Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora Resources > Guides & Solutions (Not For Questions)
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Guides & Solutions (Not For Questions) Post your guides here (No links to Blogs accepted). You can also append your comments/questions to a guide, but don't start a new thread to ask a question. Use another forum for that.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 11th February 2013, 09:36 PM
debo2011 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: all world
Posts: 144
windows_xp_2003firefox
Re: PostInstallerF

Dear friends, you need to see the live update process of PostInstallerF? If this is correct, in a few hours I will be making changes, showing a terminal, the direction of these updates. What think?
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 11th February 2013, 10:06 PM
Dan Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 24,099
linuxfirefox
Re: PostInstallerF

I'm thinking transparency here is the better choice. And perhaps the opportunity to view, approve and read a detailed description of any and all updates performed. <....>

We are, after all, asking people to completely trust the process. <....>


Y, en ingles, por favor. My Spanish is non-existent.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 11th February 2013, 10:36 PM
T3STY Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: home@Fedora18
Posts: 91
linuxfirefox
Re: PostInstallerF

Why is xterm installed as dependency? I don't want it as I use gnome-terminal... is it necessary for the script someway?
__________________
MY SYSTEM ↂ Main OS: Fedora 18 x86_64 ↂ CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 (3.3GHz, Cache: 9MB, Socket: AM3) ↂ MoBo: MSI 890FXA-GD65 ↂ RAM: 8GB (4x2GB Kingston HyperX, DDR3, 1333MHz) ↂ Graphics: Club3D Radeon 4850 (GPU: ATI rv770, BUS: 256-bit, RAM: 512MB GDDR3) ↂ PS: Cooler Master GX-650 (650W, 80+ Bronze) ↂ Main HD: 320GB (Maxtor, SATA) ↂ Sec. HD: 80GB (Western Digital, SATA)
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 11th February 2013, 11:47 PM
debo2011 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: all world
Posts: 144
linuxfirefox
Re: PostInstallerF

Dan

I will make the changes in 'PostInstallerF', showing live updates via terminal, in the next hours. The progress bars will be migrated to the English in due time, this project began as a program for Hispanic people. There are thousands of people who use it.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
T3STY

Speaking about PostInstallerF; Xterm will not affect anything, nor replace anything, just you will see the live update process via xterm. You are confused. Do not worry.


and ready! the update is complete, as you can see the path of live updates are to the mirror Google Code http://code.google.com/p/postinstallerfedora/

Last edited by debo2011; 12th February 2013 at 12:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 12th February 2013, 01:06 AM
T3STY Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: home@Fedora18
Posts: 91
linuxsafari
Re: PostInstallerF

I know it won't affect anything, I just don't like redundance in my apps...
__________________
MY SYSTEM ↂ Main OS: Fedora 18 x86_64 ↂ CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 (3.3GHz, Cache: 9MB, Socket: AM3) ↂ MoBo: MSI 890FXA-GD65 ↂ RAM: 8GB (4x2GB Kingston HyperX, DDR3, 1333MHz) ↂ Graphics: Club3D Radeon 4850 (GPU: ATI rv770, BUS: 256-bit, RAM: 512MB GDDR3) ↂ PS: Cooler Master GX-650 (650W, 80+ Bronze) ↂ Main HD: 320GB (Maxtor, SATA) ↂ Sec. HD: 80GB (Western Digital, SATA)
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 12th February 2013, 01:44 AM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 8,433
linuxfirefox
Re: PostInstallerF

Well, I too am wondering why it install Xterm. All you have to do is execute a shell script and tell it to run in a terminal window, then it will use whatever the default terminal application is without needing to install anything.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 12th February 2013, 02:05 AM
debo2011 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: all world
Posts: 144
linuxfirefox
Re: PostInstallerF

Quote:
Originally Posted by T3STY View Post
I know it won't affect anything, I just don't like redundance in my apps...
is part of the transparency, if the user is happy watching the live upgrade process, no problem. Also, everyone has access to the source code. I hate to see a terminal within any program, we must not scare the user with this. In the future this updater live, show the route with a modern progress bar.

---------- Post added at 03:05 AM ---------- Previous post was at 02:55 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by DBelton View Post
Well, I too am wondering why it install Xterm. All you have to do is execute a shell script and tell it to run in a terminal window, then it will use whatever the default terminal application is without needing to install anything.
There are processes that work best under xterm, for example when installing virtualbox proprietary, this dependency I can not remove, sorry. Xterm is not only used by the updater live, I have better results with xterm.

Quote:
man xterm
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 12th February 2013, 02:09 AM
bob Online
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 71
Posts: 23,104
linuxfirefox
Re: PostInstallerF

I liked the changes I saw with this version. Minor glitch I should report: I installed fotoxx and when I started it, the package complained that it needed dcraw. Once that was installed, it ran properly.
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 12th February 2013, 03:11 AM
debo2011 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: all world
Posts: 144
linuxfirefox
Re: PostInstallerF

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob View Post
I liked the changes I saw with this version. Minor glitch I should report: I installed fotoxx and when I started it, the package complained that it needed dcraw. Once that was installed, it ran properly.
Thanks Bob. really? Fotoxx, mmm very strange, it must report to the packer Fotoxx, PostInstallerF install 'Fotoxx' in the following manner.

Code:
yum -y install fotoxx
but i will include as dependency, thanks

Last edited by debo2011; 12th February 2013 at 03:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 24th March 2013, 11:41 PM
sidebrnz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Freedonia
Age: 67
Posts: 2,985
linuxfirefox
Re: PostInstallerF

Not only is everything in Spanish, it doesn't tell you what it's doing or ask what you want. If it turns out that it does things I dislike, is there any way to recover from it without reinstalling from scratch?
__________________
Registered Linux user #470359 and permanently recovered BOFH.

Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 25th March 2013, 12:02 AM
bob Online
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 71
Posts: 23,104
linuxfirefox
Re: PostInstallerF

Huh? It's sure not in Spanish on my version.
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 25th March 2013, 12:17 AM
sidebrnz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Freedonia
Age: 67
Posts: 2,985
linuxfirefox
Re: PostInstallerF

Well, I installed and ran it just before posting here. Yes, some of the stuff, such as asking if I want to reboot, is in English, but the titles of all the windows that tell you what's going on were in Spanish.
__________________
Registered Linux user #470359 and permanently recovered BOFH.

Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 25th March 2013, 12:50 AM
bob Online
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 71
Posts: 23,104
linuxfirefox
Re: PostInstallerF

Hmmm...well here's what I'm looking at in both the initial window and the package selection (install or remove) window. I've done both, btw, with no issues.

__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 25th March 2013, 01:05 AM
sidebrnz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Freedonia
Age: 67
Posts: 2,985
linuxfirefox
Re: PostInstallerF

Weird! When I ran it, it just seemed to install everything without asking, or telling me what was happening. And, AFAICT, none of that's shown up on my menus. Probably it's because I use Xfce, not Gnome.
__________________
Registered Linux user #470359 and permanently recovered BOFH.

Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 23rd May 2013, 12:11 AM
debo2011 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: all world
Posts: 144
linuxfirefox
Re: PostInstallerF

Coming up (this week) new release!, some changes, more programs, some surprises!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
postinstallation fedora, postinstallerf, repositories, scripts, sudeenly

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Current GMT-time: 22:16 (Sunday, 28-05-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat