Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #16  
Old 1st July 2012, 12:18 AM
robertdaleweir Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 421
linuxfirefox
Re: Does the search tool need to be configured

Quote:
Originally Posted by xav795 View Post
for test user :
[root@AWE test]# ls -laRn | wc -l
31


for dzialoszynski user :
[root@AWE test]# cd /home/dzialoszynski/
[root@AWE dzialoszynski]# ls -laRn | wc -l
180215


In the system-config-users, i have only one line on the user tab, which has the following properties :
username =dzialoszynski
userid = 1000
primary group = dzialoszynski
full name = DZIALOSZYNSKI
shell connexion = /bin/bash
personal directory = /home/dzialoszynski

on the group tab i have two lines :
group name idgroup members
dzialoszynski 1000 dzialoszynski
vboxusers 1001

i have tried again the instruction you gave me before, my name was correctly wrotten, but i have the same result as before
find /home/dzialoszynski -user 500 -print0 | xargs -0 chown -h 1000
operand missing after 1000
xav795
OK. You can remove the 'test' user and all of its files if you wish.
Next as user 'root' try the following to accomplish the change to UIDs, if any are 500 they should be changed.
Others that are 1000 already will be unaffected.

Quote:
find /home -uid 500 -exec chown 1000 {} \;
If this works then pick up in the original commands, if possible. Try to run, as root, <updatedb> to ensure that the files are findable.
Check back after giving these things a try.
__________________
Robert :)
Kernel 3.9.10-100.fc17.x86_64 GNOME 3.4.2
CPU AMD 955 Quad Core
MoBo Gigabyte MA785GM-UD2H-AM3 MicroATX
Memory 8 Gigs OCZ DDR3-1333 PC-10666
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 1st July 2012, 12:40 AM
xav795 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 14
linuxfirefox
Re: Does the search tool need to be configured

hi robertderweil
i have executed the commands you gave me before :

find /home -uid 500 -exec chown 1000 {} \;
updatedb
for fs in /home/dzialoszynski ; do find $fs -xdev -group 500 -exec chgrp -h 1000 {} \;; done
updatedb

this time i dont have error

But if i try to launch a pdf file for example from my user session in a terminal, file that belong to my user directory, i still get a permission denied error message

Regards
Xavier

---------- Post added at 11:40 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:33 PM ----------

I will be back in some hours, i take a rest
Regards
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 1st July 2012, 12:43 AM
robertdaleweir Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 421
linuxfirefox
Re: Does the search tool need to be configured

Quote:
Originally Posted by xav795 View Post
hi robertderweil
i have executed the commands you gave me before :

find /home -uid 500 -exec chown 1000 {} \;
updatedb
for fs in /home/dzialoszynski ; do find $fs -xdev -group 500 -exec chgrp -h 1000 {} \;; done
updatedb

this time i dont have error

But if i try to launch a pdf file for example from my user session in a terminal, file that belong to my user directory, i still get a permission denied error message

Regards
Xavier
OK. When you say you try to 'launch a pdf' from a terminal session, do you type evince and file name (evince abc.pdf) or try to open it in some other way?
If you open it from nautilus (file browser) does it open by 'double clicking' on it or does it crash Nautilus, or complain.
I am not sure I understand how it is that you are trying to open a pdf file from a user session in a terminal. Could you explain exactly how you try to open a pdf file from a terminal. Thanks...
__________________
Robert :)
Kernel 3.9.10-100.fc17.x86_64 GNOME 3.4.2
CPU AMD 955 Quad Core
MoBo Gigabyte MA785GM-UD2H-AM3 MicroATX
Memory 8 Gigs OCZ DDR3-1333 PC-10666
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 1st July 2012, 10:47 AM
xav795 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 14
linuxfirefox
Re: Does the search tool need to be configured

Hi robertdaleweir,

From a terminal under my user, when i tried to open my pdf file i did it typing directly the path to the file
\home\myuser\myfile.pdf
in this case, i had the permission denied message

If i launch evince like this :
evince \home\myuser\myfile.pdf
there is no problem

With nautilus there is no crash regardless i click directly on the file or i choose by right click that i want to open it with evince

So maybe it is normal that i get this error message, i dont know; however the gnome search tool (the one that appears when you strike the super key), doesnt give me any recent opened file, as it works on F15 before.

One more problem, but maybe i should open another thread for it is that with gnash plugin on mozilla, i get some error message from SELinux :
SELinux is preventing /usr/bin/gtk-gnash from execute access on the file /home/dzialoszynski/.orc/orcexec.9bbn8G (deleted).
Is this related to my previous installation on F15, on which i had mozilla before?
Is there an issue related to the SEcontext of my old files coming from F15?
For example, is it possible to see somewhere (in a log file), what's happening when the process responsible to look at my recent file is working.

Regards
Xavier
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 1st July 2012, 01:32 PM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,320
linuxfirefox
Re: Does the search tool need to be configured

just use the simple command chown.

as root run:

Code:
cd /home
chown -R --from=501:502 1000:1000 *
(above, your old user was user 501, but the group was 502.)

If all of your old files have the same user numbering, then it should change them all to the new (1000:1000) user numbering and you should then be able to access them as normal.

as far as selinux context, it is possible you are having issues due to different labelling from F15 to F17. I would recommend you to run a complete relabel on your system once you get the user numbering corrected.

You can run a complete relabel

as root:
Code:
touch /.autorelabel
reboot
It will take awhile to run the relabel, so do this when you can just leave it while it relabels and boots up.

Last edited by DBelton; 1st July 2012 at 01:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 1st July 2012, 06:40 PM
robertdaleweir Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 421
linuxfirefox
Re: Does the search tool need to be configured

Quote:
Originally Posted by xav795 View Post
Hi robertdaleweir,

From a terminal under my user, when i tried to open my pdf file i did it typing directly the path to the file
\home\myuser\myfile.pdf
in this case, i had the permission denied message

If i launch evince like this :
evince \home\myuser\myfile.pdf
there is no problem

With nautilus there is no crash regardless i click directly on the file or i choose by right click that i want to open it with evince

So maybe it is normal that i get this error message, i dont know; however the gnome search tool (the one that appears when you strike the super key), doesnt give me any recent opened file, as it works on F15 before.

One more problem, but maybe i should open another thread for it is that with gnash plugin on mozilla, i get some error message from SELinux :
SELinux is preventing /usr/bin/gtk-gnash from execute access on the file /home/dzialoszynski/.orc/orcexec.9bbn8G (deleted).
Is this related to my previous installation on F15, on which i had mozilla before?
]Is there an issue related to the SEcontext of my old files coming from F15?
For example, is it possible to see somewhere (in a log file), what's happening when the process responsible to look at my recent file is working.

Regards
Xavier
Hi xav795
Quote:
From a terminal under my user, when i tried to open my pdf file i did it typing directly the path to the file
\home\myuser\myfile.pdf
in this case, i had the permission denied message
In a Bash Shell, which is what a terminal is when opened under Fedora, one must invoke a recognizable 'command' for it to respond in a meaningful way. Just typing the 'file name' will cause an error every time, and 'permission denied' is part of the error message.
The 'updatedb' is a database for the 'locate' command. One can use 'locate abc.pdf' from any directory and all instances of the file will be listed.
If one uses 'evince abc.pdf &' one will not tie up the terminal, as it will open in a separate window.
Quote:
So maybe it is normal that i get this error message, i dont know; however the gnome search tool (the one that appears when you strike the super key), doesnt give me any recent opened file, as it works on F15 before.
This is probably a setting, which I unfortunately cannot help you with.
Quote:
One more problem, but maybe i should open another thread for it is that with gnash plugin on mozilla, i get some error message from SELinux :
I never had much luck with 'gnash', I use autoplus and install 'flash-plugin'. I always disable 'selinux' for my own use as I use a 'router' for my security to the 'world' and essentially have full unhindered access to all my machines within my house.
Quote:
SELinux is preventing /usr/bin/gtk-gnash from execute access on the file /home/dzialoszynski/.orc/orcexec.9bbn8G (deleted).
Is this related to my previous installation on F15, on which i had mozilla before?
]Is there an issue related to the SEcontext of my old files coming from F15?
For example, is it possible to see somewhere (in a log file), what's happening when the process responsible to look at my recent file is working.
I will gracefully beg off answering this one as it is above my pay scale. Cheers...
__________________
Robert :)
Kernel 3.9.10-100.fc17.x86_64 GNOME 3.4.2
CPU AMD 955 Quad Core
MoBo Gigabyte MA785GM-UD2H-AM3 MicroATX
Memory 8 Gigs OCZ DDR3-1333 PC-10666

Last edited by robertdaleweir; 1st July 2012 at 06:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 1st July 2012, 08:10 PM
xav795 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 14
linuxfirefox
Re: Does the search tool need to be configured

Hi,

@robertdaleweir
I have finally installed the flash player instead of gnash, and that works good now.
For the moment i have set SE to permissive mode.

I think i have understood my problem with the gnome 3.4 search tool, that uses to look to recent files.
In fact, it seems that this functionnality has been removed from the latest version of gnome, as this article show :
http://askubuntu.com/questions/12824...shell-in-12-04
There are workaround like installing gnome extensions
If a am right, you should not find any recent file with the basic search tool in F17 in fact. This is not a problem of rights on my files.

@DBelton,
I tried the commands you were suggesting, but as i mentionned above, i think this functionnality does not work as i expected it to work.

Regards
Xavier
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 1st July 2012, 08:32 PM
robertdaleweir Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 421
linuxfirefox
Re: Does the search tool need to be configured

Quote:
Originally Posted by xav795 View Post
Hi,

@robertdaleweir
I have finally installed the flash player instead of gnash, and that works good now.
For the moment i have set SE to permissive mode.

I think i have understood my problem with the gnome 3.4 search tool, that uses to look to recent files.
In fact, it seems that this functionnality has been removed from the latest version of gnome, as this article show :
http://askubuntu.com/questions/12824...shell-in-12-04
There are workaround like installing gnome extensions
If a am right, you should not find any recent file with the basic search tool in F17 in fact. This is not a problem of rights on my files.

@DBelton,
I tried the commands you were suggesting, but as i mentionned above, i think this functionnality does not work as i expected it to work.

Regards
Xavier
Hi xav795
OK. So are you good to go on this one. If you are satisfied with this thread please mark it as SOLVED by
going to Thread Tools at the top when you open this thread and selecting 'Mark this thread as SOLVED'. If you have further ?s just continue the thread. Have a great day.
__________________
Robert :)
Kernel 3.9.10-100.fc17.x86_64 GNOME 3.4.2
CPU AMD 955 Quad Core
MoBo Gigabyte MA785GM-UD2H-AM3 MicroATX
Memory 8 Gigs OCZ DDR3-1333 PC-10666
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
configured, search, tool

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nautilus search tool problem Badar Abbas Using Fedora 0 3rd April 2009 02:30 PM
Problem with gnome-search-tool brunoadm Using Fedora 0 15th October 2008 07:57 PM
tracker search tool Wiles Using Fedora 0 22nd November 2007 03:26 PM
gnome-search-tool majnam2002 Using Fedora 4 6th October 2007 12:17 PM
Is there a search tool out there other than BEAGLE!? Jim March Using Fedora 7 16th January 2007 11:49 AM


Current GMT-time: 00:22 (Thursday, 02-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat