Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 20th November 2016, 03:26 PM
noviceFedora Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: India
Posts: 71
linuxfedorafirefox
Ability to select different desktop environments at login screen?

Ability to select different desktop environments at login screen?

Is there such a Fedora spin? If not, can I make it on my own? What would I require?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20th November 2016, 03:57 PM
smr54 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7,075
linuxchrome
Re: Ability to select different desktop environments at login screen?

Most desktop managers, (GDM, KDM, SLIM, and whatever else), allow you to that. I'm not sure about the exact place to look for it, someone more familiar with one of them can give better answers.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20th November 2016, 04:15 PM
antikythera Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,539
windows_98_nt_2000chrome
Re: Ability to select different desktop environments at login screen?

where to find the option differs by login manager. With GNOME GDM (used by Workstation) it's the settings cog next to the username.
__________________
Latest survey shows that 3 out of 4 people make up 75% of the world's population - Stephen Hawking
Download, Install and Share Fedora
- Official ISO Torrents
| Live ISO Respins containing post-release updates
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20th November 2016, 04:39 PM
ergosum Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Turin, Italy
Posts: 11
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Ability to select different desktop environments at login screen?

Quote:
Originally Posted by smr54 View Post
Most desktop managers, (GDM, KDM, SLIM, and whatever else), allow you to that. I'm not sure about the exact place to look for it, someone more familiar with one of them can give better answers.
When you install a DE usually an entry is added in the /usr/share/xsessions/ directory. Something like this (for KDE):
Code:
/usr/share/xsessions/plasma.desktop
Display managers (like GDM, SDDM) can autodetect such kind of entries and then create a menu.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ability, desktop, environments, login, screen, select

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Desktop Environments ajayward Using Fedora 6 8th April 2012 12:01 PM
[SOLVED] How to select KDM or GDM login screen undoIT Using Fedora 2 12th January 2012 07:39 AM
Switching desktop environments Soulblane Reviews, Rants & Things That Make You Scream 4 7th June 2011 12:46 AM
switching desktop environments angelbeast Using Fedora 3 9th May 2010 02:25 AM
desktop environments dynoweb Using Fedora 2 1st October 2007 01:47 PM


Current GMT-time: 06:57 (Thursday, 27-07-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat