Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 18th April 2017, 06:57 PM
gluonman Offline

linuxchrome
Unhappy Fedora 25 on Inspiron 15-5565 randomly freezing and requiring power-cycle to restart

Hello,

Let me start by listing all my specs:

Hardware
Laptop: Dell Inspiron 15-5565
CPU: 7th Generation AMD A9-9400 with integrated Radeon R5 graphics :: 5 compute cores 2c+3g x 2 :: 98e4 (rev c6)
Architecture: x86_64
Memory: 2 x 4GB DDR4 2400 (8GB)
Hard Drive: 1TB 5400 rpm Hard Drive
Boot: UEFI

Software
Original Shipped OS: Windows 10 Home Edition
Current OS: Fedora 25
OS Type: x86_64
Graphics: AMD Stoney
Window Manager: Gnome 3.22.2
XServer Version: 1.19.3_64a
Kernel: 4.10.9-200.fc25.x86_64

The problem

I purchased this laptop and had it shipped, and the day I received it I didn't hesitate to wipe Windows and install a distro of Linux. I started with Sabayon Linux, since that's what I had been using for the last 4 or 5 years on previous machines. But the OS would randomly freeze (sometimes soon after start-up, sometimes an hour later, but not as a result of any consistent behaviour or action I could detect), and if it happened to be freezing during an initial system update (which was very likely), I had to deal with corruption. I re-installed Sabayon multiple times until I got fed up and decided it might be time to explore a different distro. So I went with Fedora thinking it might have better out-of-box hardware support for this laptop then a lot of other distros.