Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #16  
Old 13th December 2013, 04:11 PM
Ahmad Samir Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 657
linuxfirefox
Re: Nautilus alway shows system files........ahhh

It looks like the 'org.gnome.nautilus.preferences show-hidden-files' key is deprecated, try this instead:
gsettings set org.gtk.Settings.FileChooser show-hidden false

FWIW, what Gareth Jones posted in http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...36#post1673436 would work as the GUI option in Nautilus preferences controls "org.gtk.Settings.FileChooser show-hidden".

(You can open Nautilus preferences from the AppMenu, when Nautilus is open and focused look at the top panel in gnome-shell, next to "Activities" in the top-left-hand corner you'll see Nautilus icon, click it and select Preferences).
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 13th December 2013, 10:34 PM
inkrypted Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 156
linuxfirefox
Re: Nautilus alway shows system files........ahhh

I had that happen to me once I just opened Nautilus and clicked on Files in the top bar then Prefrences and under the View tab there is an entry called Show hidden and backup files. I unchecked it and clicked close.
__________________
Inkrypted
(Insert witty comment here)
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 18th December 2013, 02:32 PM
serendip82 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 131
linuxchrome
[SOLVED] Re: Nautilus alway shows system files........ahhh

This worked!!

Code:
gsettings set org.gtk.Settings.FileChooser show-hidden false

Many thanks!!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 28th August 2014, 10:14 AM
florians Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: vienna
Posts: 2
windows_7firefox
Re: Nautilus alway shows system files........ahhh

thank you so much!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 28th August 2014, 12:34 PM
dobbi Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 761
windows_7firefox
Re: Nautilus alway shows system files........ahhh

I can tell you where is not coming from.

Nautilus.

Works fine here.

Maybe you could set the debug flags and see what it tells you?
Code:
GTK+ Options
  --class=CLASS               Program class as used by the window manager
  --name=NAME                 Program name as used by the window manager
  --gdk-debug=FLAGS           GDK debugging flags to set
  --gdk-no-debug=FLAGS        GDK debugging flags to unset
  --gtk-module=MODULES        Load additional GTK+ modules
  --g-fatal-warnings          Make all warnings fatal
  --gtk-debug=FLAGS           GTK+ debugging flags to set
  --gtk-no-debug=FLAGS        GTK+ debugging flags to unset
or use strace to see what it is doing.

when you do CTRL+H.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 28th August 2014, 04:05 PM
florians Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: vienna
Posts: 2
windows_7firefox
Re: Nautilus alway shows system files........ahhh

sorry, I'm quite new to linux. so i do not understand how i should use strace for a gnome bug?!
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 29th August 2014, 02:55 AM
dobbi Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 761
windows_7firefox
Re: Nautilus alway shows system files........ahhh

Initiating nautilus with strace.
Code:
$ strace nautilus --no-desktop
Attaching strace to nautilus:

Get the PID (Process Identification or Process ID or something)
Code:
$ ps aux | egrep -i nautilus
tron      2605  0.0  4.3 1930484 351792 ?      Sl   Aug18   8:22 /usr/bin/nautilus --no-default-window

or

$ ps -C nautilus
Then attach strace to it.

Code:
$ strace -p 2605
whatch what it shows you and then execute some action that you wanna know what it is doing.

Strace can tell you what files a program access and where they are, useful to find hidden configuration files, and more.

Resources:
http://www.thegeekstuff.com/2011/11/strace-examples/
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Strace
http://man7.org/linux/man-pages/man1/strace.1.html
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
alway, filesahhh, nautilus, shows

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Retrieving data from drive; shows boot files only Bazu135 Using Fedora 18 28th January 2012 10:22 PM
[SOLVED] Nautilus no longer shows "Properties" dialog joober Using Fedora 3 31st July 2011 04:28 PM
F15 fresh install, encrypted drive shows in Nautilus "Devices" incorrectly Neek Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 11th June 2011 04:34 PM
Gnome: Applications/Windows starting alway in background smurffit Using Fedora 1 24th February 2011 10:14 PM
cifs mount shows all files as directories?! linuxcurt Using Fedora 2 29th January 2010 04:44 PM


Current GMT-time: 18:01 (Saturday, 20-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat