Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 17th January 2010, 03:26 AM
tashirosgt Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,936
linuxfedorafirefox
Do I want my SATA to be AHCI ?

The motherboard
http://www.gigabyte.us/Products/Moth...ProductID=3145

has BIOS that lets you set the function of various SATA controllers to be "Native IDE" "RAID" or "AHCI" (Advanced Hardware Controller Interface).

I'm not going to use RAID. The machine has only one hard drive, which is SATA. Do I gain anything by setting the hard drive's controller to "AHCI" instead of "Native IDE"?

(I notice that a SATA DVD-RW connected to a "AHCI" SATA is not recognized as the boot device "CDROM" on this motherboard, but the hard drive is.)
__________________
"Never let the task you are trying to accomplish distract you from the study of computers."
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19th January 2010, 02:54 AM
buurin Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 26
linuxfedorafirefox
My motherboard has a IDE/AHCI setting in BIOS for two of the 6 SATA ports. Look for a similar setting in your BIOS that allows certain SATA ports be native IDE while the rest AHCI. For my motherboard with AMD 785G/SB710 chipset I don't know which driver it uses for IDE, but it does support AHCI and it gives me hot plug, so AHCI it is.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th January 2010, 03:28 AM
Firewing1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Age: 22
Posts: 9,224
macossafari
Although in my tests it barely made a difference, AHCI theoretically offers better performance than Native IDE. It also enables some nice features like native command queuing (NCQ) and drive hotswapping.
__________________
[+] My open source software and blog
[+] Some of my howtos: (for full list, click here)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th January 2010, 05:17 AM
stevea Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 8,562
linuxfedorafirefox
I'm with firewing. I also did tests ~1yr ago and the difference was typically small. The place where you gain an advantage are when a lot of disk seeks are queued up.

So yes - use AHCI, but don't expect a miraculous difference.
__________________
None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are free.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ahci, sata

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can not burn DVD (a SATA - AHCI / IDE question) dmattox Hardware & Laptops 0 21st August 2009 10:04 PM
SATA disks as AHCI Paavo Hardware & Laptops 3 23rd October 2008 01:07 AM


Current GMT-time: 05:35 (Friday, 25-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat