Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #16  
Old 27th December 2012, 12:04 PM
excalibur1491 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: france
Posts: 11
linuxchrome
Re: Install Fedora without /boot to have 4 primary partitions

Well, I installed Fedora again, setting the grub in /dev/sda
I havent tried to enable the boot booster... but at least I believe that the recovery partition is still ok.

everything seems to work fine except that I have already destroyed fedora (yep... it freezed during a big package update, I rebooted and it didn't started again....). Also, it was in english (the installer didn't show me the language selection) and with an american keyboard (though i selected spanish during the installation...)

Nevertheless there is a problem with my grub.. it says error could not find '/dev/???????'. It's so fast I couldnt read it. The strange thing is that this error only appears since the second install...
I'll post another thread if I eventually get to read it.

I think I will have some questions soon.. I post them in other threads. Thank you!

EDIT: - Just a quick question. Grub lists the Windows recovery partition, and I rather it doesnt (is this proper english?). Can I just comment the lines involving this with '#' in the grub.cfg file without any risk?

Thank you!



---------- Post added at 01:04 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:04 PM ----------

Well, I installed Fedora again, setting the grub in /dev/sda
I havent tried to enable the boot booster... but at least I believe that the recovery partition is still ok.

everything seems to work fine except that I have already destroyed fedora (yep... it freezed during a big package update, I rebooted and it didn't started again....). Also, it was in english (the installer didn't show me the language selection) and with an american keyboard (though i selected spanish during the installation...)

Nevertheless there is a problem with my grub.. it says error could not find '/dev/???????'. It's so fast I couldnt read it. The strange thing is that this error only appears since the second install...
I'll post another thread if I eventually get to read it.

I think I will have some questions soon.. I post them in other threads. Thank you!

Last edited by excalibur1491; 27th December 2012 at 12:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 27th December 2012, 11:17 PM
sonoran Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 2,272
linuxfirefox
Re: Install Fedora without /boot to have 4 primary partitions

Quote:
Originally Posted by excalibur1491 View Post
EDIT: - Just a quick question. Grub lists the Windows recovery partition, and I rather it doesnt (is this proper english?). Can I just comment the lines involving this with '#' in the grub.cfg file without any risk?
It would probably work until the menu was regenerated, at which point you would have to do it again.

The "proper" way to accomplish that is to add the line
Code:
GRUB_DISABLE_RECOVERY=true
to /etc/default/grub, then run
Code:
# grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg
Quote:
is this proper english?
"and I rather it doesn't"
better: "and I would rather it did not" or "I'd rather it didn't"
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 28th December 2012, 05:34 PM
excalibur1491 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: france
Posts: 11
linuxchrome
Re: Install Fedora without /boot to have 4 primary partitions

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoran View Post
It would probably work until the menu was regenerated, at which point you would have to do it again.

The "proper" way to accomplish that is to add the line
Code:
GRUB_DISABLE_RECOVERY=true
to /etc/default/grub, then run
Code:
# grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg
I didn't work. It's strange because I have seen other posts around this forum where they say the same...
in this case, can I directly comment it on the grub file? or is it dangerous? I mean.. the first line of the file is "do not edit this file"...
I would rather not to edit the file.. is there another way? I know ubuntu/debian have a software callet startupmanager .. is there something like that in fedora?

I not, I would edit the file like this:
Code:
#
# DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE
#
# It is automatically generated by grub2-mkconfig using templates
# from /etc/grub.d and settings from /etc/default/grub
#

