Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 6th August 2012, 01:20 PM
frandavid100 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 25
linuxfirefox
How to partition manually and still have a working system?

Hi there,

I hope you can help me on this. I recently bought an Asus UX31A ultrabook and it seems to have an EFI (or UEFI, not sure about the nomenclature) boot, which I'm unfamiliar with.

I have been partitioning manually for years before installing the system, because I like to have my home partition separate from the root one. However, if I partition this particular computer manually like I always used to (a small ext4 partition for root, a swap partition and a large ext4 partition for home) the system won't boot.

Letting the installer do its thing and use the whole drive gives me a working system, but as I said, I'd prefer a separate /home. So, is there a howto or some instructions I could follow in order to partition successfully?

Thanks guys.

---------- Post added at 02:20 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:24 AM ----------

As reference, this is how Fedora seems to be doing the partitioning if I leave it by itself:



It seems that the root, home and swap partitions are located in a physical volume, but it seems curious that they don't have a mount point. Is there a way to partition manually and set how much each volume takes, as well as formatting the root partition at each install but not the home partition?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 6th August 2012, 09:34 PM
mikee Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 503
linuxfirefox
Re: How to partition manually and still have a working system?

Hi.
Are you sure those aren't mounted? What does the "df" command show?
The way newer linuxes work is with volume management.
you have "physical volumes", volume groups, and logical volumes.
The logical volumes are where the filesystems go. It's easier to manage then messing with partitions.
If you run out of space, you can add a new physical volume to the pool, and then grow the space where
the filesystem is.

/usr/sbin/pvs or /usr/sbin/pvdisplay will show the physical volume(s).
/usr/sbin/vgs or /usr.sbin.vgdisplay who volume group(s)
and /usr/sbin/lvs or /usr/sbin/lvdisplay show logical volumes...

---------- Post added at 03:34 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:32 PM ----------

Your stuff should look something like this:

# df
Filesystem 1K-blocks Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/mapper/vg00-root
2064208 493756 1465596 26% /
tmpfs 2028628 0 2028628 0% /dev/shm
/dev/sda1 253871 76334 164430 32% /boot
/dev/mapper/vg00-home
2064208 127568 1831784 7% /home

# pvs
PV VG Fmt Attr PSize PFree
/dev/sda2 vg00 lvm2 a-- 49.72g 2.72g
# vgs
VG #PV #LV #SN Attr VSize VFree
vg00 1 9 0 wz--n- 49.72g 2.72g
[root@oit-hipaadb2 mejh]# lvs
LV VG Attr LSize Pool Origin Data% Move Log Copy% Convert
home vg00 -wi-ao-- 2.00g
mysql vg00 -wi-ao-- 512.00m
opt vg00 -wi-ao-- 2.00g
root vg00 -wi-ao-- 2.00g
swadm vg00 -wi-ao-- 31.00g
swap vg00 -wi-ao-- 2.00g
tmp vg00 -wi-ao-- 1.50g
usr vg00 -wi-ao-- 4.00g
var vg00 -wi-ao-- 2.00g
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 7th August 2012, 04:38 PM
Gareth Jones Offline
Official Gnome 3 Sales Rep. (and Adminstrator)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Leamington Spa, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 2,750
linuxfirefox
Re: How to partition manually and still have a working system?

It should be possible to manually partition on install. There is one pitfall I can see, if you're not familiar with UEFI. The booting method is different from BIOS. Instead of loading the MBR as BIOS does, UEFI looks for a EFI Boot Partition, formatted vFAT12/16/32, and reads the boot-loader from a file. Did you create such a partition when installing manually? (Although I don't see such a partition in the installer's set-up either, so I'm not sure what's going on there. I assume sdb is a removable device?)

Using LVM is okay though, as future installs can be told which logical volume to format and which to leave, as if they were partitions. Thus lv_home and lv_root are still separate.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th August 2012, 12:26 PM
distributer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 109
windows_7firefox
Re: How to partition manually and still have a working system?

I use GPT partitions with GRUB2, which needs a small extra partition Code EF02. You can create one with 'gdisk', it will also automatically align you partitions to start at 2048 blocks.
So create a new partition 48-2047 with code EF02, then in the installer format it as 'bootcode'

p.s. and in your screenshot you haven't defined any mountpoints for the logical volumes ^^

Last edited by distributer; 8th August 2012 at 12:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th August 2012, 06:08 PM
Gareth Jones Offline
Official Gnome 3 Sales Rep. (and Adminstrator)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Leamington Spa, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 2,750
linuxfirefox
Re: How to partition manually and still have a working system?

Quote:
Originally Posted by distributer View Post
I use GPT partitions with GRUB2, which needs a small extra partition Code EF02.
That's the BIOS boot partition, which you need to boot Fedora from a GPT system with BIOS. With EUFI, you need a UEFI system partition instead.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 8th August 2012, 06:31 PM
distributer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 109
linuxfirefox
Re: How to partition manually and still have a working system?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gareth Jones View Post
That's the BIOS boot partition, which you need to boot Fedora from a GPT system with BIOS. With EUFI, you need a UEFI system partition instead.
Good to know thanks...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
efi, manually, partition, partitioning, uefi, working

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to prompt user to manually shutdown system kalzoubi Using Fedora 2 7th May 2012 03:28 PM
Need help manually adding partition to grub BlueAxem Using Fedora 12 3rd April 2008 03:09 PM
Copying LVM Partition to Another File System Partition tmort Using Fedora 1 3rd March 2008 08:10 PM
Copying LVM Partition to Another File System Partition tmort Using Fedora 1 3rd March 2008 07:24 PM


Current GMT-time: 04:13 (Wednesday, 16-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat