Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 30th December 2013, 07:02 PM
davidgilmore Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: richmond va usa
Posts: 12
linuxfirefox
NFS not mounting on client (times out)

Hello everyone, and thank in advance for all the info you may bring.

Ok, here it is:
I am running two computers both with fedora 20; server 10.0.0.5 NO gui; client 10.0.0.7 KDE.
all hardware is configured (working fine). I have access to the internet (as you can see).

Server: is my testing ground, learning more and more most every day. this server will run dhcp/dns/nfs/ftp/mail/http as i get them up and running one at a time.

But today is NFS. I have read all over the web and here, and with all the different ways to go about this mind boggling by it self.

NFS files exports = /home 10.0.0.5(rw) 10.0.0.7(rw)
/exc/sysconfig/nfs added mount_port=2049 and statd_port=2049 (yes currently they are the same)
and systemctl show server and client nfs are up and running. all of this is with any combination of selinux and firewalld up/down. I can ping, but on nfs to the client.
But as long as i don't fiddle to far out with the server's nfs settings i can mount nfs on the server.
most of the time the client simply hangs for close to five minutes and return to the prompt, no message.
When i do get a message from the client its no host found/ error 113/port mapper not found, these are the most but i always get "clnt_create: RPC: Unknown host" with showmount.

So to sum it up server to server fine, nfs client can't find server.
Oh i run this through a comcast router. Back when f18 was out i had nfs working it lasted a week and with NO changes it stopped and i have not been able to get nfs to work sence. gave up on f19, but now it's time to get this problem solved.

Again thanks to all for you support.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30th December 2013, 07:51 PM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,320
linuxfirefox
Re: NFS not mounting on client (times out)

Can you post what you are using to mount the nfs share on the client? You really should not need to start any extra services on the client machine to mount a nfs share. But on the server, all you should need to do is to enable the nfs-server service.

If you want it to start on every boot:
Code:
systemctl enable nfs-server
Or to manually start it:
Code:
systemctl start nfs-server
Edit:

Also, it might be a good idea to remove anything you put in /etc/sysconfig/nfs until you get it working with the defaults. Then you can change those things to how you want them. It helps to narrow down problems that way
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th December 2013, 11:00 PM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,640
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: NFS not mounting on client (times out)

I've got this NFS stuff working FROM a CentOS box TO Fedora 20,19 and 18, Debian, other CentOS installs, my Raspberry PI, etc. I think it even works for our Android phones. Wired and wireless and some of them mount automatically at boot. Seems to be fairly simple and reliable. I have a Comcast modem/router too.

On the CentOS server:
Code:
/mnt/terra	10.0.0.0/24(rw,sync,no_subtree_check,no_root_squash,anonuid=1000,anongid=1000)
/script    10.0.0.0/24(rw,sync,no_subtree_check,no_root_squash,anonuid=1000,anongid=1000)
Then I enable and start the NFS server and export the shares.
Code:
chkconfig nfs on
service nfs start
exportfs -a
On the other boxes I just enable NFS and if desired I set up /etc/fstab to mount them. For example
Code:
bob:/script /mnt/script nfs _netdev,auto 0 0
On ALL boxes /etc/hosts contains the ip address and hostname of the NFS server. For example:
Code:
10.0.0.17 bob
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31st December 2013, 03:28 AM
davidgilmore Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: richmond va usa
Posts: 12
linuxfirefox
Re: NFS not mounting on client (times out)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DBelton View Post
Can you post what you are using to mount the nfs share on the client? You really should not need to start any extra services on the client machine to mount a nfs share. But on the server, all you should need to do is to enable the nfs-server service.

If you want it to start on every boot:
Code:
systemctl enable nfs-server
Or to manually start it:
Code:
systemctl start nfs-server
Edit:

Also, it might be a good idea to remove anything you put in /etc/sysconfig/nfs until you get it working with the defaults. Then you can change those things to how you want them. It helps to narrow down problems that way
The command line statement:
mount -t nfs 10.0.0.5:/home /mnt/cq60
This is as root.
I have found that the network is not properly working on this client, now i have to figure out what i did to that...is possible that it has had errors from the beginning.

On th server "cq60" all daimons/programs/wigets (no gui) seem to work fine. I have used different tools to check and viewed journal logs and what ever else the system or web pages point out.
Currently i only have dhcp up on the server and it is more of a dummy (not needed).
the only errors that ae returned are:
showmout -e 10.0.0.5 (server address)
clnt_create: RPC: Port mapper failure - Unable to receive: errno 113 (No route to host)
after a few minutes the prompt returns and this statement:
mount.nfs: Connection timed out

I have looked at the iptables and well i don't know just what i am looking for it there (miner understanding the entries).

Here is my exports:
/home 10.0.0.0/24(rw)

Back in the day with red hat 6 -7 i had no trouble with nfs/dhcp/named/ftp/http i had a proxy, mail, http, nfs, and ftp server running great. I used it to chache pages from the internet, nat was twisting properly, mail was coming from all the pop server and accounts and was filtering like a champ. The ftp was for my sole use. Nfs was for login and central storage where games and office(S) where installed (hated outlook express central install, was the most pain of all), oh and let not for get the biggy samba.
http was for admin through vpn when i was out (often, work) and i ge tthe call daddy it's broken again?! (teenagers)
But now it seems that i can't even get the basic or simple things going, this fact aggravates.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31st December 2013, 04:51 AM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,320
linuxfirefox
Re: NFS not mounting on client (times out)

You know.. I get that very same error here, but I successfully have nfs shares mounted from teh server I get the error on.

Code:
[root@tower20 ~]# showmount -e 192.168.1.11
clnt_create: RPC: Port mapper failure - Unable to receive: errno 113 (No route to host)
[root@tower20 ~]# mount | grep nfs
192.168.1.11:/ on /mnt/tower11 type nfs4 (rw,relatime,vers=4.0,rsize=131072,wsize=131072,namlen=255,hard,proto=tcp,timeo=20,retrans=2,sec=sys,clientaddr=192.168.1.20,local_lock=none,addr=192.168.1.11,_netdev)
192.168.1.11:/Drive_F on /mnt/tower11/Drive_F type nfs4 (rw,relatime,vers=4.0,rsize=131072,wsize=131072,namlen=255,hard,proto=tcp,port=0,timeo=20,retrans=2,sec=sys,clientaddr=192.168.1.20,local_lock=none,addr=192.168.1.11)
192.168.1.11:/Drive_H on /mnt/tower11/Drive_H type nfs4 (rw,relatime,vers=4.0,rsize=131072,wsize=131072,namlen=255,hard,proto=tcp,port=0,timeo=20,retrans=2,sec=sys,clientaddr=192.168.1.20,local_lock=none,addr=192.168.1.11)
192.168.1.11:/Drive_G on /mnt/tower11/Drive_G type nfs4 (rw,relatime,vers=4.0,rsize=131072,wsize=131072,namlen=255,hard,proto=tcp,port=0,timeo=20,retrans=2,sec=sys,clientaddr=192.168.1.20,local_lock=none,addr=192.168.1.11)
192.168.1.11:/Drive_D on /mnt/tower11/Drive_D type nfs4 (rw,relatime,vers=4.0,rsize=131072,wsize=131072,namlen=255,hard,proto=tcp,port=0,timeo=20,retrans=2,sec=sys,clientaddr=192.168.1.20,local_lock=none,addr=192.168.1.11)
Now, Fedora 20 defaults to using nfs version 4, which mounts things a little differently. In your mount command, try leaving the home path off...

For example, you have this:
Code:
mount -t nfs 10.0.0.5:/home /mnt/cq60
Try using this instead:
Code:
mount -t nfs 10.0.0.5:/ /mnt/cq60
You see, nfs4 defaults to using your first export as fsid=0 which it then sets as the root for your exported filesystems. There really is no /home path on the client for your exports. /home on your server becomes / on the client.

Edit:
If you try to mount 10.0.0.5:/home, then it would be looking for path /home/home on your server that doesn't exist.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2nd January 2014, 01:46 PM
Kobuck Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 217
linuxfirefox
Re: NFS not mounting on client (times out)

"Showmount" requires TCP/UDP ports 20048 to be open on the server.

Can't find the source of my info for this, but showmount is working for me.


Have you looked at "autofs" to simplify client side configuration?
__________________
Netbook: ASUS EeePC 1005HA/ Intel Atom N270 1.6Ghz x1/ 2GB/ 160GB SataII/ Intel 945GSE/ F20 i686
Desktop: GigaByte (990FXA)/ AMD 1100T 3.3Ghz x6/ 16GB/ 3.75TB Sata III/ AMD 6770HD/ F20 x86_64
Bookshelf: Shuttle DS61 (H61)/ i3-3225 3.3Ghz x2/ 16GB/ 320GB Sata II/ Intel HD 4000/ F20 x86_64
Embedded: BeagleBone Blk / ARM AM3358 1 GHz x1/ 512MB/ 2GB eMMC/ PowerVR SGX530/ F21 armhfp (coming soon)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
client, mounting, nfs, times

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFS Client to NFS Version 3 Issues, Works with sub net IF address Only scott9harvey0l Servers & Networking 2 22nd January 2012 11:53 PM
NFS Times Out teancum144 Servers & Networking 2 23rd November 2011 12:11 AM
F15 nfs mounts /dir but times out mounting /media/dir Wes Goodenough Servers & Networking 0 10th September 2011 09:37 PM
Mounting NFS shares crashes client bertaboy Servers & Networking 1 27th February 2010 05:42 PM
fedora client hangs on restart during mounting of NFS mounts sstrong Using Fedora 0 1st December 2005 02:53 AM


Current GMT-time: 13:55 (Friday, 01-08-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat