Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora Resources > Guides & Solutions (Not For Questions)
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Guides & Solutions (Not For Questions) Post your guides here (No links to Blogs accepted). You can also append your comments/questions to a guide, but don't start a new thread to ask a question. Use another forum for that.

View Poll Results: Did it work for you
Yes 459 48.57%
No 343 36.30%
Nearly worked 143 15.13%
Voters: 945. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 28th May 2007, 03:50 PM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by tokegee
Hi leigh123
Thank you .. leigh123, I got fglrx driver installed and Beryl too. Well .. please let me ask more questions.
After installing them, I lost my desktop effects. Although I tried with Beryl Manager, I got nothing effects.
And all resolutions were changed from my current resolution 1024x768 to the 1280x1024. Although I could change my destop resolution to 1024x768, but Starting screen and Login screen are in 1280x1024. So how can I fix it and How can I get Desktop Effects?

Best regards

PS: have a nice day
1. Did you edit your xorg.conf as described in section 3 ?
2. Did you restart X or reboot as this is needed . ?
3. did you use the new option to start XGL ?( gdm session type i.e Gnome + XGL )



if the above steps fail post the output from

glxinfo


cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep EE


cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep WW
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 28th May 2007, 04:37 PM
tokegee Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: EU
Posts: 76
Yes, I did all, but only one thing left to do choosing GNOME+XGL. I chose GNOME, that was why I didn't get it. Forgive me!
Right Now I get it all.

Thank you so much indeed for giving me experiences on Fedora and for your kinds.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 29th May 2007, 06:10 PM
mps2006 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 170
Well, it half worked...

I now have the desktop effects from compiz (wobbly windows, cube etc) working under gnome, which is progress and very nice.

However, KDE seems a bit roughed-up: the ControlCenter menu item has gone, and other menu items have been re-organised, and I have to restart X to log out...

And trying to select Beryl as window manager from beryl-manager just crashes X, whether in gnome or kde.

It also changed my keyboard settings, but that was quick to change back.

But overall it is progress... I'll install FC7 sometime soon and see if a vanilla install makes beryl work (i've tried several times before, so might be a hang over from that).

FWIW I have an X1600 on acer 8204 with 2.6.20-1.2948.fc6

thanks for the help
M.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 29th May 2007, 06:32 PM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by mps2006
Well, it half worked...

I now have the desktop effects from compiz (wobbly windows, cube etc) working under gnome, which is progress and very nice.

However, KDE seems a bit roughed-up: the ControlCenter menu item has gone, and other menu items have been re-organised, and I have to restart X to log out...

And trying to select Beryl as window manager from beryl-manager just crashes X, whether in gnome or kde.

It also changed my keyboard settings, but that was quick to change back.

But overall it is progress... I'll install FC7 sometime soon and see if a vanilla install makes beryl work (i've tried several times before, so might be a hang over from that).

FWIW I have an X1600 on acer 8204 with 2.6.20-1.2948.fc6

thanks for the help
M.
Ok try deleting the /home/*/.beryl folder and see if that helps.

You may want to change the wildcard " * " for your username

Quote:
su
rm -rf /home/*/.beryl
If not can you post the results of these commands

glxinfo


cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep EE


cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep WW
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 29th May 2007, 06:56 PM
mps2006 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 170
Hi Leigh,
Thanks for the advice.

Deleting the contents of .beryl doesn't help unfortunately.

Here is the output:

Code:
[root@moabi ~]# glxinfo
name of display: :0.0
Xlib:  extension "XFree86-DRI" missing on display ":0.0".
display: :0  screen: 0
direct rendering: No
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.2
server glx extensions:
    GLX_ARB_multisample, GLX_EXT_visual_info, GLX_EXT_visual_rating, 
    GLX_EXT_import_context, GLX_EXT_texture_from_pixmap, GLX_OML_swap_method, 
    GLX_SGI_make_current_read, GLX_SGIS_multisample, GLX_SGIX_hyperpipe, 
    GLX_SGIX_swap_barrier, GLX_SGIX_fbconfig
client glx vendor string: ATI
client glx version string: 1.3
client glx extensions:
    GLX_EXT_visual_info, GLX_EXT_visual_rating, GLX_EXT_import_context, 
    GLX_ARB_get_proc_address, GLX_SGI_video_sync, GLX_ARB_multisample, 
    GLX_ATI_pixel_format_float, GLX_ATI_render_texture
GLX version: 1.2
GLX extensions:
    GLX_EXT_visual_info, GLX_EXT_visual_rating, GLX_EXT_import_context, 
    GLX_ARB_multisample
OpenGL vendor string: ATI Technologies Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: ATI Mobility Radeon X1600
OpenGL version string: 1.2 (2.0.6458 (8.36.5))
OpenGL extensions:
    GL_ARB_multitexture, GL_ARB_texture_border_clamp, GL_ARB_texture_cube_map, 
    GL_ARB_texture_env_add, GL_ARB_texture_env_combine, 
    GL_ARB_texture_env_dot3, GL_ARB_transpose_matrix, GL_EXT_abgr, 
    GL_EXT_blend_color, GL_EXT_blend_minmax, GL_EXT_blend_subtract, 
    GL_EXT_texture_env_add, GL_EXT_texture_env_combine, 
    GL_EXT_texture_env_dot3, GL_EXT_texture_lod_bias

   visual  x  bf lv rg d st colorbuffer ax dp st accumbuffer  ms  cav
 id dep cl sp sz l  ci b ro  r  g  b  a bf th cl  r  g  b  a ns b eat
----------------------------------------------------------------------
0x2c 24 tc  0 32  0 r  y  .  8  8  8  8  0 24  8  0  0  0  0  0 0 None
0x2d 24 tc  0 32  0 r  .  .  8  8  8  8  0  0  0  0  0  0  0  0 0 None
0x2e 32 tc  0 32  0 r  y  .  8  8  8  8  0 24  8  0  0  0  0  0 0 Ncon
0x2f 32 tc  0 32  0 r  .  .  8  8  8  8  0  0  0  0  0  0  0  0 0 Ncon
Code:
[root@moabi ~]# cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep EE
        (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(EE) Screen Screen1 doesn't exist: deleting placement
(II) Loading extension MIT-SCREEN-SAVER
Code:
[root@moabi ~]# cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep WW
        (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(WW) No FontPath specified.  Using compiled-in default.
(WW) fglrx(0): board is an unknown third party board, chipset is supported
(WW) LoadModule: given non-canonical module name "glesx.so"
(WW) <default pointer>: No Device specified, looking for one...
Can you make head or tail of that?

thanks
M.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 29th May 2007, 07:12 PM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by mps2006
Hi Leigh,
Thanks for the advice.

Deleting the contents of .beryl doesn't help unfortunately.

Here is the output:

Code:
[root@moabi ~]# glxinfo
name of display: :0.0
Xlib:  extension "XFree86-DRI" missing on display ":0.0".
display: :0  screen: 0
direct rendering: No
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.2
server glx extensions:
    GLX_ARB_multisample, GLX_EXT_visual_info, GLX_EXT_visual_rating, 
    GLX_EXT_import_context, GLX_EXT_texture_from_pixmap, GLX_OML_swap_method, 
    GLX_SGI_make_current_read, GLX_SGIS_multisample, GLX_SGIX_hyperpipe, 
    GLX_SGIX_swap_barrier, GLX_SGIX_fbconfig
client glx vendor string: ATI
client glx version string: 1.3
client glx extensions:
    GLX_EXT_visual_info, GLX_EXT_visual_rating, GLX_EXT_import_context, 
    GLX_ARB_get_proc_address, GLX_SGI_video_sync, GLX_ARB_multisample, 
    GLX_ATI_pixel_format_float, GLX_ATI_render_texture
GLX version: 1.2
GLX extensions:
    GLX_EXT_visual_info, GLX_EXT_visual_rating, GLX_EXT_import_context, 
    GLX_ARB_multisample
OpenGL vendor string: ATI Technologies Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: ATI Mobility Radeon X1600
OpenGL version string: 1.2 (2.0.6458 (8.36.5))
OpenGL extensions:
    GL_ARB_multitexture, GL_ARB_texture_border_clamp, GL_ARB_texture_cube_map, 
    GL_ARB_texture_env_add, GL_ARB_texture_env_combine, 
    GL_ARB_texture_env_dot3, GL_ARB_transpose_matrix, GL_EXT_abgr, 
    GL_EXT_blend_color, GL_EXT_blend_minmax, GL_EXT_blend_subtract, 
    GL_EXT_texture_env_add, GL_EXT_texture_env_combine, 
    GL_EXT_texture_env_dot3, GL_EXT_texture_lod_bias

   visual  x  bf lv rg d st colorbuffer ax dp st accumbuffer  ms  cav
 id dep cl sp sz l  ci b ro  r  g  b  a bf th cl  r  g  b  a ns b eat
----------------------------------------------------------------------
0x2c 24 tc  0 32  0 r  y  .  8  8  8  8  0 24  8  0  0  0  0  0 0 None
0x2d 24 tc  0 32  0 r  .  .  8  8  8  8  0  0  0  0  0  0  0  0 0 None
0x2e 32 tc  0 32  0 r  y  .  8  8  8  8  0 24  8  0  0  0  0  0 0 Ncon
0x2f 32 tc  0 32  0 r  .  .  8  8  8  8  0  0  0  0  0  0  0  0 0 Ncon
Code:
[root@moabi ~]# cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep EE
        (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(EE) Screen Screen1 doesn't exist: deleting placement
(II) Loading extension MIT-SCREEN-SAVER
Code:
[root@moabi ~]# cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep WW
        (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(WW) No FontPath specified.  Using compiled-in default.
(WW) fglrx(0): board is an unknown third party board, chipset is supported
(WW) LoadModule: given non-canonical module name "glesx.so"
(WW) <default pointer>: No Device specified, looking for one...
Can you make head or tail of that?

thanks
M.
Well fglrx seems to be configured correctly , I would try a single monitor setup in your xorg.conf.

Can you post your xorg.conf


Quote:
(EE) Screen Screen1 doesn't exist: deleting placement
You have your laptop setup for dual screen ? ( you could try single monitor setup in your xorg.conf )

Quote:
[CODE][root@moabi ~]# glxinfo
name of display: :0.0
Xlib: extension "XFree86-DRI" missing on display ":0.0".
display: :0 screen: 0
direct rendering: No
Did you run glxinfo with XGL active ? ( The output indicates you did )
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 29th May 2007, 07:23 PM
mps2006 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 170
Hi Leigh,

I am using an external display via the DVI port. Its in clone mode. I'd like to keep that if I can and its more important to me than the effects. I will test without the second screen though and see what happens.

Here is the xorg.conf:

Code:
[malc@moabi ~]$ cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf
# Xorg configuration created by system-config-display

Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "single head configuration"
        Screen      0  "aticonfig-Screen[0]" LeftOf "Screen1"
        InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
        InputDevice    "Synaptics" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Module"
        Load  "freetype"
        Load  "dri"
        Load  "glx"
        Load  "extmod"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
        Option      "AIGLX" "off"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier  "Keyboard0"
        Driver      "kbd"
        Option      "XkbModel" "pc105"
        Option      "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier  "Synaptics"
        Driver      "synaptics"
        Option      "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
        Option      "Protocol" "auto-dev"
        Option      "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"

 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
        Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[0]"
        ModelName    "LCD Panel 1680x1050"
 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
        HorizSync    31.5 - 90.0
        VertRefresh  59.9 - 60.1
        Option      "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
        Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]"
        Driver      "fglrx"
        Option      "VideoOverlay" "on"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]"
        Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]"
        Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[0]"
        DefaultDepth     24
        SubSection "Display"
                Viewport   0 0
                Depth     24
        EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "DRI"
        Mode         0666
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
        Option      "Composite" "False"
EndSection

[malc@moabi ~]$
Thanks
M.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 29th May 2007, 08:30 PM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by mps2006
Hi Leigh,

I am using an external display via the DVI port. Its in clone mode. I'd like to keep that if I can and its more important to me than the effects. I will test without the second screen though and see what happens.

Here is the xorg.conf:

Code:
[malc@moabi ~]$ cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf
# Xorg configuration created by system-config-display

Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "single head configuration"
        Screen      0  "aticonfig-Screen[0]" LeftOf "Screen1"
        InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
        InputDevice    "Synaptics" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Module"
        Load  "freetype"
        Load  "dri"
        Load  "glx"
        Load  "extmod"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
        Option      "AIGLX" "off"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier  "Keyboard0"
        Driver      "kbd"
        Option      "XkbModel" "pc105"
        Option      "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier  "Synaptics"
        Driver      "synaptics"
        Option      "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
        Option      "Protocol" "auto-dev"
        Option      "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"

 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
        Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[0]"
        ModelName    "LCD Panel 1680x1050"
 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
        HorizSync    31.5 - 90.0
        VertRefresh  59.9 - 60.1
        Option      "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
        Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]"
        Driver      "fglrx"
        Option      "VideoOverlay" "on"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]"
        Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]"
        Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[0]"
        DefaultDepth     24
        SubSection "Display"
                Viewport   0 0
                Depth     24
        EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "DRI"
        Mode         0666
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
        Option      "Composite" "False"
EndSection

[malc@moabi ~]$
Thanks
M.

Does Gnome work ok?

I have found some info for KDE

Quote:
Removing unnecessary stuff

Depending on what you have configured, you won't need to follow all steps below. Check each section accordingly, please.
Disabling Composite on your current Window Manager

This step is important to avoid potential problems. Users have reported that KDE Compositing conflicts with Beryl and I don't use Gnome's Compositing but it probably must conflict with Beryl too.

In KDE, run kcontrol and disable Use translucency/shadows under Translucency, as the image below.


Quote:
KDE users, please take the time to choose a simpler kwin-style like plastik. I don't know which themes are dangerous, but I've heard from KDE users that there seems to exist some incompatibilities between some themes and Beryl.
http://www.nec.fct.unesp.br/marcos_u...l-desktop.html
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 29th May 2007, 09:12 PM
mps2006 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 170
Gnome seems fine - better than before since I have a cube and wobbly windows. beryl would be nice, but this is a good start.

Doesn't look good for KDE. I had translucency disabled in KDE anyway, since it kept crashing kWin (since compositing is turned off with fglrx).

X1600 has no acceleration support in mesa yet, so can't go that route unfortuantely.

thanks for the help
M.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 29th May 2007, 09:23 PM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by mps2006
Gnome seems fine - better than before since I have a cube and wobbly windows. beryl would be nice, but this is a good start.

Doesn't look good for KDE. I had translucency disabled in KDE anyway, since it kept crashing kWin (since compositing is turned off with fglrx).

X1600 has no acceleration support in mesa yet, so can't go that route unfortuantely.

thanks for the help
M.
Have you tried to select beryl in gnome with choosecompositeWM as described here

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showpo...0&postcount=18
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 1st June 2007, 11:01 AM
lorek123 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Poznan, Poland
Age: 25
Posts: 3
hey i do like it's wrote but the X window was crash and when i do
Quote:
logout
[lorek123@c4-57 ~]$ glxinfo
glxinfo: error while loading shared libraries: /usr/lib/xorg/libGL.so.1: cannot restore segment prot after reloc: Permission denied
OR
[lorek123@c4-57 ~]$ fglrxinfo
fglrxinfo: error while loading shared libraries: /usr/lib/xorg/libGL.so.1: cannot restore segment prot after reloc: Permission denied
i have a Fedora 7 and radeon 9550
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 1st June 2007, 02:35 PM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by lorek123
hey i do like it's wrote but the X window was crash and when i do


i have a Fedora 7 and radeon 9550
The howto is only for FC6 and will not work with FC7.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 1st June 2007, 02:46 PM
lorek123 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Poznan, Poland
Age: 25
Posts: 3
anyone can help me for install ati drivers on F7??
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 1st June 2007, 03:08 PM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by lorek123
anyone can help me for install ati drivers on F7??

Ok

Try this.

su -
rpm -e livna-release-6.rpm
rpm -Uhv http://rpm.livna.org/livna-release-7.rpm
yum remove kmod-fglrx xorg-x11-drv-fglrx xorg-x11-drv-fglrx-libs-32bit
yum install kmod-fglrx xorg-x11-drv-fglrx xorg-x11-drv-fglrx-libs-32bit
yum update kmod-fglrx xorg-x11-drv-fglrx xorg-x11-drv-fglrx-libs-32bit
service fglrx restart
fglrx-config-display enable


I dont know if the XGL script will work ( I have installed it on FC7 but I cant test due to my Nvidia graphics card )
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 1st June 2007, 03:32 PM
lorek123 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Poznan, Poland
Age: 25
Posts: 3
thx for reply and a xorg.conf edit is the same as the for FC6??
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ati, fglrx, howto

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATI Catalyst fglrx driver manual install on Fedora 12 Jeff72 Guides & Solutions (Not For Questions) 15 13th August 2010 09:17 PM
ATI Catalyst™ Display Driver v9.12 rich52 Hardware & Laptops 1 31st December 2009 04:59 AM
HOWTO - make less noise from video card while using fglrx driver multescugeorge@ Guides & Solutions (Not For Questions) 2 3rd October 2009 08:02 AM
ATI Catalyst 9.x fglrx driver manual install on Fedora 11 Jeff72 Guides & Solutions (Not For Questions) 25 30th August 2009 08:29 PM


Current GMT-time: 18:35 (Saturday, 22-07-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat