Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 30th July 2011, 01:20 AM
livelong Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 36
linuxfirefox
Access Router Settings

Hello all!


I'm curious is it possible to access your router settings. I'm trying to open up a port. I have done this in my firewall now I need to open up my port through my router. I'm using fedora 15.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30th July 2011, 01:31 AM
David Batson Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,234
windows_7opera
Re: Access Router Settings

Generally you access your router settings by typing in an IP address in your web browser (such as Firefox). The IP address will vary depending upon your brand (and possibly model) of router.

For my Netgear router, I use http://192.168.0.1
__________________
Fedora 19 Gnome on a ThinkPad X220, i5-2540M CPU, Intel HD Graphics 3000, Intel N 6205 wireless, and Sierra Wireless 754S Mobile Hotspot (AT&T)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th July 2011, 01:42 AM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
linuxredhatfirefox
Re: Access Router Settings

Here are some common ip's

http://192.168.1.1

http://192.168.1.254
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30th July 2011, 01:46 AM
livelong Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 36
linuxfirefox
Re: Access Router Settings

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Batson View Post
Generally you access your router settings by typing in an IP address in your web browser (such as Firefox). The IP address will vary depending upon your brand (and possibly model) of router.

For my Netgear router, I use http://192.168.0.1
Thanks I have tried that for some reason I'm unable to get access though. Just the connecting busy icon and after that nothing. Don't know why something so simple is complex

---------- Post added at 07:46 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:44 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by leigh123linux View Post
Here are some common ip's

http://192.168.1.1

http://192.168.1.254
Thanks that worked where did you get this information from? Just curious because when I input my IP my login didn't came up. I need to configure my settings. When I try to I get the message Thanks for the support though!!!

Last edited by livelong; 30th July 2011 at 02:03 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30th July 2011, 01:50 AM
David Batson Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,234
windows_7opera
Re: Access Router Settings

You should be able to download a user's guide from your router manufacturer that will have this information.
__________________
Fedora 19 Gnome on a ThinkPad X220, i5-2540M CPU, Intel HD Graphics 3000, Intel N 6205 wireless, and Sierra Wireless 754S Mobile Hotspot (AT&T)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30th July 2011, 01:59 AM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
linuxredhatfirefox
Re: Access Router Settings

Quote:
Originally Posted by livelong View Post
Thanks I have tried that for some reason I'm unable to get access though. Just the connecting busy icon and after that nothing. Don't know why something so simple is complex

---------- Post added at 07:46 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:44 PM ----------


Thanks that worked where did you get this information from? Just curious because when I input my IP my login didn't came up. Thanks for the support though!!!
I've had several routers, heres a good info link (there is a link on the top of the page that you click to bypass the ads and get to the info).

http://portforward.com/english/route...outerindex.htm
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
access, router, settings

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Selecting Auto Router connection recreates a new wireless network settings? Zeitus42 Servers & Networking 0 29th November 2009 11:14 AM
cannot access Internet but can access router Lion07 Servers & Networking 15 27th January 2008 03:53 AM
Isn't this soooo cool?! (RE: Changing your server / router settings) tizwoz Servers & Networking 4 9th September 2006 11:38 AM
Fedora 4 knocks out my router settings faqt Servers & Networking 1 8th April 2006 06:58 AM


Current GMT-time: 02:21 (Saturday, 29-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Hershey's Chocolate World Travel Photos