Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #16  
Old 27th January 2010, 12:53 PM
fnshman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 48
windows_7firefox
update

Still researching and playing with this disaster.
I have decided to forget 64bit anything for OS's
I can't get staging drv's to work, can't get vendor rtl8192se drv's to work and can't find any differences between the "se" and the "e" version of the chipset except for a couple added letters in the name. There is no difference in the description on the vendor website.
I tried switching to NDISWRAPPER, only to find the Windblows 7 (no, not a typo) drivers don't work with ndiswrapper, and I can't find a 64 bit driver for XP, and the 32bit drv won't work in 64bit linux.
64bit architecture has been around for a long time, almost 8 years, why are we still having so much trouble getting things to work. I'm beginning to think 64bit was a marketing ploy by Microshaft to get everyone to buy new hardware--(like that doesn't happen all the time).
Sorry-----frustrated----needed to VENT!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 27th January 2010, 04:10 PM
4Play1st Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
windows_xp_2003firefox
Try This

yaa me to wireless problem
but after hours and hours i'm manage to solved it

please try ndiswrapper (a tool to load windows wifi driver on linux)
so far it works fine for me!

first u need to install/update your rmfusion (use yum to do this)
then install ndiswrapper, you can use yum or add/removed sofware menu on fedora 12

assume that ndiswrapper installed on you laptop then
copy your windows wireless driver to local disk

then open console -> use root user then type
ndiswrapper -i <direcory path of your windows driver file, it should be *.inf file>

to see if driver installed use "ndiswrapper -l"
use "modprobe ndiswrapper" to load driver into kernel
then use "ndiswrapper -mi" to ensure ndiswrapper module loads each time of booting

it should work right now

dont forget some laptop need some configuration button to active wireless

this information i found in fedora forum

hope this can help u
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 22nd February 2010, 08:04 PM
K3JAE Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
linuxfedorafirefox
I installed the 64 bit version and it works... periodically. On initial boot it loads, connects, all is good. Let it go idle for a few minutes, it breaks and will not reconnect. It appears there are a lot of Laptops new using this card... especially most newer Toshiba machines (which mine is).

Something needs to be fixed here for both 32 and 64 bit machines.

Since I am an absolute newbie to Linux, I can only plead that someone finds or writes a stable, working driver. Unbelievable that RealTek will not get on this little project and get a more reliable driver out for both 32 and 64 bit systems.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 23rd February 2010, 06:04 PM
RicardOO Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
windows_7firefox
el controlador que esta en realtek (rtl8192se) para inux, sireve para la tarjeta rtl8192e
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 23rd February 2010, 06:11 PM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
linuxfedorafirefox
Quote:
Originally Posted by RicardOO View Post
el controlador que esta en realtek (rtl8192se) para inux, sireve para la tarjeta rtl8192e
Please post in English only.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 28th March 2010, 03:50 PM
mohdrizal Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 27
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: rtl8192e staging drivers

rtl8192se working on ndsiwrapper, but problem in signal. I try use wireless usb, signal detect 100%.. and i try use rtl8192se, signal detect 50%..

this problem on driver or device?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 28th April 2010, 11:10 PM
fnshman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 48
linuxfedorafirefox
Thumbs up Re: rtl8192e staging drivers---out of staging---success

SUCCESS!!!!!!!!!
downloaded "rtl8192e_linux_2.6.0011.1029.2009.tar.gz" which is the driver and firmware from Realek.
I installed in x86_64 but it will not work, but in i386 will work.
I tried the F13 Beta but couldn't get it to work there, so went back to F12.
Maybe eventually someone will get 64 bit figured out.
Thanks for everyone's input.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 29th April 2010, 02:17 AM
mohdrizal Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 27
linuxsafari
Re: rtl8192e staging drivers---out of staging---success

Quote:
Originally Posted by fnshman View Post
SUCCESS!!!!!!!!!
downloaded "rtl8192e_linux_2.6.0011.1029.2009.tar.gz" which is the driver and firmware from Realek.
I installed in x86_64 but it will not work, but in i386 will work.
I tried the F13 Beta but couldn't get it to work there, so went back to F12.
Maybe eventually someone will get 64 bit figured out.
Thanks for everyone's input.
i think rtl8192e 2010 release, how about your signal? my problem its same. signal detect just 50% - 80%.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 29th April 2010, 03:16 PM
fnshman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 48
windows_7firefox
Re: rtl8192e staging drivers

I stay consistently in the 79-81% range and I have a lot of walls and a floor between me and the access point. I think that's pretty good. After a fresh install of F12 I did a very large update that took almost 2 hours and had no problems at all.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 30th April 2010, 02:37 AM
mohdrizal Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 27
linuxsafari
Re: rtl8192e staging drivers

Quote:
Originally Posted by fnshman View Post
I stay consistently in the 79-81% range and I have a lot of walls and a floor between me and the access point. I think that's pretty good. After a fresh install of F12 I did a very large update that took almost 2 hours and had no problems at all.
Thx for you reply, now i know.. my netbook lenovo x100e got problem on linux.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
drivers, rtl8192e, staging

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
/drivers/char/drm vs. /drivers/video/aty dan sawyer Hardware & Laptops 0 21st October 2007 07:39 PM
Nvidia native drivers or livna drivers ramy.m Hardware & Laptops 8 19th June 2007 08:30 PM
Dell laptop modem drivers, and wireless card drivers bassman000 Hardware & Laptops 1 2nd March 2007 11:17 PM
Help configuring NVIDIA drivers and Touchpad drivers vikramjogi Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 4 11th November 2004 07:01 AM


Current GMT-time: 04:22 (Thursday, 25-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...Biofitness Academia - Kharghar Travel Photos - Campus Ing. Industrial UPN-San Isidro Instagram Photos