Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 31st December 2007, 01:08 AM
bond_fedora Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 12
No Multiprocessor Support (SMP) Installed in Fedora 8

I have installed Fedora 8 on a dual microprocessor computer (Pentium III, 1000 MHz) but when I check /proc/cpuinfo I see only one CPU detected, not two.

Fedora 8 claims that by default the 2.6 kernel has already built-in smp support.

Am I missing something obvious during the installation phase? Because normally, when I installed Redhat 8, for example, installer would give me an option in the menu to select the multiprocessor support or not. During the Fedora 8 installation I did not see this kind of options. I encountered this when I did "without media installation".

What exactly to I need to do to set-up the multiprocessor support on my system? I would very much appreciate your help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 31st December 2007, 01:18 AM
Emphyrio Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 57
Make sure you installed the correct version of F8: x86_64 should cover most multi core machines. The i386 version will only support the original 'Core Duo' chip but not 'Core 2 Duo'.
__________________
Dan

*****
I only sorta, kinda, know what I'm doing. :rolleyes:
*****
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31st December 2007, 04:17 AM
bond_fedora Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 12
I just checked. the distribution that I used was i386
According to Fedora documentation i386 is for 32-bit AMD, Intel Pentium, Intel Core Duo.
http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Distri...a22f952064fa1b

Pentium III is 32 bit chip, will x86_64 distribution will be backwards compatible with 32 bit chips?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31st December 2007, 04:23 AM
lazlow Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,172
You need to stick with the 32bit version for a PIII.

Lets see a "uname -a"

The " cat /proc/cpuinfo" might be useful too.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31st December 2007, 04:34 AM
bond_fedora Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 12
"uname -a" give me:


Linux localhost.localdomain 2.6.23.1-42.fc8 #1 SMP Tue Oct 30 13:55:12 EDT 2007 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux

" cat /proc/cpuinfo" gives me

processor : 0
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 6
model : 8
model name : Pentium III (Coppermine)
stepping : 6
cpu MHz : 996.903
cache size : 256 KB
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 2
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 mmx fxsr sse
bogomips : 1994.40
clflush size : 32

processor : 1
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 6
model : 8
model name : Pentium III (Coppermine)
stepping : 6
cpu MHz : 996.903
cache size : 256 KB
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 2
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 mmx fxsr sse
bogomips : 1993.43
clflush size : 32


So, the system does see two cpu units. I had a confusion on what "top" gave me.

Tasks: 78 total, 1 running, 77 sleeping, 0 stopped, 0 zombie
Cpu(s): 0.0%us, 0.2%sy, 0.0%ni, 99.8%id, 0.0%wa, 0.0%hi, 0.0%si, 0.0%st
Mem: 515164k total, 499604k used, 15560k free, 12436k buffers

So here "top" gives a cumulative usage not a usage for each cpu.

So, then everything went well. Thank you lazlow and Emphyrio.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31st December 2007, 05:43 AM
lazlow Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,172
You can see each processor load in system monitor (assuming Gnome). Applications->System Tools->System monitor(resources tab)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fedora, installed, multiprocessor, smp, support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to Fedora (And RPMs) - How do i stop language support rpms being installed? seaghan Using Fedora 4 15th October 2009 06:22 AM
Question for anyone who has installed with Japanese support scottro Using Fedora 2 6th October 2007 04:11 AM
No multiprocessor kernel for x86_64 FC5 install? tphillip EOL (End Of Life) Versions 2 21st March 2006 10:02 PM
Multiprocessor system - Fedora2 or Fedora3 Sudi Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 10th June 2005 12:04 PM


Current GMT-time: 22:36 (Monday, 24-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Atlantic City Instagram Photos - Napasar Photos on Instagram - Siemianowice Slaskie