Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 10th August 2012, 02:38 PM
thesun Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 533
linuxfirefox
Autostart phantoms

I am wondering if anyone out there knows why certain programs start when I boot up my machine. I recently updated Firefox (14.x) and changed the icon so it points to the new location, however each time I start up KDE automatically runs the original version (3.5.9). It reloads all the legacy Addons and starts some processes that I have to kill with -9, so it's kind of a pain. I'd like to just turn that off or else point it to start the updated Firefox if the former's not possible.

I tried looking in .kde/Autostart, in .kde/share/autostart and .config/autostart and there aren't any files there. But I'm also in a vnc session and wondered if perhaps there's a vnc autostart that's causing this?

Or are there other places to look for this phantom legacy autostarting Firefox?

It's FC11, KDE 4.4.3. Thanks for any suggestions or help!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10th August 2012, 04:01 PM
jpollard Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Waldorf, Maryland
Posts: 6,847
linuxfirefox
Re: Autostart phantoms

You might check for a saved session. If you ever saved a session (and then disabled saving sessions) the processes identified in the saved session will always be restarted.

I think these files are stored in .cache/sessions in your home directory.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th August 2012, 04:38 PM
thesun Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 533
linuxfirefox
Re: Autostart phantoms

Thanks! That's a good thought. I don't think I ever saved one but who knows...maybe I did. :-) I do vaguely remember selecting some programs to start on boot though. Thought perhaps they'd be in a file somewhere...just can't seem to find them.

---------- Post added at 11:38 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:36 AM ----------

Hmmm. Don't seem to have a .cache/sessions directory/file. Back to square one!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th August 2012, 07:57 PM
sidebrnz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Freedonia
Age: 65
Posts: 2,615
linuxfirefox
Re: Autostart phantoms

Get everything set up exactly how you want it, then log out, selecting Save Session. When you log back in, you should still have things the way you want.
__________________
Registered Linux user #470359 and permanently recovered BOFH.

Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11th August 2012, 12:13 AM
Gareth Jones Offline
Official Gnome 3 Sales Rep. (and Adminstrator)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Birmingham, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 2,771
linuxfirefox
Re: Autostart phantoms

(Moved to EOL due to F11.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
autostart, phantoms

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
gdm autostart Adremelech Using Fedora 0 8th July 2007 12:23 PM
HELP! VNC Autostart - again :( Ignatius.A Using Fedora 9 24th February 2005 04:21 AM
GCC Autostart GaryG Using Fedora 3 20th January 2005 06:33 PM
autostart cd zjimward Programming & Packaging 3 21st July 2004 10:10 AM


Current GMT-time: 01:32 (Wednesday, 17-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat