Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 23rd August 2013, 04:07 PM
mjrice Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 295
linuxchrome
Where are Gimp's tool windows?

I modified some photos earlier with the Gimp. All the usual windows were present. Then I closed the app. When I reopened the Gimp later to continue, the only window that opened was the one that holds the image? Where did the other windows go? How can I easily restore them. And, how do I keep this from happening again?

Michael
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23rd August 2013, 05:07 PM
Gareth Jones Offline
Retired Adminstrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Birmingham, UK
Age: 34
Posts: 2,761
linuxfirefox
Re: Where are Gimp's tool windows?

Check the Windows menu, in particular the “Hide Docks” and “Recently Closed Docks” options.

If it’s lost the dock windows’ layouts, you can rebuild them manually by opening individual docks and dragging them into the appropriate windows, but that’s a pain. It might be easier to delete your ~/.gimp-2.8 so that on the next run GIMP will recreate it with the defaults.

Also check out single-window mode on the Window menu if the docks get irritating.

EDIT: Moved to the imaging software section as this is applicable on all GIMP-supported platforms.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23rd August 2013, 05:22 PM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 8,436
linuxfirefox
Re: Where are Gimp's tool windows?

I have accidentally clicked the "hide docks" box before and sat there wondering what the heck happened I switch between the dock layout and single window layout depending upon what I am doing, and that hide docks box is right there where I can accidentally click it instead of the single window box.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23rd August 2013, 05:53 PM
nonamedotc Offline
Mithrandir
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: /
Posts: 4,976
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Where are Gimp's tool windows?

Also, if you accidentally close the tool box, the default keyboard shortcut is CTRL+B which I have reaslized is at times quite convenient. Of course, the best option, if you have a large enough monitor, is to use single window mode (not suitable for a laptop).
__________________
Fedora 24 x86_64 XFCE - Sager | Intel Core i7 - 4810 MQ | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M | 16 GB RAM | 480 GB ADATA SSD |
CentOS 7.2.1511 x86_64 Server - Thinkpad T520 | Intel Core i7 - 2630 QM | NVIDIA NVS 4200M | 16 GB RAM | 500 GB 7200 RPM HDD |


The Linux Documentation Project | Fedora Documentation
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23rd August 2013, 05:57 PM
Gareth Jones Offline
Retired Adminstrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Birmingham, UK
Age: 34
Posts: 2,761
linuxfirefox
Re: Where are Gimp's tool windows?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DBelton View Post
I have accidentally clicked the "hide docks" box before and sat there wondering what the heck happened I switch between the dock layout and single window layout depending upon what I am doing, and that hide docks box is right there where I can accidentally click it instead of the single window box.
It’s also bound to the Tab key, for extra easy accidental activation…
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23rd August 2013, 06:02 PM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 8,436
linuxfirefox
Re: Where are Gimp's tool windows?

I have also "lost" my dock windows when I clicked the "X" in the upper corner of the dock window. I did that once a long time ago thinking I needed to close all of those windows before I closed gimp.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23rd August 2013, 06:39 PM
nonamedotc Offline
Mithrandir
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: /
Posts: 4,976
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Where are Gimp's tool windows?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gareth Jones View Post
It’s also bound to the Tab key, for extra easy accidental activation…
And of course, tab doesn't bring back the closed window. It only toggles windows. Very complicated!
__________________
Fedora 24 x86_64 XFCE - Sager | Intel Core i7 - 4810 MQ | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M | 16 GB RAM | 480 GB ADATA SSD |
CentOS 7.2.1511 x86_64 Server - Thinkpad T520 | Intel Core i7 - 2630 QM | NVIDIA NVS 4200M | 16 GB RAM | 500 GB 7200 RPM HDD |


The Linux Documentation Project | Fedora Documentation
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24th August 2013, 01:48 AM
mjrice Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 295
windows_7chrome
Re: Where are Gimp's tool windows?

Thank, all. Will try out your suggestions and repost if I need additional help. Most likely I accidentally clicked something that I shouldn't have.

Sorry about the tardy response. The day got waaaay ahead of me.

Michael
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 19th March 2016, 02:17 PM
Vishu Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: united states
Posts: 5
windows_7chrome
Re: Where are Gimp's tool windows?

i am also faceing the same problem can anyone help ?

Last edited by Vishu; 25th March 2016 at 08:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 19th March 2016, 02:49 PM
mjrice Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 295
linuxfedorachrome
Re: Where are Gimp's tool windows?

Do you have the "Toolbox"?

If not, you can get it with menu Tools|NewToolbox.

When you quit Gimp, ONLY use menu File|Quit in the window titled "GNU Image Manipulation Program." It will close all the other windows, but those windows will reappear next time you open Gimp.

Michael
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 19th March 2016, 04:20 PM
Dan Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 24,099
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Where are Gimp's tool windows?

I have noticed in the last several F23 installs that when the GIMP initially starts up, the toolbox starts as expected on the left of the working screen, but the layers box tends to start almost off the right edge of the screen. It's far enough over there to be hard to see, so try moving your mouse completely to the right screen edge, click and hold the left mouse button, press the [ALT] key, and drag gthe mouse back to the middle of the screen. That should have fetched the layers toolbox back where you can see it.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 19th March 2016, 10:14 PM
JONOR Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Cornwall England
Posts: 485
linuxfedorachrome
Re: Where are Gimp's tool windows?

One of the reasons i switched to Single-Window mode was that while in the overview of Gnome DE,
it is possible for the different parts of Gimp to get separated when reorganizing workspaces.
I partly put this down to minimized windows of a workspace not being shown in the overview.

Last edited by JONOR; 12th May 2016 at 12:29 PM. Reason: Clarification
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 19th March 2016, 10:21 PM
Dan Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 24,099
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Where are Gimp's tool windows?

Okay. Seems like a solid tactical solution, to be certain, and one I have used. That being said, my strategic and tactical solution was and is:

Code:
 
$ dnf install e16

Then I get to decide what gets put where, and whether or not groups can be separated, which child windows are allowed to disappear with the parent when minimized, and how the entire group behaves.

Plus, a simple, [ALT]+[TAB] allows me to cycle through all active applications to snap to whatever I want.

Gotta love that "old" technology.

<....>
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gimp, tool, windows

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gimp 2.8 Free Transform Tool CreamCorn Using Fedora 4 14th April 2012 07:33 PM
gnome windows preference tool ? oystercatcher Using Fedora 1 8th August 2010 05:58 PM
Multi-column dock windows and 2.8 schedule ( Gimp ) Demz Linux Chat 0 24th January 2010 11:34 PM
GIMP clone tool appears to be broken PaulClarke Using Fedora 4 14th October 2007 09:58 AM
windows compatible partition tool dan sawyer Hardware & Laptops 3 29th September 2007 09:49 PM


Current GMT-time: 22:46 (Monday, 24-07-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat