Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 9th September 2013, 08:31 PM
guertin Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: US
Posts: 2
linuxchrome
Mounted LVM volume does not show up with df or mount commands

I've got a Fedora 19 box, with the local root and swap partitions managed with LVM. Everything works fine, but if I want to see how much space is available, "df" and "mount" do not show the LVM volumes, only the local boot partition:

Quote:
# df -hl
Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda3 477M 100M 348M 23% /boot
Quote:
# mount
sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw)
/dev/sda3 on /boot type ext4 (rw)
fusectl on /sys/fs/fuse/connections type fusectl (rw)
vmware-vmblock on /var/run/vmblock-fuse type fuse.vmware-vmblock (rw,nosuid,nodev,default_permissions,allow_other)
<plus a few NFS-mounted systems>
However, the filesystem is accessible and usable, and does show up in /proc/mounts:

Quote:
# cat /proc/mounts
rootfs / rootfs rw 0 0
proc /proc proc rw,relatime 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs rw,relatime 0 0
<snip>
/dev/mapper/VolGroup-lv_root / ext4 rw,relatime,data=ordered 0 0
<snip>
/dev/sda3 /boot ext4 rw,relatime,data=ordered 0 0
fusectl /sys/fs/fuse/connections fusectl rw,relatime 0 0
vmware-vmblock /var/run/vmblock-fuse fuse.vmware-vmblock rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime,user_id=0,group_id=0,defa ult_permissions,allow_other 0 0
It also shows up with pvs, vgs, and lvs:

Quote:
# pvs
PV VG Fmt Attr PSize PFree
/dev/sda5 VolGroup lvm2 a-- 115.09g 672.00m
Quote:
# vgs
VG #PV #LV #SN Attr VSize VFree
VolGroup 1 2 0 wz--n- 115.09g 672.00m
Quote:
# lvs
LV VG Attr LSize Pool Origin Data% Move Log Copy% Convert
lv_root VolGroup -wi-ao--- 104.75g
lv_swap VolGroup -wi-ao--- 9.69g
Here's my /etc/fstab file:

Quote:
/dev/mapper/VolGroup-lv_root / ext4 defaults 1 1
/dev/sda3 /boot ext4 defaults 1 2
/dev/mapper/VolGroup-lv_swap swap swap defaults 0 0
Curiously, if I try to mount the filesystems with "mount -av", I get:

Quote:
# mount -av
/ : ignored
/boot : already mounted
swap : ignored
/dev/shm : successfully mounted
mount: devpts is already mounted or /dev/pts busy
/sys : already mounted
mount: proc is already mounted or /proc busy
The / and swap volumes are ignored. Why "ignored" instead of "already mounted", as with /boot and /sys?

I've never seen this behavior before. Can someone suggest what is going on, and why I can't see my LVM root partition with df or mount? (I really want to be able to tell how much space is being used!)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10th September 2013, 09:16 AM
george_toolan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,077
linuxfirefox
Re: Mounted LVM volume does not show up with df or mount commands

What does "df -m /" show or any other directory on the "root" partition?

Code:
df -m /etc
The swap partition cannot be mounted and the "/"-partition is special too, because it is already mounted when you can read /etc/fstab.

Please note the subtle difference between "already mounted" and ignoring all entries for a "/"-partition.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th September 2013, 12:48 PM
guertin Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: US
Posts: 2
linuxchrome
Re: Mounted LVM volume does not show up with df or mount commands

Quote:
Originally Posted by george_toolan View Post
What does "df -m /" show or any other directory on the "root" partition?
Thanks. That shows just what I would expect normally:

Quote:
df -m /
Filesystem 1M-blocks Used Available Use% Mounted on
- 105453 15516 84559 16% /

# df -m /etc
Filesystem 1M-blocks Used Available Use% Mounted on
- 105453 15516 84559 16% /
It shows me that / is mounted (which it must be), and how much space is available. So why is it doing this if I specify / or any directory under /, but not if I just do a normal "show me everything" "df -m" or "mount"?

Quote:
# df -m
Filesystem 1M-blocks Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda3 477 100 348 23% /boot
tmpfs 3934 0 3934 0% /dev/shm
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
commands, disk free, lvm, mount, mounted, volume

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LVM Mount Physical Volume/Logical Volume without a working Volume Group mpivintis Using Fedora 1 20th November 2010 02:16 PM
How to mount patrial LVM volume? bricklayer Using Fedora 4 1st April 2008 04:06 AM
Howto mount a logical volume (LVM) tbox Guides & Solutions (No Questions) 2 7th September 2007 08:29 PM
LVM Logical Volume won't auto-mount r0dzilla Servers & Networking 4 24th October 2006 07:51 PM
cannot mount LVM volume on USB Harddrive tekn0phile Hardware & Laptops 0 21st January 2005 02:58 PM


Current GMT-time: 21:12 (Monday, 01-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat