Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 20th April 2004, 05:39 AM
Ronno Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 20
Changing Host name

This is not a problem but a compaint that I hope a fedora developer reads about.

After installing Fedora Core 1 and playing around with it I found out that I needed to change the computer's name in order to set it up as a host on my windows network. I used the Network tool under System Settings and then upon reboot I had some serious boot up problems (for this newbie anyway).

I was able to fix this by adding an entry in the /etc/hosts file and now everything works great.

My compalint is this: Why didn't the Network tool take care of adding an entry in /etc/hosts for me? If there is a technical reason then at least I could have been given a clue that I needed to do this or else bad things would happen. I had this problem back with Redhat Linux 8.0 and was a bit surprised to encounter it again.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20th April 2004, 09:28 AM
fjleal Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portugal, Europe
Age: 47
Posts: 519
Yes, I've run into that same problem once with Red Hat 9. Too bad it hasn't been fixed, for it is no major problem for experienced users, but for a newbie...
__________________
"I'd crawl over an acre of 'Visual This++' and 'Integrated Development That' to get to gcc, Emacs, and gdb. Thank you."
-- Vance Petree, Virginia Power
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20th April 2004, 06:46 PM
ieatlint Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northern California
Posts: 31
Perhaps you should see the command line programs provided by redhat:
domainname
hostname
WARNING: Do not execute these programs unless you know what you're doing -- see their man files first. Executing them without arguments or with "--help" will either unset their values or change them to "--help".

Also, check the file
/etc/sysconfig/network
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20th April 2004, 07:50 PM
fjleal Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portugal, Europe
Age: 47
Posts: 519
It's safe to execute those programs, provided that you're not under the root account... As you shouldn't be.
__________________
"I'd crawl over an acre of 'Visual This++' and 'Integrated Development That' to get to gcc, Emacs, and gdb. Thank you."
-- Vance Petree, Virginia Power
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20th April 2004, 08:34 PM
Ronno Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 20
But why provide a GUI tool to change the hostname that does not do it correctly? It seems to me that the tool should at least warn you (better yet do it for you) that another manual configuration needs to be made and then point you in the right direction.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20th April 2004, 09:12 PM
foolish Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Aalesund, Norway
Age: 30
Posts: 1,888
Remember, if you have a suggestion for a certain redhat application, bugzilla.redhat.com is the place to post suggestions. But please think things through first, maybe even try a few things and try to come up with a way to do this yourself before you post the feature request.
__________________
Sindre Pedersen Bjørdal || http://www.fedorasolved.org || Hardware Profile
- Please adhere to the FedoraForum Guidelines.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21st April 2004, 12:43 AM
Ronno Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 20
I din't know about bugzilla.redhat.com. I will definitley post this complaint/suggestion there. Thanks for the tip.

Just to be clear though. I did think my problem through and was able to solve it. I was merely pointing out that the GUI tool could have done a better job in making all the necessary changes. It is possible that this is not desired by most users in which case I just don't understand why.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
changing, host

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Fedora 10] No network connectiong after changing host name kie87vn Servers & Networking 4 14th January 2009 03:51 PM
Lost connections to host after changing host name km4hr Servers & Networking 1 20th September 2006 05:09 PM


Current GMT-time: 16:17 (Thursday, 25-05-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat