Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 22nd March 2007, 05:55 PM
Stian1979 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Taipei Taiwan
Age: 35
Posts: 401
MP-BIOS bug: 8254 timer not conected to IO-APIC

I there annyone that know how to solve this?
I found some old posts about it, but nothing that solve the problem.

I tryed to seartch for the problem on the web and it seams to be a problem with some BIOS.
I tryed the latest bios upgrade for my computer, but it did not work.

Seams that only problems ocouring in the windows world is solved.
Anny think I can do about it in software and dos it really mather?

What is it actualy doing?
__________________
smolt profile

Without fedoraforum.org I would still be using Windows

Can annyone borow me some space on a ftp server?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23rd March 2007, 01:56 AM
mwette Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Los Angeles area
Posts: 887
try booting with "acpi=noirq"

what computer (board) do you have?
also, I'm curious what /proc/interrupts says (before and after, if you do it, adding above)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23rd March 2007, 04:23 AM
Stian1979 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Taipei Taiwan
Age: 35
Posts: 401
I have a asus computer.

The computer boot without anny problem but this error mesage.
I heard that some bios upgrades can fix the problem, but it did not fix it for me so I gues asus did not know and did not care about a bug that truble linux.

What will "acpi=noirq" do?
What is this timer doing?

Quote:
CPU0
0: 2913133 <NULL>-edge timer
1: 2348 IO-APIC-edge i8042
7: 0 IO-APIC-edge parport0
8: 0 IO-APIC-edge rtc
12: 345472 IO-APIC-edge i8042
14: 22621 IO-APIC-edge ide0
15: 41171 IO-APIC-edge ide1
16: 21783 IO-APIC-fasteoi HDA Intel
17: 0 IO-APIC-fasteoi yenta
18: 168056 IO-APIC-fasteoi ohci1394, fglrx
19: 48 IO-APIC-fasteoi ohci_hcd:usb1, ohci_hcd:usb2, ehci_hcd:usb3, sdhci:slot0
21: 26414 IO-APIC-fasteoi acpi
2301: 22189 PCI-MSI-edge eth0
NMI: 0
LOC: 2912998
ERR: 21
__________________
smolt profile

Without fedoraforum.org I would still be using Windows

Can annyone borow me some space on a ftp server?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23rd March 2007, 02:30 PM
mwette Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Los Angeles area
Posts: 887
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stian1979
I have a asus computer.

The computer boot without anny problem but this error mesage.
I heard that some bios upgrades can fix the problem, but it did not fix it for me so I gues asus did not know and did not care about a bug that truble linux.

What will "acpi=noirq" do?
What is this timer doing?
Linux is a timesharing kernel. It slices time into bits of 1-10 msec (and feeds slots)
to different processes. The timer interrupt signal needs to be routed to the CPU.
This gets done during initialization. The kernel will get interrrupt routing information
from the ACPI tables, from the MP-table or from standard conventional routing. If
you use the boot argument acpi=off, then the kernel will bypass the ACPI tables and
use the MP-table. At least that is my understanding. If you want to know more search
google for "linux acpi" or intel_MP_spec. The latter term will lead to the 1.4 spec which
explains alot about how multi-CPU systems are laid out. Good reading ... The ACPI spec,
on the otherhand is, to me at least, a nightmare.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23rd March 2007, 03:21 PM
Stian1979 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Taipei Taiwan
Age: 35
Posts: 401
so acpi=noirq will improve the performance off my system or will it make no diference?

Where do I put the comand?

I send a e-mail about it to asus. I make shure I send then a e-mail for every linux problem I encounter. Not because I think it will help me in anny way, but mainly just to be a a-hole to them since they are ignoring linux. Complained that there latest bios version did not solve my problems.
__________________
smolt profile

Without fedoraforum.org I would still be using Windows

Can annyone borow me some space on a ftp server?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30th November 2007, 01:06 PM
tdarsey Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10
I am having the same kind of trouble. Were do I enter "acpi=noirq" if I cant get it to boot?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
8254, bug, conected, ioapic, mpbios, timer

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MP-BIOS bug: 8254 timer not connected to IO-APIC pengyou12345 Using Fedora 3 1st April 2009 03:28 PM
what is a 8254 timer devraj Hardware & Laptops 2 7th September 2008 04:21 PM
MP-BIOS bug: 8254 timer not connected - Still? MarkRS Hardware & Laptops 0 4th August 2008 05:38 PM
MP-BIOS bug: 8254 timer not connected to IO-APIC hxuanyu Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 25th September 2006 06:25 AM
MP-BIOS bug: 8254 Timer not connected to IO-APIC Gul Dukat Hardware & Laptops 3 21st September 2006 03:38 AM


Current GMT-time: 06:49 (Wednesday, 20-08-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat