production server markmcb Using Fedora 4 11th September 2006 12:21 AM


Current GMT-time: 05:17 (Monday, 26-06-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat