Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 29th April 2017, 08:09 PM
H0wdy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 122
linuxchrome
MCE hardware errors on boot on new machine

I just got a new machine and installed Fedora 25 on it. I get these errors on boot:

Apr 29 07:21:16 DDesktop kernel: mce: [Hardware Error]: CPU 0: Machine Check:
Apr 29 07:21:16 DDesktop kernel: mce: [Hardware Error]: TSC 0 ADDR fef1ffc0 MI
Apr 29 07:21:16 DDesktop kernel: mce: [Hardware Error]: PROCESSOR 0:906e9 TIME
Apr 29 07:21:16 DDesktop kernel: mce: [Hardware Error]: CPU 0: Machine Check:
Apr 29 07:21:16 DDesktop kernel: mce: [Hardware Error]: TSC 0 ADDR fef200c0 MI
Apr 29 07:21:16 DDesktop kernel: mce: [Hardware Error]: PROCESSOR 0:906e9 TIME
Apr 29 07:21:16 DDesktop kernel: mce: [Hardware Error]: CPU 0: Machine Check:
Apr 29 07:21:16 DDesktop kernel: mce: [Hardware Error]: TSC 0 ADDR fef1ce80 MI
Apr 29 07:21:16 DDesktop kernel: mce: [Hardware Error]: PROCESSOR 0:906e9 TIME
Apr 29 07:21:16 DDesktop kernel: mce: [Hardware Error]: CPU 0: Machine Check:
Apr 29 07:21:16 DDesktop kernel: mce: [Hardware Error]: TSC 0 ADDR fef1ff00 MI
Apr 29 07:21:16 DDesktop kernel: mce: [Hardware Error]: PROCESSOR 0:906e9 TIME

Does that mean something is defective?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29th April 2017, 11:09 PM
antikythera Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,307
windows_98_nt_2000chrome
Re: MCE hardware errors on boot on new machine

not necessarily, what hardware does your new machine have? it may need newer kernels for proper support. have you done a full update and reboot since installing?
__________________
Latest survey shows that 3 out of 4 people make up 75% of the world's population - Stephen Hawking
Download, Install and Share Fedora
- Official ISO Torrents
| Live ISO Respins containing post-release updates
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th April 2017, 04:20 PM
bobx001 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: santa barbara, CA
Posts: 388
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: MCE hardware errors on boot on new machine

Quote:
Originally Posted by antikythera View Post
not necessarily, what hardware does your new machine have? it may need newer kernels for proper support. have you done a full update and reboot since installing?

Maybe the battery on the internal clock is dead ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30th April 2017, 07:38 PM
GraySplatter Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 10
linuxchrome
Re: MCE hardware errors on boot on new machine

Hi, is your machine a Dell perchance?

My new Dell has had the same errors, and a number of other people are reporting the same thing as well.

I found this thread on the issue. I have not attempted to update the BIOS yet.

https://lkml.org/lkml/2017/1/4/559

Don't quote me on this, but I ran across a thread on redhat support indicating this might be an incorrect mce for some kind of throttling event. I cannot find it now, so I'm sure I'm misremembering exactly what was said.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30th April 2017, 09:07 PM
antikythera Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,307
windows_98_nt_2000chrome
Re: MCE hardware errors on boot on new machine

it certainly does look like a processor microcode error relating to UEFI firmware rather than anything CMOS related
__________________
Latest survey shows that 3 out of 4 people make up 75% of the world's population - Stephen Hawking
Download, Install and Share Fedora
- Official ISO Torrents
| Live ISO Respins containing post-release updates
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 1st May 2017, 05:48 AM
bobx001 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: santa barbara, CA
Posts: 388
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: MCE hardware errors on boot on new machine

Quote:
Originally Posted by antikythera View Post
it certainly does look like a processor microcode error relating to UEFI firmware rather than anything CMOS related
yet another micro$oft timebomb ... lol
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 1st May 2017, 08:50 AM
antikythera Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,307
linuxchrome
Re: MCE hardware errors on boot on new machine

this one has nothing to do with MS. It's 100% the responsibility of the OEM to make sure their firmware contains the correct CPU Microcode, that aspect is no different from legacy BIOS.
__________________
Latest survey shows that 3 out of 4 people make up 75% of the world's population - Stephen Hawking
Download, Install and Share Fedora
- Official ISO Torrents
| Live ISO Respins containing post-release updates
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 1st May 2017, 07:08 PM
GraySplatter Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 10
linuxchrome
Re: MCE hardware errors on boot on new machine

I just updated the firmware via the fwupd package and can confirm that the error has gone away.

FINALLY.

Now on Fedora 25, currently fwupd won't launch due to a problem with libgusb. There is a work-around currently to downgrade the libgusb package to the fedora 24 version. I got the rpm here:

http://rpmfind.net/linux/RPM/fedora/...24.x86_64.html

Then:

dnf downgrade libgusb-0.2.9-1.fc24.x86_64.rpm

I downloaded the firmware from: https://secure-lvfs.rhcloud.com/lvfs/

Then:

fwupdmgr get-devices
...
fwupdmgr install fdab6b6740a254c640ef6c109ff7692e1d1d0531-XPS9560v1.2.4.cab

Reboot and it goes into the firmware update. Took 5 minutes.

I'm using KDE, this process is a little more integrated with GNOME, but the command line works just fine.

Again, this is all on my Dell Precision M 5520, so your situation may not be exactly the same.

I hope this helps people who've been searching for as long as I did.

Last edited by GraySplatter; 1st May 2017 at 07:10 PM. Reason: fixed typo libgush to libgusb
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 7th May 2017, 03:32 PM
H0wdy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 122
linuxchrome
Re: MCE hardware errors on boot on new machine

It is a dell machine Inspiron Desktop 3668. What firmware would I use?

---

mcelog: Family 6 Model 9e CPU: only decoding architectural errors
mcelog: warning: 24 bytes ignored in each record
mcelog: consider an update

Last edited by H0wdy; 8th May 2017 at 03:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 8th May 2017, 05:18 PM
GraySplatter Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 10
macoschrome
Re: MCE hardware errors on boot on new machine

I've spent a little time researching but I haven't found an easy answer for you.

According to:

https://certification.ubuntu.com/hardware/201610-25163/

Your system is a UEFI firmware system, so if you follow method #2 in this:

http://www.dell.com/support/article/...nments?lang=EN

My best guess is that would work. EXCEPT that I don't see a Linux driver provided in the Dell support site for the 3668 running Linux.

This is interesting here. Read the little blurb in the Dell section:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/BIOSUpdate

Quote:
If you are using UEFI and your F12 boot options include "Flash BIOS upgrade", one may download the BIOS upgrade .exe from Dell's website, and put it to your /boot/EFI/ folder. Reboot and select "Flash BIOS upgrade" option. In the dialog select the .exe file you have just downloaded and continue with the process.
That also links to this:

https://wiki.ubuntu.com/DellBIOS

The description there looks like a better write-up of method #3 at the Dell web page.

So check your boot options to see if you can upgrade from there. The current Windows version of the BIOS update is:

https://downloads.dell.com/FOLDER041...3268_1.2.1.exe

Drop it into /boot/EFI/ as it says.

And remember, PROCEED WITH CAUTION. Firmware updates can absolutely brick your system. If your firmware has a recovery option, great, but still take care.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 9th May 2017, 06:22 PM
H0wdy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 122
linuxchrome
Re: MCE hardware errors on boot on new machine

Ok, I seem to already have that bios:

sudo dmidecode -s bios-version
1.2.1


So what do I do about the MCE errors?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10th May 2017, 12:07 AM
GraySplatter Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 10
macoschrome
Re: MCE hardware errors on boot on new machine

The date of that BIOS is nearly a month older than the date on mine, so I think it's likely that the next update to your BIOS will fix the issue.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10th May 2017, 02:06 AM
H0wdy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 122
linuxchrome
Re: MCE hardware errors on boot on new machine

Ok, I updated to that 1.2.1 one from March, and I still have the same errors :/

Last edited by H0wdy; 10th May 2017 at 02:24 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10th May 2017, 06:31 PM
GraySplatter Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 10
macoschrome
Re: MCE hardware errors on boot on new machine

Yeah, I'm pretty sure Dell is aware of this problem. I would expect to see a new BIOS soon. I know how annoying those MCEs are, I lived with them for a couple of months. Nothing's wrong with your system, so, hang on for the next update and if that doesn't fix the problem then we can revisit.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10th May 2017, 11:52 PM
H0wdy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 122
linuxchrome
Re: MCE hardware errors on boot on new machine

Thanks, Gray. I'll keep waiting for a new one.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
boot, errors, hardware, machine, mce

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't view mce hardware errors dvavra Using Fedora 2 19th June 2016 12:08 PM
Developer machine-hardware compatible with F20 piprog Hardware & Laptops 1 11th September 2014 11:57 PM
List the installed hardware on a machine? GUI? sepoto Using Fedora 2 7th February 2011 01:23 AM
uhci_hcd and USB errors - I have no USB hardware! allany2525 Hardware & Laptops 1 29th April 2009 06:05 PM
What hardware to buy, if building a new machine? zxc Hardware & Laptops 5 8th February 2005 07:08 PM


Current GMT-time: 09:11 (Thursday, 29-06-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat