Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora 19/20 > Security and Privacy
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Security and Privacy Sadly, malware, spyware, hackers and privacy threats abound in today's world. Let's be paranoid and secure our penguins, and slam the doors on privacy exploits.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2nd April 2010, 05:56 AM
mcdonsky Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 4
windows_xp_2003firefox
Question access to vds blockage

I use putty and plink through ssh to support some process on my vd server (fedora-7) at godaddy. When login with plink frequently (ones per 10 seconds for just few minutes a day), the server blocks my access everywhere (sftp, http, control panel) for about 10 minutes and resumes then.
Customer Support told me they do not have any blocker but I see that my ip is blocked for these 10 min. meanwhile I can access everything there from other address.

Please advice or refer me somewhere and you would save me from a suicide.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 7th April 2010, 12:07 AM
unSpawn
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
linuxopera
Re: access to vds blockage

Do you run any blockers like fail2ban or denyhosts? Or iptables modules like say "recent"? If you log in from the other IP address and then check the systems logs in /var/log, does there exist any messages about IP addresses getting blocked? Do those messages show any clues? If unsure just post a few (exact) lines of output. Else review the software that's installed might show any clues.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 7th April 2010, 04:45 PM
mcdonsky Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 4
windows_xp_2003firefox
Re: access to vds blockage

No, i should but i did not install any blocker since started using this vds. there are only default security stuff on the server. when i look at the logs i do see messages about some annoying ip from overseas but log does not show my ip blocked anywhere even when it was blocked from server for 15 to 20 minutes.
I also have checked that blockage was not initiated by client side or isp. Wondering if there could be facility firewall at godaddy. I did ask this question but did not expect it to be so hard to get answered. well, will be more insistent asking godaddy support.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 7th April 2010, 08:36 PM
unSpawn
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
linuxopera
Re: access to vds blockage

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcdonsky View Post
When login with plink frequently (ones per 10 seconds for just few minutes a day), the server blocks my access everywhere
Maybe set up a temporary SSH tunnel for the duration of this burst traffic?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 7th April 2010, 11:36 PM
mcdonsky Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 4
windows_xp_2003firefox
Re: access to vds blockage

Quote:
Maybe set up a temporary SSH tunnel for the duration of this burst traffic?
That was my first idea but i did not find how to do it from my tcl program, i never dealt with tunneling. i used to be ic circuit designer in the past and never software. now need to automate online routine work for living actually.
Again, if there no easy fix in blocker or firewall i will look around for other solution, will spend more time learning how to do tunneling in my environment.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 8th April 2010, 09:29 AM
unSpawn
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
linuxopera
Re: access to vds blockage

Maybe have a look at MyEnTunnel (http://nemesis2.qx.net/pages/MyEnTunnel) which works with PuTTY's 'plink'? It's like 'autossh' on GNU/Linux, restarting and keeping tunnels alive. IIGC setting up a tunnel with 'plink' requires the "-nc hostort" switch (http://the.earth.li/~sgtatham/putty/...er7.html#plink). As far as TCL goes I'm sure you can execute 'plink' from it, else if your tunnel needs to be available at steady intervals maybe use the scheduler services your platform supports.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 9th April 2010, 02:39 AM
mcdonsky Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 4
windows_xp_2003firefox
Re: access to vds blockage

I have setup the tunnel with MyEnTunnel, it is on. now i cannot find any information on how to use it. with plink i was able to send bash commands and get prompt result back. what and how can i throw up into the tunnel and where to expect return? just an idea, please.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 9th April 2010, 04:48 PM
unSpawn
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
linuxopera
Re: access to vds blockage

Basically MyEnTunnel just governs what 'plink' does, so if you set the local (address and) port to use that's what you'll use instead of the remote address and port.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
access, blockage, vds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wireless fedora computer cannot access internet (but can access network) eric_x Servers & Networking 18 5th July 2011 06:13 PM
Disable Internet access to a user and enable remote access to the machine for the use santhoshsd Security and Privacy 0 11th October 2008 04:08 PM
VNC Server - firewall blockage (FC9) guywood13 Servers & Networking 1 20th July 2008 12:04 AM
Help I can only access Fedora/Redhat websites. I can't access other sites knadoor Using Fedora 0 8th March 2007 04:47 AM


Current GMT-time: 05:47 (Wednesday, 23-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat