Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora Resources > Guides & Solutions (Not For Questions)
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Guides & Solutions (Not For Questions) Post your guides here (No links to Blogs accepted). You can also append your comments/questions to a guide, but don't start a new thread to ask a question. Use another forum for that.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11th February 2008, 04:19 AM
Duli Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sao Paulo, SP - Brazil
Age: 37
Posts: 712
easyLife - Automated installs and configurations on Fedora! (NOW FOR F9)

Hello:

You are invited to try this program out. It's a program in bash script I've wrote to help Fedora users.

Available for Fedora 18.

easyLife allows new and even experienced users to install and configure software on Fedora, just by mouse clicking. It's simple and clean.


Among others, these are some of easyLife features:

. Sets "sudo" command up for your regular user;

. Installs Flash Player plugin;

. Installs all kinds of Codecs;

. Installs additional fonts;

. Installs RPMFusion repository for extra and non-free software;

. Installs Skype;

. Installs Sun Java and Sun Java Plugin for Firefox (32 and 64 bit);

. Integrates Sun Java with system-switch-java (so you can choose between java 32 or 64 or open java etc.);

. And many others...


easyLife is avaiable in english (en_US), portuguese (pr_BR, pt_PT) and spanish (es_ES) and many other.


Get it here: http://easylifeproject.org


Enjoy!

Duli

Last edited by Duli; 24th January 2013 at 01:38 AM. Reason: new version released
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11th February 2008, 07:54 AM
Zero-Override Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 741
sounds real cool
__________________
LINUX NUMBER 389596
machine number 290131
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th February 2008, 12:37 PM
Duli Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sao Paulo, SP - Brazil
Age: 37
Posts: 712
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero-Override
sounds real cool
If you test it, I´d be happy to hear suggestions and comments.

Thanks a lot.
Duli
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th February 2008, 12:40 PM
Zero-Override Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 741
i might set up a testcomputer to try it out sounds great, but at the moment my Fedora is running spotless

but since i install like 5 new computers a day i can test it i guess
__________________
LINUX NUMBER 389596
machine number 290131
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11th February 2008, 12:49 PM
Duli Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sao Paulo, SP - Brazil
Age: 37
Posts: 712
Zero-Override: Sure! It´s great on fresh installed fedoras. Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11th February 2008, 01:47 PM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
It's a shame there isn't a version for 64 bit O/S
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11th February 2008, 01:53 PM
Duli Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sao Paulo, SP - Brazil
Age: 37
Posts: 712
Hello, leigh: Working on it.. I´ll post here when it´s done!

Cheers!
Duli
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11th February 2008, 06:21 PM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 58
Posts: 12,371
Hello Duli:
It seems to work very well.

Thanks

Just a cosmetic suggestion.
You might want to change the English spelling of the word Midia to Media
The seventh selection from the bottom

Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11th February 2008, 06:26 PM
Duli Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sao Paulo, SP - Brazil
Age: 37
Posts: 712
Hello, Seve: thanks a lot for the correction. I´ll change it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12th February 2008, 12:54 AM
Wayne
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
It's great that people make these utilities to make newbies lives easier, but.... and here's the but...

Dangermouse already has a great script for installing 3rd party stuff:

http://www.freewebs.com/dnmouse/index.htm

So, when newbies come in asking how to install codecs, etc, some people will point to your script and others to Dangermouse's and life may get a little confusing

It's a bit like having Livna, Freshrpms and other conflicting repos... It would be a better idea if you guys collaborated in making the 'perfect' install script (if there is such a beast!) then we'd have one central location to point the newbies to...

Just my 10 yen including tax...

Wayne
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12th February 2008, 01:05 AM
Duli Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sao Paulo, SP - Brazil
Age: 37
Posts: 712
Wayne: Awesome! We sure could add our resources to make one great script. I just took a look at dangermouse's source, and I think one would complete each other. Mine script was also one single file, but I found it was too hard to maintain it that way. So I started writing it in a kind of framework. I'll try to contact Dangermouse and ask him if he wants to do collaborating work! Thanks for poiting that out!

duli
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12th February 2008, 01:17 AM
Wayne
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I don't see it couldn't be a forum collaboration, especially with all the nationalities that hang out here... Think multi-language

Wayne
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12th February 2008, 01:51 AM
JN4OldSchool Offline
"Sean The Terrible" -- The forum(er) Vista® rep
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 8,823
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayne
I don't see it couldn't be a forum collaboration, especially with all the nationalities that hang out here... Think multi-language

Wayne
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12th February 2008, 02:04 AM
Wayne
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
解りません!

Wayne
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12th February 2008, 02:16 AM
koallalays Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7
Is it possible to choose 'offline-installation' from eg. a CD for all this codecs and 3rd party stuff? And If the programm downloads something ... does it store the rpm- files for later offline-installation???
That would be really great for many reasons
__________________
I'm an absolute newbie => you have to guide me through every click ;)

Thank you very much for your help! :) :)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
automated, configurations, easylife, fedora, installs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What are all the configurations we should change to access interner in fedora 3? rohinvijay Servers & Networking 2 7th January 2009 10:35 AM
Installing java64 using easylife bobo60 Using Fedora 0 28th December 2008 10:18 PM
Help Easylife Installer Dwarflord Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 7th October 2008 10:30 PM
easylife doesn't work in Fedora 9 1inxs Alpha - Beta (Fedora 9 Only) 5 18th April 2008 07:01 AM
Keyboard Problem after running EasyLIfe mikefarris Hardware & Laptops 8 23rd March 2008 04:52 AM


Current GMT-time: 09:13 (Thursday, 29-06-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat