Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 11th September 2007, 12:16 AM
sqbadyvr Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8
Gnome on FC7 broken

I don't know how I broke it but when I graphically boot into gnome, I get some functionality, but it's clearly broken. There are no minimize/maximize/close icons, no additional desktops, etc. I can graphically boot into KDE fine.

Looked through the Xorg.0.log, dmesg, and message logs and found nothing indicative.

Any ideas where else I should look to see what I boogered up...had been making several tweaks and everything was working fine when I shut down, but upon restart, it was messed up. The only thing I can think of to do is to delete packages and re-add them back until it works again...

Running FC7 with nvidia 6600 graphics card...am using atrpms rpms for nvidia, as I haven't been able to find a livna compatible mythtv install rpm.

Any help on how to diagnose this is appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14th September 2007, 12:11 AM
SFC Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 31
Rezie is gone

I have the same problem. If I login as root it ti ok, but as a user the only way I can close the window is through file quit. This is bad.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th September 2007, 12:28 PM
XTCHost Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 65
Try this - it worked for me

yum groupremove "GNOME Desktop Environment"

yum groupinstall "GNOME Desktop Environment"

p.s. don't remove the double quotes

Courtesy of RobertoVanto

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/forum...ad.php?t=145193
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14th September 2007, 10:06 PM
RJFUatHOME Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Fairfield, CA
Posts: 437
If you haven't fixed it already, you might simply try enabling or disabling desktop effects which effectively switches you between metacity and compiz as a window manager.

I tried the test Gnome Compiz Manager and played with the active and inactive title bar transparency settings and Gnome started doing this a couple times an hour so I set all the settings back and now it's fine. Sounds like some of these feature settings don't set well with some video drivers.

But try toggling Desktop Effects, it works for me anyway.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
broken, fc7, gnome

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Broken Gnome..sound..FC6 vinster Using Fedora 1 13th January 2007 01:26 PM
Gnome broken on FC5 Dumbledore Using Fedora 0 21st July 2006 01:20 AM
Broken GNOME wawalker Using Fedora 4 8th April 2005 10:19 AM
Help! I've broken gnome somehow! ThaRealest Using Fedora 1 28th December 2004 09:07 PM


Current GMT-time: 22:49 (Saturday, 25-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Zhob Photos on Instagram - Tandag - Dickinson Photos on Instagram