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then
  load_env
fi
set default="${saved_entry}"

if [ x"${feature_menuentry_id}" = xy ]; then
  menuentry_id_option="--id"
else
  menuentry_id_option=""
fi

export menuentry_id_option

if [ "${prev_saved_entry}" ]; then
  set saved_entry="${prev_saved_entry}"
  save_env saved_entry
  set prev_saved_entry=
  save_env prev_saved_entry
  set boot_once=true
fi

function savedefault {
  if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then
    saved_entry="${chosen}"
    save_env saved_entry
  fi
}

function load_video {
  if [ x$feature_all_video_module = xy ]; then
    insmod all_video
  else
    insmod efi_gop
    insmod efi_uga
    insmod ieee1275_fb
    insmod vbe
    insmod vga
    insmod video_bochs
    insmod video_cirrus
  fi
}

if [ x$feature_default_font_path = xy ] ; then
   font=unicode
else
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='hd0,msdos5'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos5 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos5 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos5 --hint='hd0,msdos5'  ef6004c2-1500-4eba-b22b-7987c07e8e84
else
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root ef6004c2-1500-4eba-b22b-7987c07e8e84
fi
    font="/usr/share/grub/unicode.pf2"
fi

if loadfont $font ; then
  set gfxmode=auto
  load_video
  insmod gfxterm
  set locale_dir=$prefix/locale
  set lang=es_ES
  insmod gettext
fi
terminal_output gfxterm
set timeout=5
### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
menuentry 'Fedora' --class fedora --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-simple-ef6004c2-1500-4eba-b22b-7987c07e8e84' {
	load_video
	set gfxpayload=keep
	insmod gzio
	insmod part_msdos
	insmod ext2
	set root='hd0,msdos5'
	if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos5 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos5 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos5 --hint='hd0,msdos5'  ef6004c2-1500-4eba-b22b-7987c07e8e84
	else
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root ef6004c2-1500-4eba-b22b-7987c07e8e84
	fi
	echo	'Loading Linux 3.6.10-2.fc17.i686 ...'
	linux	/boot/vmlinuz-3.6.10-2.fc17.i686 root=UUID=ef6004c2-1500-4eba-b22b-7987c07e8e84 ro rd.md=0 rd.lvm=0 rd.dm=0 SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 rd.luks=0  KEYTABLE=es LANG=en_US.UTF-8 rhgb quiet 
	echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
	initrd	/boot/initramfs-3.6.10-2.fc17.i686.img
}
submenu 'Advanced options for Fedora' $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-advanced-ef6004c2-1500-4eba-b22b-7987c07e8e84' {
	menuentry 'Fedora, with Linux 3.6.10-2.fc17.i686' --class fedora --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-3.6.10-2.fc17.i686-advanced-ef6004c2-1500-4eba-b22b-7987c07e8e84' {
		load_video
		set gfxpayload=keep
		insmod gzio
		insmod part_msdos
		insmod ext2
		set root='hd0,msdos5'
		if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos5 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos5 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos5 --hint='hd0,msdos5'  ef6004c2-1500-4eba-b22b-7987c07e8e84
		else
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root ef6004c2-1500-4eba-b22b-7987c07e8e84
		fi
		echo	'Loading Linux 3.6.10-2.fc17.i686 ...'
		linux	/boot/vmlinuz-3.6.10-2.fc17.i686 root=UUID=ef6004c2-1500-4eba-b22b-7987c07e8e84 ro rd.md=0 rd.lvm=0 rd.dm=0 SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 rd.luks=0  KEYTABLE=es LANG=en_US.UTF-8 rhgb quiet 
		echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
		initrd	/boot/initramfs-3.6.10-2.fc17.i686.img
	}
	menuentry 'Fedora, with Linux 3.3.4-5.fc17.i686' --class fedora --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-3.3.4-5.fc17.i686-advanced-ef6004c2-1500-4eba-b22b-7987c07e8e84' {
		load_video
		set gfxpayload=keep
		insmod gzio
		insmod part_msdos
		insmod ext2
		set root='hd0,msdos5'
		if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos5 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos5 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos5 --hint='hd0,msdos5'  ef6004c2-1500-4eba-b22b-7987c07e8e84
		else
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root ef6004c2-1500-4eba-b22b-7987c07e8e84
		fi
		echo	'Loading Linux 3.3.4-5.fc17.i686 ...'
		linux	/boot/vmlinuz-3.3.4-5.fc17.i686 root=UUID=ef6004c2-1500-4eba-b22b-7987c07e8e84 ro rd.md=0 rd.lvm=0 rd.dm=0 SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 rd.luks=0  KEYTABLE=es LANG=en_US.UTF-8 rhgb quiet 
		echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
		initrd	/boot/initramfs-3.3.4-5.fc17.i686.img
	}
}

### END /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###
### END /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_ppc_terminfo ###
### END /etc/grub.d/20_ppc_terminfo ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
menuentry 'Windows 7 (loader) (on /dev/sda1)' --class windows --class os $menuentry_id_option 'osprober-chain-ECE4C5FEE4C5CAD2' {
	insmod part_msdos
	insmod ntfs
	set root='hd0,msdos1'
	if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos1 --hint='hd0,msdos1'  ECE4C5FEE4C5CAD2
	else
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root ECE4C5FEE4C5CAD2
	fi
	chainloader +1
}
#######################################################33
#########################################################
#THIS IS WHAT I PLAN TO COMMENT
#########################################################
#menuentry 'Windows Recovery Environment (loader) (on /dev/sda2)' --class windows --class os #$menuentry_id_option 'osprober-chain-2C0C-A6B0' {
#	insmod part_msdos
#	insmod fat
#	set root='hd0,msdos2'
#	if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
#	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos2 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos2 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos2 --hint='hd0,msdos2'  2C0C-A6B0
#	else
#	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 2C0C-A6B0
#	fi
#	drivemap -s (hd0) ${root}
#	chainloader +1
}
### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.
### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
if [ -f  ${config_directory}/custom.cfg ]; then
  source ${config_directory}/custom.cfg
elif [ -z "${config_directory}" -a -f  $prefix/custom.cfg ]; then
  source $prefix/custom.cfg;
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
is it okey?

Thank you!


Quote:
"and I rather it doesn't"
better: "and I would rather it did not" or "I'd rather it didn't"
thank you again
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 28th December 2012, 09:48 PM
sonoran Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 2,272
linuxfirefox
Re: Install Fedora without /boot to have 4 primary partitions

Yes, you can edit the grub.cfg file and ignore the warning. I don't think there is any danger
in doing so.

The issue is this: when a new kernel is added the grub menu must be changed. Most distros
use grub-mkconfig to regenerate the menu from /etc/default/grub. When that happens your
edits would be lost.

Fedora uses its own script named grubby instead of grub-mkconfig to update grub.cfg. Grubby
supposedly respects your existing grub.cfg. So any changes you make will probably survive as
long as you do not run Fedora's grub2-mkconfig.

Je t'en pris. I would reply en français but then we would hear your entire country
laughing (I get laughed at enough as it is).
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 29th December 2012, 12:02 AM
excalibur1491 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: france
Posts: 11
linuxchrome
Re: Install Fedora without /boot to have 4 primary partitions

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoran View Post
Yes, you can edit the grub.cfg file and ignore the warning. I don't think there is any danger
in doing so.

The issue is this: when a new kernel is added the grub menu must be changed. Most distros
use grub-mkconfig to regenerate the menu from /etc/default/grub. When that happens your
edits would be lost.

Fedora uses its own script named grubby instead of grub-mkconfig to update grub.cfg. Grubby
supposedly respects your existing grub.cfg. So any changes you make will probably survive as
long as you do not run Fedora's grub2-mkconfig.

Je t'en pris. I would reply en français but then we would hear your entire country
laughing (I get laughed at enough as it is).
Thanks for the information. Editing grub.cfg worked great
I think I can mark this thread as solved. Thank you all for your time
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fedora, install, or boot, partitions, primary

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Too many primary partitions to install Fedora... GrayFox Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 13 2nd June 2011 09:24 AM
Are all my partitions primary or not? jim1944 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 31st May 2010 03:21 PM
Converting primary partitions into logical partitions lpsavoie Using Fedora 2 16th September 2008 04:14 PM
Could not allocate partitions as primary partitions Plankton Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 9 9th May 2006 06:30 AM
4 Primary Partitions gonzalo76 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 11th March 2004 10:43 PM


Current GMT-time: 08:44 (Wednesday, 23-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat