Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 10th June 2010, 05:00 PM
todd987345 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 12
linuxredhatfirefox
Linux command line:Bash usage of source

hello,

I am familiar with Red Hat Linux, and I have recently started to use Fedora.

I am trying to use the source command to set CNS (crystallography and NMR systems), but I can not use the source command nor can I get source command help on the command line.

Does the source command work for Fedora?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10th June 2010, 05:43 PM
forkbomb Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: U.S.
Posts: 4,851
windows_7firefox
Re: Linux command line:Bash usage of source

Quote:
Originally Posted by todd987345 View Post
but I can not use the source command
What do you mean by this? Do you get some sort of error?
Quote:
Originally Posted by todd987345 View Post
nor can I get source command help on the command line.
What do you mean by this? man pages? 'man source' should actually redirect you to the bash man page.
Quote:
Originally Posted by todd987345 View Post
Does the source command work for Fedora?
Works here. source is a bash built-in. Are you sure bash is your login shell? Have you seen something that has convinced you that it's not working?
__________________
- Tom
"What is freedom? To have the will to be responsible for one's self." - Stirner
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th June 2010, 07:19 PM
todd987345 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 12
linuxredhatfirefox
Re: Linux command line:Bash usage of source

When I input the command in the command line, such as "source --help", I don't get any help options for the source command.

I have in the past usually have to enter the source command manually in the command prompt window. As I have done in the past when running Red Hat linux.

What do you mean that source is built into linux?

I have installation instructions for CNS, and within these instructions state that I have to source CNS before use.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th June 2010, 08:28 PM
forkbomb Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: U.S.
Posts: 4,851
linuxfirefox
Re: Linux command line:Bash usage of source

Quote:
Originally Posted by todd987345 View Post
When I input the command in the command line, such as "source --help", I don't get any help options for the source command.
And? see
Code:
man bash
and/or
Code:
man builtin
Quote:
Originally Posted by todd987345 View Post
I have in the past usually have to enter the source command manually in the command prompt window. As I have done in the past when running Red Hat linux.
Uhh... okay.

But that doesn't mean that source is busted on Fedora.
Quote:
Originally Posted by todd987345 View Post
What do you mean that source is built into linux?
I didn't say that.

I said "source" is a bash built-in. bash is a shell that just so happens to be the default CLI shell for Fedora. bash, the shell, has a number of commands that are considered to be shell builtins.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bash Manual
Read and execute commands from the filename argument in the current shell context.
http://www.gnu.org/software/bash/man...-Builtins.html
http://www.gnu.org/software/bash/man...Shell-Builtins

Quote:
Originally Posted by todd987345 View Post
I have installation instructions for CNS, and within these instructions state that I have to source CNS before use.
What's the exact command or series of commands it tells you to run? Does it tell you what file to source? If that's all the instructions say, that's vague. You may be better off contacting the software vendor if anything's unclear.

Bottom line is that unless we're thinking of different commands here, if you have bash installed (and bash is the default shell on Fedora and other Red Hat-like operating systems), source is almost certainly working. Check to make sure you're actually running bash (echo $SHELL)

Until you mention what you're actually trying to do with the command or say what the instructions are telling you, all anybody can really offer is guesswork.
__________________
- Tom
"What is freedom? To have the will to be responsible for one's self." - Stirner
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
command, linebash, linux, source, usage

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Linux-based HP Mini Mi ships with command line disabled aleph Linux Chat 1 10th January 2009 04:04 PM
Linux: GUI vs. Command Line hermouche Linux Chat 19 10th December 2008 01:16 AM
bash: how to pipe stdout and stderr separately, line by line kilgor Programming & Packaging 10 25th October 2008 10:10 PM
veiw CPU usage from command line? mitchell2345 Using Fedora 19 17th March 2007 05:41 AM


Current GMT-time: 06:11 (Monday, 01-05-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat