Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #16  
Old 26th January 2010, 09:07 PM
NoOneElse Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: SD CA USA
Posts: 28
linuxfedorafirefox
You are making a mess by changing Video Cards as if they where USB devices (even USB devices have errors but at least those won't prevent you from booting).

Every time a video card is detected a new driver needs to be installed so the HAL changes the kernel module changes and the whole thing goes "KAPUT" I learn that the hard way. Stick to one video card per system and get the right drivers for it.

Nvidia FX includes several models for which there are corresponding versions of the same driver. Newer versions are not backwards compatible if you need the 173.XX driver you must use that and only that version.

lspci will give you more details on the model you have. in mine it is a FX5200 and requires the 173.XX driver. So I installed the latest akmod-nvidia-173.XX details may be found http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=204752 and it does make a diference whether you are using PAE kernel or not
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 26th January 2010, 09:09 PM
bob Online
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 68
Posts: 22,007
linuxfedorafirefox
If you have removed those packages (and the other dependent ones that may be involved), then start with Leigh's instructions. Open a terminal, and follow his instructions, one line at a time. For instance:

"su" - it asks for your password

Then copy/paste: (nuts - getting it borked when I try to do it here)... well, the next line from the instructions. And so forth. Keep in mind that you're using a PAE kernel, so copy/paste those lines.

__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 26th January 2010, 09:29 PM
peter121 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 22
linuxfedorafirefox
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoOneElse View Post
You are making a mess by changing Video Cards as if they where USB devices (even USB devices have errors but at least those won't prevent you from booting).

Every time a video card is detected a new driver needs to be installed so the HAL changes the kernel module changes and the whole thing goes "KAPUT" I learn that the hard way. Stick to one video card per system and get the right drivers for it.

Nvidia FX includes several models for which there are corresponding versions of the same driver. Newer versions are not backwards compatible if you need the 173.XX driver you must use that and only that version.

lspci will give you more details on the model you have. in mine it is a FX5200 and requires the 173.XX driver. So I installed the latest akmod-nvidia-173.XX details may be found http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=204752 and it does make a diference whether you are using PAE kernel or not
ok my system is a p4 i686 packard bell

i will try and get this on board one working its a bit slugish at the moment but i am having better luck than the last ones

/home/peter/Downloads/sis_drv.o-402 thats the driver i have its the corect one as i used the serial at the site to get the correct version so i just need to run it now
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 26th January 2010, 09:33 PM
bob Online
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 68
Posts: 22,007
linuxfedorafirefox
Well, you've opted to use the SiS drivers, which I'm not familiar with, so I'll leave you to experiment & wish you good luck with them.
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 26th January 2010, 09:38 PM
peter121 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 22
linuxfedorafirefox
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob View Post
Well, you've opted to use the SiS drivers, which I'm not familiar with, so I'll leave you to experiment & wish you good luck with them.

bob i need a program to run it any ideas
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 26th January 2010, 10:04 PM
bob Online
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 68
Posts: 22,007
linuxfedorafirefox
Read this: http://ubuntuforums.org/archive/inde...t-1241800.html

Don't bother trying for 3D. It's not available.
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 26th January 2010, 10:13 PM
peter121 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 22
linuxfedorafirefox
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob View Post
Read this: http://ubuntuforums.org/archive/inde...t-1241800.html

Don't bother trying for 3D. It's not available.

ok thanks for all the help
i will try and reinstall the nvidia tomorow
sorry to be a pain
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 27th January 2010, 01:21 AM
3dgrfxguy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
linuxfirefox
I was in the exact same situation when I upgraded my Fedora Core 8 system to Fedora Core 12.

Installed the Fedora Core live onto the hard disk - no problem.
Ran yum update - no problem.
Tried to install the NVIDIA*.run, remembering to do an init 3, then an init 5
The kernel module compiled but wouldn't load
Learnt all about the 'nouveau' file and how to blacklist it using the kernel configuration file.
Remembered to disable selinux security and renable it.

Even with the 'nouveau' file blacklisted, the nvidia module wouldn't run.
I compared my xorg.conf files and there wasn't anything significantly different.

The problem is that somewhere along the line, when I automatically updated my entire system,
a different set of kmod-nvidia files had been installed. These were for the Nvidia 6800/7800/8800 cards
while I still had the

I had to 'yum erase kmod-nvidia' to get rid of the kmod-nvidia-96xx' files and use
'yum install kmod-nvidia-173xx' to get the proper nvidia drivers.

My configuration is now as follows:

nvidia-xconfig-1.0-1.fc12.i686
nvidia-settings-1.0-3.2.fc12.i686
xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-173xx-173.14.22-3.fc12.i686
xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-173xx-libs-173.14.22-3.fc12.i686
xorg-x11-drv-nv-2.1.15-2.fc12.i686
kmod-nvidia-173xx-2.6.31.12-174.2.3.fc12.i686-173.14.22-1.fc12.6.i686
kmod-nvidia-173xx-173.14.22-1.fc12.6.i686

And everything works perfectly!
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 27th January 2010, 01:26 AM
bob Online
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 68
Posts: 22,007
linuxfedorafirefox
(Except that you've got an older card with different drivers. He needs the 96xx)
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 27th January 2010, 09:11 AM
peter121 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 22
linuxfedorafirefox
Smile resolved

okey followed your instruction and put the nvidia back on installed the drivers

thanks all seems to work not sure about the 3d yet but i have not got that black screen

thank u for all your help

this is what i have now

internet pages very choppy when scrolling also tried the 3d screensavers they keep freezing have i missed something
Code:
00:00.0 Host bridge: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] 650/M650 Host (rev 01)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] Virtual PCI-to-PCI bridge (AGP)
00:02.0 ISA bridge: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] SiS961 [MuTIOL Media IO]
00:02.1 SMBus: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] SiS961/2 SMBus Controller
00:02.2 USB Controller: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] USB 1.1 Controller (rev 07)
00:02.3 USB Controller: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] USB 1.1 Controller (rev 07)
00:02.5 IDE interface: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] 5513 [IDE] (rev d0)
00:0b.0 Multimedia audio controller: Creative Labs SB Audigy (rev 03)
00:0b.1 Input device controller: Creative Labs SB Audigy Game Port (rev 03)
00:0b.2 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Creative Labs SB Audigy FireWire Port
00:10.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV17 [GeForce4 MX 440] (rev a3)

kmod-nvidia-96xx-2.6.31.12-174.2.3.fc12.i686.PAE-96.43.14-1.fc12.6.i686
xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-96xx-libs-96.43.14-3.fc12.i686
xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-96xx-96.43.14-3.fc12.i686
kmod-nvidia-96xx-PAE-96.43.14-1.fc12.6.i686
nvidia-settings-1.0-3.2.fc12.i686
nvidia-xconfig-1.0-1.fc12.i686[



ok got the 3d all working now
done a yum install kmod-nvidia-96xx- it installed them again now looks like


Code:
[kmod-nvidia-96xx-2.6.31.12-174.2.3.fc12.i686-96.43.14-1.fc12.6.i686
kmod-nvidia-96xx-2.6.31.12-174.2.3.fc12.i686.PAE-96.43.14-1.fc12.6.i686
kmod-nvidia-96xx-96.43.14-1.fc12.6.i686
xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-96xx-libs-96.43.14-3.fc12.i686
xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-96xx-96.43.14-3.fc12.i686
kmod-nvidia-96xx-PAE-96.43.14-1.fc12.6.i686
nvidia-settings-1.0-3.2.fc12.i686
nvidia-xconfig-1.0-1.fc12.i686

firefox stil chopey i will reinstall it i can go on my website now without the system loging me out so a good start to the day

Thanks to all that helped me with this

Last edited by peter121; 27th January 2010 at 10:05 AM. Reason: resolved
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 28th January 2010, 04:23 PM
3dgrfxguy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
linuxfirefox
I've noticed Firefox is a bit choppy as well. If the lower border of the web-page is below the icon panel at the bottom of the screen, the web-page gets all chopped up when scrolling. Otherwise if the border is above the icon panel, there is no choppiness.

Not too happy about the way the industry standard gl.h, glu.h, and glext.h have been replaced by the Mesa-GL header files. That is causing some name clashes with custom OpenGL extension function calls.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 14th April 2010, 11:52 AM
cagonto1980 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Madrid, Spain
Age: 34
Posts: 12
windows_xp_2003ie
Re: really need help

Hi.

It is useful to take a look on the known bugs web page:

http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Bugs/Common

It advises not to use NVidia and ATI drivers.
It seeems there is a free driver for NVIDIA cards called nouveau that shoots some troubles.
It also warns about some bugs related with NVidia and ATI graphic adapters and 3D features, that probably will be corrected in future.

When I updated to Fedora 12, I could solve the error "Fatal server error: no screens found" by adding the following parameter to the kernel when booting from GRUB:

nomodeset

Hope it's useful.

Regards.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Current GMT-time: 14:26 (Thursday, 24-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat