Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 8th December 2009, 03:54 AM
socce05 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
windows_vistafirefox
Dhcp help

Hello,

I need to make my a DHCP server on Fedora 11 and when I configure the dhcpd.conf and try to start the server it says this error. "Not searching LDAP since ldap-server, ldap-port and ldap-base-dn were not specified in the config file". Please help me out.

All I have to do is make my computer into a DHCP server so that when other people connect to my router, it will assign them an ip address.

This is my dhcpd.conf file.;

# dhcpd.conf
#
# Sample /etc/dhcpd.conf
# (add your comments here)
default-lease-time 600;
max-lease-time 7200;
option subnet-mask 255.255.255.0;
option broadcast-address 192.168.1.255;
option routers 192.168.1.254;
option domain-name-servers 192.168.1.1, 192.168.1.2;
option domain-name "mydomain.org";

subnet 192.168.1.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 {
range 192.168.1.10 192.168.1.100;
range 192.168.1.150 192.168.1.200;

}
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 8th December 2009, 06:33 AM
scottro Offline
Retired Community Manager -- Banned from Texas by popular demand.
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 8,142
linuxopera
Try running, from the command line

dhcpd -t

Which will look for errors in the configuration file.
Is your router at 192.168.1.254?

Interesting that they're now adding ldap somewhere in one of the startup scripts,

(I haven't run it on Fedora in awhile, so not sure when that started.) Is there any mention of ldap in man(5) dhcpd.conf? Hrrm, just checked and the answer is no. Typical.

Does the dhcpd server run, but just give that error but run anyway? If so, you can just ignore and perhaps, if you feel industrious, file a bug, though it's probably not Fedora's fault, more likely the folks who write the dhcpd.conf man pages, or those who didn't bother to tell him to update it.
__________________
--
http://home.roadrunner.com/~computertaijutsu

Do NOT PM forum members with requests for technical support. Ask your questions on the forum.


"I don't know why there is the constant push to break any semblance of compatibility" --anon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 8th December 2009, 07:07 AM
scottro Offline
Retired Community Manager -- Banned from Texas by popular demand.
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 8,142
linuxopera
Just did a quick setup in Ubuntu to see if this was a Fedora only issue. It seems that it is. There is a separate package in some distributions for dhcp with ldap.

So, this seems to be a bug of some sort. A typical dhcpd setup without ldap shouldn't be looking for an ldap server. I have no idea, maybe there's something in the release notes.
__________________
--
http://home.roadrunner.com/~computertaijutsu

Do NOT PM forum members with requests for technical support. Ask your questions on the forum.


"I don't know why there is the constant push to break any semblance of compatibility" --anon
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th December 2009, 07:26 AM
scottro Offline
Retired Community Manager -- Banned from Texas by popular demand.
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 8,142
linuxopera
And, to continue--this is possibly because Fedora is using dhcp4 rather than 3. So, I don't know if it's a Fedora issue or a change made in dhcp4. (Ubuntu is using dhcp3.)

Again, it's quite possible that the server is running, and that's just an annoying error--I don't see any mention of it in the startup script, so it might be a part of the new DHCP. <shrug>
__________________
--
http://home.roadrunner.com/~computertaijutsu

Do NOT PM forum members with requests for technical support. Ask your questions on the forum.


"I don't know why there is the constant push to break any semblance of compatibility" --anon
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 7th March 2010, 11:57 AM
huynhgiang Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
windows_7firefox
Re: Dhcp help

sao ḿnh vô diễn đàn ḿnh không thể đọc được, thể hiện một trang trắng nhách có thảo luận mà không thấy chữ
hiện tại ḿnh đang gặp mọt vấn đề như thế này, ḿnh cài fedora 12 thành công, nhưng khi ḿnh cấu h́nh cho DHCP để cấp ip động cho mạng LAN th́ sau ḍng lệnh (service dhcpd start) là nó cứ báo lỗi failed hoài, ḿnh thử rất nhiều cách chỉ dẫn trên các diễn đàn trong lẫn ngoài đều không thành công,
có pác nào đă làm thành công DHCP trên fedora 12 xin chỉ giáo cho ḿnh với
thanks các pác nhiều
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dhcp

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DHCP error: Can't bind to dhcp address larry104 Servers & Networking 3 22nd June 2005 09:21 PM


Current GMT-time: 03:12 (Sunday, 20-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat