Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 1st December 2009, 12:56 AM
Farmboy87 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 14
linuxfedorafirefox
Question Help with Intel Graphics card

Is there away to update my driver. In my Xorg.conf all I have under driver is "Intel" I am using an Intel GM45 card and I don't have 3D support. Any help at all would be awesome.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 1st December 2009, 02:21 AM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,291
linuxopera
Quote:
Is there away to update my driver.
No, not unless there is/are updated driver, libdrm, Mesa and/or Xorg RPMs in the Fedora updates[-testing] repos.
Quote:
In my Xorg.conf all I have under driver is "Intel" I am using an Intel GM45 card and I don't have 3D support.
Please post:
> results of command (as any user): glxinfo | grep render
> contents of file /etc/X11/xorg.conf
> attach (do NOT post) file /var/log/Xorg.0.log

V
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st December 2009, 02:42 AM
Farmboy87 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 14
linuxfedorafirefox
Quote:
> results of command *as any user): glxinfo | grep render
glxinfo | grep render
direct rendering: Yes
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI Mobile Intel® GM45 Express Chipset GEM 20090712 2009Q2 RC3
Quote:
contents of file /etc/X11/xorg.conf
# Xorg configuration created by system-config-display

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "single head configuration"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# keyboard added by system-config-display
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105+inet"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
ModelName "LCD Panel 1280x800"
HorizSync 31.5 - 50.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 65.0
Option "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "intel"
Option "AccelMethod" "XAA"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection
Quote:
attach (do NOT post) file /var/log/Xorg.0.log
Hope that helps.
Attached Files
File Type: doc Xorg.0.log.doc (84.0 KB, 59 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st December 2009, 02:43 AM
Farmboy87 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 14
linuxfedorafirefox
And I apologize for the huge post I'm still kind of a noob at all this.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st December 2009, 02:53 AM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,291
linuxopera
Quote:
Code:
glxinfo | grep render
direct rendering: Yes
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI Mobile Intel® GM45 Express Chipset GEM 20090712 2009Q2 RC3
I see no problem: 3D/DRI/OpenGL rendering is enabled and working. What's the problem ? Why do you think it is not so ??

V
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 1st December 2009, 04:09 AM
Farmboy87 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 14
linuxfedorafirefox
Everytime I enable compiz under Desktop Effects, the whole system slows down to a crawl. Last time it actually took over 3 minutes to pull the console. Top shows that Swap isn't even being touched and that I have over 31000 k left on normal memory to run everything so, I thought it must have been something to do with the way that the card was processing the 3D aspects.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 1st December 2009, 05:39 AM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,291
linuxopera
Try booting with kernel parameter 'nomodeset', see if that helps. At the very least, confirm that 'glxinfo' returns the same results afterwards.

See what happens, check Compiz performance, please post results... .

V
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 1st December 2009, 03:50 PM
Farmboy87 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 14
linuxfedorafirefox
Okay, here is the result of glxinfo with and without Desktop Effects turned on.
Attached Files
File Type: doc glxinfo_before&After.doc (49.5 KB, 59 views)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 1st December 2009, 04:38 PM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,291
linuxopera
I see no difference in results of glxinfo. But how is the graphical performance without kernel modesetting ? Are these statements still true (after 'nomodeset'), or what:
Quote:
Everytime I enable compiz under Desktop Effects, the whole system slows down to a crawl. Last time it actually took over 3 minutes to pull the console. Top shows that Swap isn't even being touched and that I have over 31000 k left on normal memory to run everything
V
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 1st December 2009, 04:41 PM
Farmboy87 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 14
linuxfedorafirefox
I can't even boot in without setting "nomodeset" if i try. I always hang up at the loading screen or at 'loading atd....ok' i suppose that could be where my larger issue is.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 1st December 2009, 04:54 PM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,291
linuxopera
Quote:
I can't even boot in without setting "nomodeset" if i try.
So... you've been using it ('nomodeset') all along ? That is what you seem to be saying.

V

P.S. I assume GNOME desktop ?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 1st December 2009, 05:07 PM
Farmboy87 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 14
linuxfedorafirefox
Yes, I've been in "nomodeset" this whole time. and you are correct I am on GNOME desktop. Running it on a 6930p HP Elitebook.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 1st December 2009, 05:25 PM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,291
linuxopera
Are you really trying Compiz[-Fusion], or are you trying to enable/use built-in GNOME desktop compositing effects ? If Compiz[-Fusion], have you tried CCSM (the C-F configuration utility) ??

In that case I have no further suggestions, other than to file a bug report. But you will need some quantifiable info beyond "it's slow" - consider installing (and running) package hardinfo ("System Profiler and Benchmark" on the menus), and perform the FBENCH ("FPU RayTracing") test. Sync your results with the on-line database for best results, & compare: how does your machine stack up against similar hardware ? Don't bother with glxgears - it's results are practically meaningless.

You might also consider installing and running package driconf: start run it the first time only from CLI as root user (to generate a default /etc/drirc file), then exit both GUI and terminal and start driconf as any normal user from menu. Play with all "Advanced/Expert" options, one at a time, & assess impact on performance. Re-start of X11 usually NOT required (but re-start of open 3D apps is most definitely required after tweaking driconf settings).

Good Luck,
V
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 16th January 2010, 09:43 AM
confident Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 14
linuxfedorafirefox
Hi Hlingler,
I think I have the same 3D graphics problem.
I am sure that my 3D graphic system is not working because every time I start VMplayer (virtual machine) it states that ' This computer doesn't have a 3D graphic system supported by VMware player'
I was having this problem when using fedora 11, I have just upgraded to fedora 12 yesterday, made 'yum update' and got about 1300 updates but my problem with VMware is still existing.

See this result in my terminal:
Quote:
glxinfo | grep render
direct rendering: Yes
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI Intel(R) 965GM GEM 20090712 2009Q2 RC3
Thanks a lot
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 16th January 2010, 07:35 PM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,291
linuxopera
Refer: http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=238642
Quote:
I have just upgraded to fedora 12 yesterday, made 'yum update' and got about 1300 updates but my problem with VMware is still existing.
Upgrade as in "live", or as in fresh install ? 1300 packages seems like a lot. Post:
su
yum repolist
uname -r
cat /etc/fedora-release


I may end up merging these posts with the referenced thread, to prevent confusion and keep discussion of your issue(s) in one place.

V
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
card, graphics, intel

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Graphics card from Intel? notageek Wibble 2 6th August 2008 11:59 AM
Intel graphics card with Fedora spaze Hardware & Laptops 3 7th December 2007 11:29 AM
Intel 915GM? Graphics Card Support RIgnazio Hardware & Laptops 6 19th November 2005 05:07 PM
ati radeon 600 graphics card and intel pro 10/100 ethernet card don't work tieflingrogue Hardware & Laptops 5 22nd August 2005 07:11 PM


Current GMT-time: 05:34 (Friday, 25-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat