Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Community Lounge > Wibble
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Wibble A place to have a sensible chat, about anything non linux related. Please remember that political and religious topics are not permitted.

View Poll Results: How many pc's do you own?
1 pc 116 10.98%
2 pc's 220 20.83%
3 pc's 211 19.98%
4 pc's 175 16.57%
5 pc's 107 10.13%
more then 5 pc's 227 21.50%
Voters: 1056. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 7th March 2005, 02:19 AM
Prometheus Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 374
Well, I personally have 1, my FC3/XP Pro box, but in the house are like 4 more. 2 macs, and 2 Windows 98 machines. Well, technically we have another if you count the 20 mhz laptop (cerca 1990) running windows 3.0. I almost dont count that, only thing i ever use it for is if I have to do some work in teh car when someone else is driving. It lags trying to play solitare for petes sake. Oh well, its still fun to play with.
__________________
Registered Linux User #371104

Become a Registered Linux User Here
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 7th March 2005, 04:16 AM
Ned Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 399
I've got 4 machines:

1. FC2 main desktop
2. FC3 Workstation
3. Win2K - for support
4. FC1/WinXP Laptop

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaegRil

I'm a SETI/BOINC junkie - all of the above machines crunch Work Units.
Gives me approx. 1200 cobblestones per day.
Me too. Check out my optimized BOINC clients for linux if you haven't already - they'll increase your requested credits:

http://www.pperry.f2s.com/downloads.htm

Ned
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 7th March 2005, 04:47 AM
ezeze5000 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Missouri
Posts: 60
I have 5 PC's with multiple removable hard drives with different distros on them
FC3
Xantros
Ubuntu
Mandrake
White Box
XP Pro
98
ME
Debian
Red Hat
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 7th March 2005, 04:54 PM
MaegRil Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by ltam
Out of curiosity, what distros are you running?
A mixture of Red Hat 9 and Fedora Core 3

I never tried FC1.
I tried FC2 two times on my workstation, and both times it didn't last more than an afternoon before I put RH9 back on.
For some reason in FC2 I couldn't get USB working, yet it works fine on RH9 and now on FC3.

Slowly moving things over to FC3
So far the server and my machine are the only ones with FC3
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 7th March 2005, 04:57 PM
MaegRil Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ned
Me too. Check out my optimized BOINC clients for linux if you haven't already - they'll increase your requested credits:

http://www.pperry.f2s.com/downloads.htm

Ned

Yep, I've seen your site. Nice!

Initially I downloaded your compiled clients, but have since compiled my own.
I've also re-configured my kernel and managed to squeeze a few more numbers out of the benchmarks.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 8th March 2005, 02:40 AM
ltam Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaegRil
A mixture of Red Hat 9 and Fedora Core 3
Are you using FedoraLegacy to update your Redhat 9?
__________________
*** Click here to vote on how many PC's you're running.

Have you made money using Linux? Tell us how.

Registered Linux User #377465
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 8th March 2005, 05:02 AM
mjman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 286
I currently own 2 pc's. My main computer is a Dell inspiron 9100 notebook (1024 mb, 3.0 ghz p4 w/HT, ati mobility 9700, 40GB harddrive). I've got it running FC3

My second computer, which I just put together, is running MythTV over FC3. Its got: ASUS A7V8X-X, AMD sempron 2100+, 256mb, Nvidia Geforce4 TI, Hauppauge PVR-350 tv-tuner, 360 GB harddrive. It is acting as a media center for me and my friends.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 8th March 2005, 11:05 AM
sstone Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Geneve, Switzerland
Age: 31
Posts: 18
3pc's
1.AMD Duron 1.6GHz, Gigabyte ga-7n400l, 512MB ram, 80GB hd...(desktop)-OS:currently XP(sorry)
2.Intel Celeron 600MHz, MSI MS-6163 Pro, 512 MB ram, 20GB hd...(server)-OS:FC3
3.Intel Celeron 433MHz, MSI MS-6163 Pro, 128MB ram, 3,2GB hd...(testing purposes)-OShanging frequently(linux, *bsd...)
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 8th March 2005, 06:24 PM
PhilD Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Age: 32
Posts: 71
1. Main Desktop - p4 1.8Ghz/1Gb/20Gb/Gentoo
2. Primary Server - p4 3.4Ghz/1Gb/960Gb/Gentoo
3. Backup Server -p4 3Ghz/1Gb/200Gb/Gentoo
4. Home Theatre Box - Athlon 1.4Ghz/512Mb/40Gb/WinXP (I prefer wmp and powerdvd which is all it runs, stable and secure ... enough)
5. Test1 - Duron 1.3Ghz/256Mb/40Gb/Fedora & Gentoo
6. Test2 - p3 800Mhz/384Mb/20Gb/Debian
7. Test3 - p3 800Mhz/256Mb/10Gb/Gentoo
8. Test4 - p2 350Mhz/196Mb/10Gb/Gentoo - running as a VoIP server.

:: edit :: forgot my laptop

9. Laptop, Sony S2XP - Centrino 1.8Ghz/512Mb/80Gb/Gentoo & WinXP

Last edited by PhilD; 8th March 2005 at 06:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 9th March 2005, 03:57 PM
MaegRil Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by ltam
Are you using FedoraLegacy to update your Redhat 9?
I've taken a couple of updated packages from the legacy project.
But since I'll upgrade the rest of the machines in the near future I'm not too worried about keeping the the RH9 machines up2date.
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 9th March 2005, 04:14 PM
desipher Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Arlington VA
Posts: 238
athlon 1.8 freebsd
p2 233 slackware
p2 550 fedora Core 2
p4 2.8 fedora Core 3
p3 800 windows xp pro (laptop)
p3 550 windows xp pro (workstation)
p2 200 Linux voip box
__________________
Desiph3r
_________________________________________________
System Engineer
Anystream
bspadetti@anystream.com
www.anystream.com
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 9th March 2005, 04:18 PM
Bigfatso Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 60
plenty o Computers

1. AMD XP 2000+ Western digital 74GB Raptor HD, TI 4400 Video, 1 GB pc 2700 DDR, DVD/CD burner Combo drive. Onboard Sound. Running Fedora Core 3. (mine)

2. AMD Athalon 900 Mhz. 60 GB HD, 786GB PC 133 SD ram, Geforce 2 GTS 32Mb DDR. Running Windows XP PRO. (Wifes)

3. Dell Optiplex somthing or other 20 MB HD, 98 MB SD ram, Onboard stuff. running Windows 98SE. (daughters Computer)

4. Clone 233Mhz various spare parts, Gonna be youngest daughters PC. Gonna try loading Linspire on it. I think its gonna be too weak though.
__________________
Starting from scratch is like starting all over from the begining.....
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 11th March 2005, 05:41 PM
fyulaba Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Age: 46
Posts: 13
1 - Fedora Core 2 (desktop)
2 - Win XP (laptop)
3 - Win XP (desktop)
4 - Win ME (desktop)
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 15th March 2005, 12:32 AM
Psquared Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 506
3 PCs and 1 laptop on a wireless home network using 2Wire 1700 home portal with Bellsouth DSL Ultra.

All PCs have XP w/SP1 (1 P4-1.8, 2 P4-2.6 and the laptop is a 1.5 Centrino)
1 PC dual boots FC2 and XP w/SP1 (this is the PC that is hardwired to the DSL modem)
New Toshiba Laptop with XP and SP2 - I plan to load FC3 and Ubuntu and tri-boot. I might wait until FC4 comes out or just load Ubuntu and dual boot until FC4 comes out.

***BTW, I love this Toshiba laptop. I got it at BBuy for 999.00 and I feel like I stole it from them.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 15th March 2005, 01:58 AM
OberonKenObi Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Oberon AU
Age: 51
Posts: 75
2 Machines

pIII 450mhz 100FSB 256 Ram with removable 2x8G and a backup 40G. Has FC2 on one drive and Win2K Server on the other. Seems to run both OS's just fine, but I dont use this one for much, just surfing, emails and some text editing. FC2 is difficult to configure on this machine, not sure if its hardware related or just an operator error.

pIV 2.4ghz 512 Ram with 80G running WinXP Pro. Soon to try FC3 dual boot to see if I have more luck.

Both have nice flat screen 17"ers, not large by todays standards, but used to be the bees knees :+)

Quote:
4. Clone 233Mhz various spare parts, Gonna be youngest daughters PC. Gonna try loading Linspire on it. I think its gonna be too weak though.
Bigfatso
Im not sure about minimum reqs for FC2 but my PIII 450 256 Ram (<--- seems to be the key for mine) seems to work pretty good, using a small window manager may help here. May even try it myself now that I mention it :+)

Regards
Allan
__________________
^
^
The more I know, the more I know that I don't know.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to know my pc's memory? mikezang Using Fedora 8 24th October 2016 10:15 AM
Check out these lil pc's geminiguy Linux Chat 0 10th August 2007 06:16 PM
VNC + Multiple PC's i_am_borracho Servers & Networking 0 19th March 2006 12:59 PM
FYI NO OS PC's jim Wibble 14 11th February 2006 12:28 AM
Networking to PC's? Linoman Servers & Networking 3 12th November 2005 09:54 PM


Current GMT-time: 22:39 (Saturday, 25-02-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat