Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 11th June 2008, 05:18 AM
carmarval Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3
Unable to boot after a succesful F9 fresh installation

I have made a sucessfull Fedora 9 fresh installation using a Fedora-9-i386-DVD.iso burned to dvd, verified media. I have a single hard disk and no other operating systems. I have selected Remove linux partitions on selected drives and create default partition layout and default answers during installation. Installation of all selected packages runs ok. The installation program installs GRUB in the master boot record MBR of the device for the root file system. After installation completes with a succesful message, select Reboot to restart computer. Fedora ejects the DVD before reboot.

During reboot the only thing I can see is a 1 second message "GRUB loading stage 2..."
and after 5 seconds a reboot and "GRUB loading stage 2..." looping.

I have tried several times, using another hard disc, this time specifiyng in GRUB two boot devices: Fedora as default and Other using another device. Succesful installation but failure at boot. This time at boot time I obtain the GRUB screen asking to select "Fedora" or "Other". If I choose "Fedora" no boot.

Need help. Thank you in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11th June 2008, 07:50 AM
JEO Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,799
It sounds like you may have had a previous linux version of grub installed. Fedora 9 has a "patched" version of grub that works with 256 byte inodes that fedora now uses by default. So during the installation advanced options make sure you have it reinstall the boot loader (grub). Or you might just try booting from the DVD into rescue mode and manually reinstall grub. There are many recent threads in this forum on how to do that.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th June 2008, 04:46 PM
carmarval Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3
Than you for you answer. I have tried your suggestion, went into rescue and did
chroot /mnt/sysimage
grub-install /dev/sda

It did reinstall grub without errors

However when I reboot this time I get

GRUB Loading stage 1.5.
GRUB Loading, please wait
Error 28

(I have read GRUB docs and It seems to be it is trying to read a large element that doesn´t fit into memory)

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th June 2008, 10:14 PM
JEO Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,799
Grub is using your motherboard's BIOS to load itself and the kernel and the initial ramdisk into memory. Look though your motherboard's BIOS for any options relating to memory. Also make sure you have the latest BIOS.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11th June 2008, 10:33 PM
wtg_photos Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: NKY
Posts: 106
i had to manually rewrite my device map for grub ....
even after i reinstalled grub.....
keep in mind that all paths are relative to /boot if you have a boot partition

read /boot/grub.conf and device.map they should help


Code:
# this device map was generated by anaconda
(hd0)     /dev/sdc
(hd1)     /dev/sda
(hd2)     /dev/sdb
Code:
# grub.conf generated by anaconda
#
# Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
# NOTICE:  You have a /boot partition.  This means that
#          all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
#          root (hd0,0)
#          kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/VolGroup01/LogVol00
#          initrd /initrd-version.img
#boot=/dev/sdc1
default=0
timeout=25
splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title Fedora (2.6.25.4-30.fc9.x86_64)
	root (hd0,0)
	kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.25.4-30.fc9.x86_64 ro root=/dev/VolGroup01/LogVol00 rhgb quiet
	initrd /initrd-2.6.25.4-30.fc9.x86_64.img

title Fedora (2.6.25-14.fc9.x86_64)
	root (hd0,0)
	kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.25-14.fc9.x86_64 ro root=/dev/VolGroup01/LogVol00 rhgb quiet
	initrd /initrd-2.6.25-14.fc9.x86_64.img

title Fedora 8(2.6.25.4-10.fc8)

	root (hd2,0)

	kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.25.4-10.fc8 ro root=/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00 rhgb quiet

	initrd /initrd-2.6.25.4-10.fc8.fc8.img

title Fedora 8(2.6.24.5-85.fc8)

	root (hd2,0)

	kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.24.5-85.fc8 ro root=/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00 rhgb quiet

	initrd /initrd-2.6.24.5-85.fc8.img


title Fedora Core 4 (2.6.17-1.2142_FC4)

	root (hd1,0)

	kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.17-1.2142_FC4 ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet

	initrd /initrd-2.6.17-1.2142_FC4.img



title Fedora Core 4 (2.6.12-1.1447_FC4)

	root (hd1,0)

	kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.12-1.1447_FC4 ro root=/dev/hdc2 rhgb quiet

	initrd /initrd-2.6.12-1.1447_FC4.img

hope that helps...............
cheers
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200
Msi K8N Neo4
2 GB dual-channel PC3200
Saphire ATI x600 Pci-e
160GB WD ide
160GB WD sata
500GB WD sata
---F9-x86_64--
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11th June 2008, 10:53 PM
F.User_4_Life Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fort Collins, Co.
Age: 31
Posts: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by carmarval
I have made a sucessfull Fedora 9 fresh installation using a Fedora-9-i386-DVD.iso burned to dvd, verified media. I have a single hard disk and no other operating systems. I have selected Remove linux partitions on selected drives and create default partition layout and default answers during installation. Installation of all selected packages runs ok. The installation program installs GRUB in the master boot record MBR of the device for the root file system. After installation completes with a succesful message, select Reboot to restart computer. Fedora ejects the DVD before reboot.

During reboot the only thing I can see is a 1 second message "GRUB loading stage 2..."
and after 5 seconds a reboot and "GRUB loading stage 2..." looping.

I have tried several times, using another hard disc, this time specifiyng in GRUB two boot devices: Fedora as default and Other using another device. Succesful installation but failure at boot. This time at boot time I obtain the GRUB screen asking to select "Fedora" or "Other". If I choose "Fedora" no boot.

Need help. Thank you in advance.





i didnt read very far but did you try reformating the H.D. and then reinstalling Sulpher or what ever its called it may be that if you had a previous linux grub like one from the buntu series or had a generic MBR the you can find on the net or one built on a older structure for the grub. maybe you had a previous GBR or LISA and didnt know try googleing your error and see what comes up. GBR is Generic Boot of course i have seen other boot managers but i only use what comes with the distro im not crazy enough to do a LFS system

(Linux From Scratch)


good luck
__________________
Tuniq 3 case black clear side
Cold Cathode Neon Light Green & Blue
680 Watt -- Power Supply SLI Ready
AMD Phenom X4 9550
AMD Liquid CPU Cooling Fan System Kit
[SLI] Asus M3N72-D Dual PCI-E
4 GB 2x2gig sticks
2x NVIDIA GeForce 9400GT 1GB eVga
320 GB HARD DRIVE [Serial-ATA-II, 3Gb, 7200 RPM, 16M Cache]
Logitech X-540 5.1
--------------------------------and

Professional wiring for all cables inside the system tower... LMFAO like i need it

all on Fc9 oh yeah brodah!!!:eek:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11th June 2008, 11:07 PM
wtg_photos Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: NKY
Posts: 106
look then leap.

Quote:
Originally Posted by F.User_4_Life
i didnt read very far but did you try reformating the H.D. and then reinstalling Sulpher or what ever its called it may be that if you had a previous linux grub like one from the buntu series or had a generic MBR the you can find on the net or one built on a older structure for the grub. maybe you had a previous GBR or LISA and didnt know try googleing your error and see what comes up. GBR is Generic Boot of course i have seen other boot managers but i only use what comes with the distro im not crazy enough to do a LFS system

(Linux From Scratch)


good luck
@F.User_4_Life

........yes............ you did not read very far............ lets take the engine out of the car to fix the starter?????
great idea....


@carmarval

"look then leap....."

if FC9 installed ok then you should not have to re-format or re-install it

This is a GRUB setup issue
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200
Msi K8N Neo4
2 GB dual-channel PC3200
Saphire ATI x600 Pci-e
160GB WD ide
160GB WD sata
500GB WD sata
---F9-x86_64--
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11th June 2008, 11:22 PM
wtg_photos Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: NKY
Posts: 106
http://www.uruk.org/orig-grub/errors.html#stage2

says that
Quote:
Error 28 : "Bad or corrupt version of stage1/stage2"

This error is returned if the install command is pointed to incompatible or corrupt versions of the stage1 or stage2. It can't detect corruption in general, but this is a sanity check on the version numbers, which should be correct.

consistent with grub not pointing to the correct location of boot files..........

stage 2 is kept in your /boot folder

if you used the default install options the fedora made a small boot partition ie sda1 if you only have one drive

you installed grub to the whole device /dev/sda

so you might try reinstalling grub to /dev/sda1 the first partition
not to the mbr (master boot record)

let us know if you have fixed it and how......
thanks
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200
Msi K8N Neo4
2 GB dual-channel PC3200
Saphire ATI x600 Pci-e
160GB WD ide
160GB WD sata
500GB WD sata
---F9-x86_64--
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17th June 2008, 03:09 AM
carmarval Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3
Finally I found the solution:
I was using an Intel® Desktop Board D102GGC2 with an old BIOS. I used latest BIOS update 1087 for this board and the problem was solved.
By the way before solving the problem I installed Centos an I also did a succesfull installation but the system didnot boot either. This led me to figure a BIOS problem.
After boot was initiated I found another problem: boot sequence was stopped and hang up just before showing the initial screen. To avoid this i had to use "noapic" boot option due to a BIOS bug related to APIC.
Thanks for your help
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 17th June 2008, 05:10 AM
JEO Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,799
Glad to hear that you got it working!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
boot, fresh, installation, succesful, unable

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cannot boot FC6 after succesful installation feniks EOL (End Of Life) Versions 1 14th February 2007 01:09 AM
It won't boot after a succesful instalation toratora Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 5 9th April 2006 04:38 PM


Current GMT-time: 17:13 (Sunday, 25-06-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat