Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 12th December 2005, 04:17 AM
thisguy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
how to switch back to windows?

Today, I installed Fedora Core and I chose for it to be installed in free space so It woudln't mess with Windows XP in order to switch back from OS to OS. I think during the installation process, it installed Grub and I assumed that it would allow me to chose between windows and redhat right at startup but it doesnt. It just goes strait to redhat. How can I go back to the Windows XP environment? I'm still linux noob so please treat me like one. There's alot of linux lingo I haven't picked up.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12th December 2005, 04:23 AM
mndar Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,107
Press any key when the screen saying ".....FC4 in 10 secs" appears.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th December 2005, 04:42 AM
thisguy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Thanks a bunch. I was afriad I did something wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12th December 2005, 04:46 AM
thisguy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
oh yeah, how do I view the stuff I have in windows(music,pictures,videos) while using redhat?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th December 2005, 06:50 AM
mndar Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,107
I think you should just follow a tutorial else you'll get stuck at every point. Anyway, you have to mount the partition.
fdisk -l to view your partition table
mount /dev/hdaX /some/mount/point to mount it

/dev/hdaX is the partition and /some/mount/point is an empty directory
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th December 2005, 02:13 PM
ibbo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Leeds
Posts: 1,263
You will need the latest Kernel ntfs module installing too (assuming your win partition is ntfs). Besides there cannot be anything that important in Windows that you need under Linux.

Ibbo
__________________
A Hangover Lasts A Day, But Our Drunken Memories Last A Lifetime
--
Linux user #349545
(GNU/Linux)iD8DBQBAzWjX+MZAIjBWXGURAmflAKCntuBbuKCWenpm XoA7LNydllVQOwCfdjyzXscddzQvlhBedAcD7qfKmHo==zx0H
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12th December 2005, 04:29 PM
Mat Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: lair of a unix daemon
Posts: 1,155
http://www.fedorafaq.org/#ntfs
__________________
Man will always find a difficult means to perform a simple task
(Rube Goldberg)

Having fun with Tcl at
Mat's Playground
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
switch, windows

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switch back from windows bootloader to grub anthonyfg Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 4 4th February 2009 09:35 AM
i can"t switch back to the graphical terminal from the shell. communicatesiva Using Fedora 8 31st January 2008 07:21 PM
Experience with FC6 on INTEL 945 GM :Result switch back to Windows mrsurf Hardware & Laptops 3 16th January 2007 10:00 AM
Newbie question - How to switch from gnome to kde (and back)? zxc Using Fedora 8 5th February 2005 04:20 AM


Current GMT-time: 13:00 (Tuesday, 30-05-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat