Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 8th March 2015, 01:00 AM
Eric F Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Posts: 60
linuxfedorafirefox
(blank) screenshots

Think I'm going to need som help with the screenshots. I first installed “vokoscreen” and tried that one, but all screenshots are empty, or accually they grabs the login screen (or the default desktop picture (same)) instead.

Here's a picture of vokoscreen with the magnifying glass. That gray('ish) area is part of the background in LightDM.




To rule out the program, I also tried with scrot. It grabs the same picture.

Any ideas?


Setup: Fedora 21 (32bit), Cinnamon in VirtualBox (4.3.24)
__________________
[eric@...] ~$
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 8th March 2015, 07:53 AM
chepioq Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Aubagne France
Age: 62
Posts: 646
linuxchrome
Re: (blank) screenshots

I can see you use fedora 21 in VirtualBox.
With VirtualBox you use a generic driver for video, and may-be those drivers are not compatible with vokoscreen program.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 8th March 2015, 08:41 AM
Eric F Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Posts: 60
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: (blank) screenshots

Quote:
Originally Posted by chepioq View Post
I can see you use fedora 21 in VirtualBox.
With VirtualBox you use a generic driver for video, and may-be those drivers are not compatible with vokoscreen program.
Been trying to sort this out now, and I'm kind of halfway through. It seems to be Cinnamon related.

printscreen, gnome-screenshot, vookoscreen... all are producing the “blank” images. But I think I've found a good explaination for that. Went through the Cinnamon issue tracker on Github, where 1 post suggested to first try the panel program: Desktop Capture. And that one did work.

So when I was reading through his issues, I found this one: https://github.com/rjanja/desktop-ca...mment-14122904, explaining why it doesn't work.

- - -


It's an ok/nice program so I can use that, even though I'd like to have a “program” (not an applet).

Screenshots are ok, and video to, but I can't seem to make the audio work when recording.

The applet, when using ffmpeg as back-end, is using: ffmpeg -f alsa -ac 2 -i pulse ...
When reading the ffmpeg-wiki::capture alsa - I guess I have to go with the loop example if I want to record the sound of an audio player?

The line: modprobe snd-aloop pcm_substreams=1
The last part (pcm_str...) looks like it's something that needs to be added to grub, or added to another file if I want it to be persistent?

I haven't used alsa like this before, so I'd really appreciate if someone could give some input.
__________________
[eric@...] ~$
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th March 2015, 03:11 PM
sea Offline
"Shells" (of a sub world)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica (Swissh)
Age: 37
Posts: 4,280
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: (blank) screenshots

So basicly you are saying that you have multimedia issues within a virtualbox.
Screenshots and videos are to be taken from the outside of the virtualmachine, makes that task quite alot easier.

Anyhow, about taking a screenshot:
Code:
import -window root screenshot.jpg
Personaly i never could get audio to work inside a virtualbox, i assume its for the same reason as one cannot use xrandr to get the screen resolution.

BTW, if you feel the command line for ffmpeg to become too complex, you might like my 'VHS' (see signature).

Hope this helps.
__________________
EFI Cheatsheet :: http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=298546
Video Handler Script (VHS) (mass re-encode videos, screenrecorder, console music/webradio player, ...) :: http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=299182
Windows 8+ & Fedora 20+ Dualboot :: http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=298161
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th March 2015, 11:53 PM
Eric F Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Posts: 60
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: (blank) screenshots

Quote:
Originally Posted by sea View Post
So basicly you are saying that you have multimedia issues within a virtualbox.
Screenshots and videos are to be taken from the outside of the virtualmachine, makes that task quite alot easier.

Anyhow, about taking a screenshot:
Code:
import -window root screenshot.jpg
Personaly i never could get audio to work inside a virtualbox, i assume its for the same reason as one cannot use xrandr to get the screen resolution.

BTW, if you feel the command line for ffmpeg to become too complex, you might like my 'VHS' (see signature).

Hope this helps.
Thanks sea. I'll look at the VHS script. Well, not multimedia-issues. I guess to grab the application sound it's about how to configure the line properly. The issue seems to be Cinnamon, or more exactly how other programs (doesn't) work inside it. Like he mentioned in his post - something about the Cinnamon back-end.

I tried “import -window ...”, with same result. It grabs the boot screen, not the desktop. Just like scrot and the other ones. And after some time, it will grab the lock screen.

Audio and xandr is fine. Both are working.
Code:
$ xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 64 x 64, current 1280 x 880, maximum 16384 x 16384
VGA-0 connected primary 1280x880+0+0 0mm x 0mm
   ...
   ...
For the audio, perhaps I should go with Jack audio to route the appliction sound.
__________________
[eric@...] ~$
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19th March 2016, 03:06 AM
Eric F Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Posts: 60
linuxfirefox
Re: (blank) screenshots

Just a note, in case it'll help anyone later… (ie. FTR)

There was an update to VirtualBox 4 in January: 4.3.36*
https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Download_Old_Builds_4_3

With that one (+ guest additions) and F23, the problem disappeared.

* I cant use the newer 5.* on my Mac.
__________________
[eric@...] ~$
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
blank, screenshots

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Screenshots Premium Ookwee Using Fedora 2 20th January 2010 10:41 PM
Screenshots Spats Using Fedora 5 11th October 2005 02:43 AM
How do I take screenshots? Impeteperry Using Fedora 11 19th January 2005 10:08 PM


Current GMT-time: 22:47 (Monday, 24-07-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat