Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 22nd November 2016, 10:24 PM
ras47 Offline

macossafari
Fedora 25 - no WiFi

I installed Fedora 25 Workstation on my Lenovo Yoga 3 Pro. Under Network, the only thing available is "Proxy." I want to set up WiFi to connect to my home network (Verizon FiOS) but I'm at a loss for now to proceed. The Y3P doesn't have an ethernet port so any solution would require the use of a flash drive to transfer files downloaded on my MacBook Air.

The Yoga 3 Pro uses the Broadcom 4352 wireless card. I'm a noob but I've used the Terminal before and I'm comfortable with it.
Old 22nd November 2016, 10:33 PM
smr54 Offline

linuxchrome
Re: Fedora 25 - no WiFi

You can often find cheap USB to ethernet dongles. (Although I recommend spending over $10, as the ones cheaper than that tend to be very poor quality.)

https://ask.fedoraproject.org/en/que...and-fedora-23/ seems to have an answer though.

Last edited by smr54; 22nd November 2016 at 11:41 PM.
Old 22nd November 2016, 10:41 PM
ras47 Offline

macossafari

I was hoping the fix would be something like downloading a driver onto my MacBook, transferring it to a flash drive, and then installing it in Fedora via that flash drive. But with no network connection available unless I buy some crappy dongle (I HATE dongles) I'm dead in the water.

I downloaded a .deb package that I hoped would work. The instructions were to double-click on it to install it, but it just opens into a .gz folder, a .xz folder, and 4 byte "Debian-Binary" document.
Old 22nd November 2016, 11:42 PM
smr54 Offline

linuxchrome

A deb file is for Debian. You wold want an rpm. The link I gave suggested going to rpmfusion and installing the kernel-devel and akmod-wl.
Old 23rd November 2016, 01:30 AM
ras47 Offline

macossafari