Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 24th October 2009, 05:09 PM
lewis41 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: pisa
Posts: 66
linuxfedorafirefox
Per utenti italiani con Alice-ADSL (Excuse me for intrusion)

Buon giorno,
vorrei porre alla vostra attenzione un problema alquanto strano:
da qualche giorno alla Telecom mi hanno cancellato, senza alcun avviso il mio account di posta Alice-Mail che ormai usavo da qualche anno senza problemi. Dopo vari contatti con i tecnici del 187 per avere delle spiegazioni (senza alcun successo) ho deciso di ri-registrarmi al sito della Telecom per una nuova Mail.
La nuova Mail č attiva e funzionante tramite web, mentre dal client Evolution mi permette solo di scaricare la posta ma non di inviarla.
Ho provato a cambiare il server d'uscita, out.alice.it, con un altro server ma il problema persiste. Sapreste dirmi come fare per poter continuare a usare il mio client di posta ?

Grazie
************************************************** ************************************************** ****
Translation
My problem is with my Evolution-client that cannot send e-mails to the server provider of Telecom Italia.
The account works fine via web, it doesn't when sending mails from Evolution.
Till last week I had an account for many years with no problems of configuration or client, but the last week the provider deleted my account so after registering a new one I became with this problem.
************************************************** ************************************************** ****
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24th October 2009, 05:38 PM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,699
linuxfedorafirefox
Hi Lewis41. Just a thought. My e-mail worked just fine for a few years and then suddenly I couldn't send any mail. I could receive mail just fine though. Turns out that my ISP, in it's infinite wisdom, decided that all smtp was blocked on the usual port (25?) and will now have to go through port 587. Once I made the configuration change sending mail returned to normal. Is there a possibility that this could be the case with your ISP?

Prego!
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th October 2009, 05:40 PM
forkbomb Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: U.S.
Posts: 4,851
linuxgentoofirefox
Quote:
Originally Posted by glennzo View Post
Turns out that my ISP, in it's infinite wisdom, decided that all smtp was blocked on the usual port (25?) and will now have to go through port 587.
Pretty typical.

You can thank the spammers. ISPs are just trying to put their finger in a leaking levee.
__________________
- Tom
"What is freedom? To have the will to be responsible for one's self." - Stirner
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th October 2009, 05:44 PM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,699
linuxfedorafirefox
I understand and don't have a problem with it now. The only problem I had at the time was that I didn't know about it. I had to go searching for the answer. Once I figured it out and made the change I've never had to look back.

In fairness to the ISP, I probably missed several e-mails that were likely sent out informing me of the impending change.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24th October 2009, 05:46 PM
forkbomb Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: U.S.
Posts: 4,851
linuxgentoofirefox
Hmm. 25 was blocked when I started my contract with my ISP. I was never really told going in what, if anything, was blocked.

Oh well.
__________________
- Tom
"What is freedom? To have the will to be responsible for one's self." - Stirner
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24th October 2009, 05:55 PM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,699
linuxfedorafirefox
It's never easy, is it?
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aliceadsl, excuse, intrusion, italiani, utenti

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
possible security intrusion? bigmacbb63 Security and Privacy 1 30th December 2007 02:44 PM
ALICE Off-line Project. Simen Using Fedora 6 13th September 2007 09:32 PM
Intrusion detection wprauchholz Security and Privacy 9 31st March 2006 10:10 AM
Excuse me, but how to install the source files of FC4? yangchu Using Fedora 3 9th September 2005 04:59 PM
intrusion detection cotfessi Security and Privacy 6 17th April 2005 04:02 PM


Current GMT-time: 11:38 (Tuesday, 02-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat