Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 18th February 2013, 09:34 PM
rholme Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 302
linuxfirefox
fedora 18, gnome frozen, how to capture

Twice since upgrading to fedora 18, the entire windowing system (gnome with cinammon in front) has seized up and nothing can be done from the console.

Is there any way to capture useful information for the developers before power cycling to get the box back?\

I can ssh into the box from somewhere else - I believe that only the window manager is dead..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18th February 2013, 10:28 PM
Ihatewindows Offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,135
linuxfirefox
Re: fedora 18, gnome frozen, how to capture

Not from my knowledge. Try filing a bug report.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th February 2013, 10:32 PM
cazo Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Redneck Riviera
Posts: 387
linuxchrome
Re: fedora 18, gnome frozen, how to capture

This doesn't answer your question, but on F17 I enabled [CTRL]+[ALT]+[BACKSPACE] to kill Xserver. It's under System Settings, Region and Language, Layout tab, Options button. It's quicker and easier than power-cycling.

Since you can ssh in, you could also try killing the Xorg process, which should do the same.

I also had problems with freezing, and realized it is/was only when I have/had any remote smb share mounted - it doesn't happen with sftp (ssh) shares mounted. I never did find out why, but stopped mounting smb shares. The freeze would happen at different intervals, and would last from a few seconds to a few minutes. Nothing would show up (that I could see) in the system logs or in the user's .xsession-errors file. I kept a terminal window open, logged in as root (using su -), with tail -f /var/log/messages running.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th February 2013, 03:31 AM
mikee Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 635
linuxfirefox
Re: fedora 18, gnome frozen, how to capture

On my older computer, there was a problem with the i915 graphics driver.
I was able to log in remotely (ssh in from another computer) when it was frozen and look at the /var/log/messages file to see the "oops".
I manually filed a report at the kernel site and it was fixed about a year later.
The redhat site would probably be better!
__________________
Fedora 25 x86_64 on Vertex IV SSD || Foxconn A7GM-S 2.0 || AMD Phenom II X6 1045T || Radeon R7 240 graphics || 8 GB DDR2-800 || Emachines T5452 carcass
Fedora 24 x84_64 on 500GB Seagate Barracuda
Fedora 18 x84_64 on 500GB Seagate Barracuda
Windows Vista on 320GB Western Digital Caviar SE
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19th February 2013, 01:36 PM
rholme Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 302
linuxfirefox
Re: fedora 18, gnome frozen, how to capture

OK, many good suggestioins. It looks like using ssh to get at /var/log/messages might be the most useful for capturing the problem. I don't think I can file a bug report without at least having some information like that. I have no remote mounts at all, not even a local external disk drive is on when this happened last. I was printing to a network printer - that is all. F18 does not have a layout options tab under region & language - but that sounded nice.

Thanks to all. I will use ssh next time and capture some data.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20th February 2013, 12:54 AM
cazo Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Redneck Riviera
Posts: 387
linuxchrome
Re: fedora 18, gnome frozen, how to capture

That same screen can also be gotten to from System Settings, Keyboard, Typing tab. Near the bottom is a link labelled Layout Settings.

I forgot that you mentioned you're running Cinnamon, so you'll probably have to dig around the Settings menu to find it. It's likely to be under Keyboard settings. I haven't run Cinnamon enough myself to tell you where it's at (if it's there at all).

If F18 has /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/ (or maybe even if it doesn't), I have a file called 00-system-setup-keyboard.conf that contains:
Code:
# This file is autogenerated by system-setup-keyboard. Any 
# modifications will be lost.

Section "InputClass"
	Identifier	"system-setup-keyboard"
	MatchIsKeyboard	"on"
	Option		"XkbModel"	"pc105+inet"
	Option		"XkbLayout"	"us"
#	Option		"XkbVariant"	"(null)"
	Option		"XkbOptions"	"terminate:ctrl_alt_bksp,"
EndSection
which is close enough to the old way of enabling that feature.

It should be worth a try.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20th February 2013, 01:33 PM
rholme Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 302
linuxfirefox
Re: fedora 18, gnome frozen, how to capture

under lower menu (settings) -> keyboard (using cinnamon appears the same here)

I then assume you mean keyboard_shortcuts - there are a lot of clickable topics with sub-entries - here is the MAIN topic list
Cinnamon, Windows, Workspace Management, System,
Launchers, Sound and Media, Universal Access, # not likely to be these IMHO
Custom Shortcuts

I ran through them all and see many UNASSIGNED but nothing with a label like "kill Xserver".

I made the direct change to the file in /etc (omitting the final comma before the quote as it looked wrong).

But if I missed something in layouts and could have done it there, it is probably a better solution.

I don't mind restarting the system and my real original goal was to capture the "hang" for people who might know what to do and fix it sometime..

Thanks again for your information and help.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20th February 2013, 04:21 PM
pnelsonsr Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: WA
Posts: 266
windows_7chrome
Re: fedora 18, gnome frozen, how to capture

You can try a few things, but ultimately you need to get the gnome-shell re-started!

CTRL+ALT+F2 say and then kill gnome-shell

ALT+F2 and the "r" will do a gnome-shell restart but you said you can't get there.

or can you CTRL+ALT+Backspace? I think this use to stop the session and take you back to logging in.

With F18 I started having problems with gnome freezing. Made it unusable. I fix my situation with installing nvidia drivers. If you have nvidia card installed you might be experiencing the same thing!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20th February 2013, 06:22 PM
rholme Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 302
linuxfirefox
Re: fedora 18, gnome frozen, how to capture

It is not the gnome shell, it is the windowing system (X11).

By the way the hand patch to the config file for CTRL-ALT-BKSP did not work and I had rebooted.

ssh is going to have to do what I need.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 20th February 2013, 06:42 PM
mikee Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 635
linuxfirefox
Re: fedora 18, gnome frozen, how to capture

Have you ssh'ed in before? If not, you will need to verify that it's set up.. (I.E. firewall access, sshd installed)
__________________
Fedora 25 x86_64 on Vertex IV SSD || Foxconn A7GM-S 2.0 || AMD Phenom II X6 1045T || Radeon R7 240 graphics || 8 GB DDR2-800 || Emachines T5452 carcass
Fedora 24 x84_64 on 500GB Seagate Barracuda
Fedora 18 x84_64 on 500GB Seagate Barracuda
Windows Vista on 320GB Western Digital Caviar SE
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 21st February 2013, 12:52 PM
rholme Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 302
linuxfirefox
Re: fedora 18, gnome frozen, how to capture

Yes, thanks. :=]
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 27th February 2013, 08:59 PM
mhael Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
linuxfirefox
Re: fedora 18, gnome frozen, how to capture

I have such freezes on my desktop and laptop, both running F18. Usually happends on screen unlock after entering the password, but could happend on other operations too - f.e. going to overview mode (on pressing 'Win').
The workaround I've found - switch to text console (Ctrl+Alt+F2), login and do 'killall -HUP gnome-shell' to restart gnome-shell, then switch back to graphics console (Ctrl+Alt+F1). Now it should be unfrozen.

BTW, desktop is AMD A10 system using catalyst drivers from rpmfusion, laptop have Intel CPU/graphics. The problem looks to be related to gnome-shell and not X/drives.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
capture, fedora, frozen, gnome

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gnome Panel(TOP)Frozen cybrosh Using Fedora 3 16th February 2011 07:36 AM
Time in gnome panel. Frozen. action_owl Using Fedora 2 22nd January 2010 07:31 PM
gnome-commander frozen after fedora 9 "yum update" zorro Using Fedora 1 25th July 2008 04:46 AM
gnome-screensaver doesn't capture screen image any more mcgd Using Fedora 7 19th January 2008 01:00 AM


Current GMT-time: 20:46 (Monday, 26-06-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat