Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 28th May 2011, 05:05 PM
soleilpqd Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 33
linuxfirefox
Unhappy F15: Gnome Extension are disable after update

I just updated my system a few hours ago, then turn off. Now I reboot the system and all the gnome-shell-extenstion-* installed from repo are disabled. What happens?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28th May 2011, 05:30 PM
mtbrooks33 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 14
linuxchrome
Re: F15: Gnome Extension are disable after update

same issue here, been talking about it on #fedora and it seems some other people have it as well

maybe some config file somewhere?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28th May 2011, 05:39 PM
Dangermouse Offline
Administrator - (On Leave)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London Postbox (the red one)
Age: 51
Posts: 3,868
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: F15: Gnome Extension are disable after update

http://www.dnmouse.org/autoten/gnome...p-working.html
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th May 2011, 05:47 PM
fedoraist Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 34
linuxfirefox
Re: F15: Gnome Extension are disable after update

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dangermouse View Post
Same problem here. I tried to follow the instructions in the above link but didn't understand where I am supposed to replace the version number in the .json file. Can anyone be more specific?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28th May 2011, 05:56 PM
mtbrooks33 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 14
linuxchrome
Re: F15: Gnome Extension are disable after update

sorry to say but it didnt work. i was running 3.0.2 and i changed all of the metadata.json files to use that version number.

interestingly, i have 5 extensions installed, but only three are present in that directory

---------- Post added at 04:51 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:49 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by fedoraist View Post
Same problem here. I tried to follow the instructions in the above link but didn't understand where I am supposed to replace the version number in the .json file. Can anyone be more specific?
if you open the metadata.json file you should see an entry like this:

{
"uuid": "media@sotecware.net",
"name": "Media",
"description": "Some cool stuff",
"original-author": "j.wielicki@sotecware.net",
"shell-version": [ "3.0.2" ],
"localedir": "/usr/share/locale",
"url": "none"
}

where it says shell-version, replace that number with your gnome-shell version number

---------- Post added at 04:56 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:51 PM ----------

alright i figured it out. go to /usr/share/gnome-shell/extensions/ and find the extension in question. (for me it was all of them). edit their .json files like mentioned above. restart gnome-shell and voila.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28th May 2011, 07:28 PM
Dangermouse Offline
Administrator - (On Leave)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London Postbox (the red one)
Age: 51
Posts: 3,868
linuxfirefox
Re: F15: Gnome Extension are disable after update

Quote:
Originally Posted by fedoraist View Post
Same problem here. I tried to follow the instructions in the above link but didn't understand where I am supposed to replace the version number in the .json file. Can anyone be more specific?
Yeh im sorry, it wasnt very clear, i get carried away sometimes anyway i have added some screenshots that will hopefully make it more clear.

Or this command will fix all extenstions with the current bug, should of put this first really
Quote:
su -
sed -i 's/3.0.1/3.0.2/g' /usr/share/gnome-shell/extensions/*/*.json
Dont forget to refresh shell (alt+f2 'r' enter)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28th May 2011, 07:32 PM
YeOK Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North West UK.
Age: 36
Posts: 531
linuxchrome
Re: F15: Gnome Extension are disable after update

You could also just grab the latest Gnome-Shell extensions rpms from koji.

http://koji.fedoraproject.org/koji/b...buildID=245510
__________________
- Phanteks Enthoo Luxe, Intel Core i5 6600k @ 4.4ghz, 16GB DDR4, Asus Z170-A, Nvidia GTX 970 4GB running Fedora 24 and Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29th May 2011, 04:12 AM
fpmurphy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: /dev/ph
Posts: 317
windows_7firefox
Re: F15: Gnome Extension are disable after update

Rather than changing the the version number from ["3.0.1"] to ["3.0.2"], a better approach is to change the version number string to ["3.0"]. Then your extensions will all work for all the 3.0.X versions of GNOME Shell.

Quote:
I have 5 extensions installed, but only three are present in that directory
Extensions can also exist in $HOME/.local/share/gnome-shell/extensions.

Quote:
You could also just grab the latest Gnome-Shell extensions rpms from koji.
Do not install the user-theme extension unless you using a theme selector tool such as g-t-t or themeselector. If you have to install it to get the extension theme gschema/gsetting key (which these tools use), ensure that the extension is blacklisted via the gsettings key so that it is not loaded by GNOME shell. There is a problem with that particular extension's interaction with other extension stylesheets.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29th May 2011, 05:02 AM
RahulSundaram Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,868
linuxfirefox
Re: F15: Gnome Extension are disable after update

Hi

Get the update from

https://admin.fedoraproject.org/upda...3dd27cgit.fc15
__________________
Rahul
http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/RahulSundaram
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 29th May 2011, 05:54 AM
jtfolden Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 188
macossafari
Re: F15: Gnome Extension are disable after update

Quote:
Originally Posted by RahulSundaram View Post
Is the message there anything to be concerned with?:

Quote:
caillon (proventesters) - 2011-05-28 23:56:47
Where do these sources come from? The claimed revision does not exist in upstream git. Why is this not using the released version of 3.0.2 instead of a phantom git snapshot?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 29th May 2011, 06:35 AM
RahulSundaram Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,868
linuxfirefox
Re: F15: Gnome Extension are disable after update

Hi

Haven't checked git tagging but a newer upstream snapshot has always been used before tarballs were created by upstream.
__________________
Rahul
http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/RahulSundaram
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
disable, extension, f15, gnome, update

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Xorg Crash on F15 after installing extension applet for GNOME 3 km0r3 Using Fedora 2 8th July 2011 03:11 PM
[SOLVED] allternative-status-menu extension - no more working after gnome-shell update cheesie Using Fedora 0 28th May 2011 09:58 AM
[SOLVED] Gnome shell crashing after removing ^user theme^ extension DachaArh Using Fedora 2 27th May 2011 04:12 PM
Disable gnome update when logged into KDE mgleahy Using Fedora 2 20th December 2008 09:15 AM
how can i set the icon based on the file extension in gnome yinglcs Using Fedora 0 3rd February 2007 03:35 AM


Current GMT-time: 13:36 (Saturday, 25-03-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat