Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 25th June 2007, 08:16 PM
biruru Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 124
dual boot windows xp with fedora 7 on two separate drives

Hi, i have two hard drives, one is sata and other is ide. I already have windows xp install on the sata drive and want to install fedora 7 on the ide drive. How can i setup the grub and dual boot in order to make it work properly? Do i install the grub in the sata drive or the ide drive? and how to make the windows boot as default? thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25th June 2007, 08:23 PM
ramasees
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
as far as i know you cant duel boot two different drives with grub but i may be wrong i have more or less the same and i use the bios to switch drives
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th June 2007, 08:40 PM
Wangberg Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: PRC
Posts: 427
i have a similar setup where i have my primary master drive with XP installed and secondary master with linux installed. My bios is set to boot the secondary one which contains GRUB. in response to rmasees, it can be done. here is a copy of my grub.conf so you may be able to tweak it up a little:

Code:
# grub.conf generated by anaconda
#
# Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
# NOTICE:  You have a /boot partition.  This means that
#          all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
#          root (hd0,0)
#          kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00
#          initrd /initrd-version.img
#boot=/dev/sdb
default=0
timeout=5
splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
hiddenmenu
title Fedora (2.6.21-1.3228.fc7)
	root (hd0,0)
	kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.21-1.3228.fc7 ro root=/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00 rhgb quiet
	initrd /initrd-2.6.21-1.3228.fc7.img
title Fedora (2.6.21-1.3194.fc7)
	root (hd0,0)
	kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.21-1.3194.fc7 ro root=/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00 rhgb quiet
	initrd /initrd-2.6.21-1.3194.fc7.img
title Micro$oft Windows XP
	map (hd0) (hd1)
	map (hd1) (hd0)
	rootnoverify (hd1,0)
	chainloader +1
also, check out this link for more info on configuring GRUB:
http://www.redhat.com/docs/manuals/l...ootloader.html
__________________
focus on everything...
Get Swiftfox
registered linux user #438335
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25th June 2007, 08:53 PM
ramasees
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
wow thanks Wangberg ill give it a go myself
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25th June 2007, 09:00 PM
ramasees
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
works a treat thanks thats made my day
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25th June 2007, 09:43 PM
biruru Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 124
@Wangberg, so your system is setup to boot fedora by default? So as long as i set up to boot from the linux drive that contain the grub, then it will be fine?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25th June 2007, 11:57 PM
Wangberg Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: PRC
Posts: 427
biruru: yes...always boot linux as default, and if using one drive, always install linux second, as windows will rewrite the MBR (master boot record) and delete GRUB.

make sure your grub file has XP mapped correctly (ie hd0, hd1, hd2 etc etc.) to however your hardware is configured and your system will be able to boot both fedora and windows. that link i posted should explain it.

i keep XP on another drive, so when i do Fedora updates or whatnot, it can't hurt windows (in theory). Another precaution i take is when i reinstall or do something heavy in linux, i'll unplug the power to my XP drive, so nothing can really happen to it.
__________________
focus on everything...
Get Swiftfox
registered linux user #438335
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 25th June 2007, 11:59 PM
Wangberg Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: PRC
Posts: 427
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramasees
works a treat thanks thats made my day
right on, mate!
__________________
focus on everything...
Get Swiftfox
registered linux user #438335
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 5th July 2007, 08:29 AM
Peter_APIIT Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Malaysia
Age: 29
Posts: 260
I also facing hte same problem where i have one SATA(Windows) and another IDE(LInux) where the grub bootloader is corrupted the MBR of SATA(Windows). The windows hard disk cannot boot anymore.


I don't want to switch the devices in the BIOS.

Thanks.
__________________
Linux is the best OS in the world.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 5th July 2007, 10:50 AM
Jongi Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,952
Am i missing something here. FC7 will setup grub to have both Windows and FC7 as options when it installs. If you are installing FC7 the option will be there. It will just show Windows as Other.
__________________
Desktop (64-bit) - F12, Debian Sid, OpenSUSE 11.2, ArchLinux
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 5th July 2007, 11:52 AM
Anniedog Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 653
Not really sure if this is the right place to post but it seems relevant to my question or rather will I be correct?
I have set up sata drive with XP and FC6. Everything is fine but I wish to add an IDE hard drive from the machine below which contains my boot to FC6 and FC7 on it.(restoring this machine to just XP)Togeher with a large amount of data partitions. FC7 will not run on my ASROCK machine but I wish to keep this just in case a fix is found.
If I install this dive with the bios to boot only from the sata drive Will this be OK? I do not wish the iDE boot to get involved as FC7 will really blow things apart.
__________________
Dual Boot F14 x86 64 and Vista DeskTop
(intel dual, 2GB, Nvida 7300LE(nivida drivers))
F13 x86_64 Desktop ( AMD64, 3GB,Nvidia 7300LE)
Home Network Edimax AR7284 Wna wireless router
Wired
Above plus
1 XP Desktop and a Zyxel DMA1000
Wireless:
2 windows laptops (vista and win7),
2 desktops (win7 & XP/F16 dual boot(intelpro PCI 2915)),
1 FC16 laptop

Unwashed and some what slightly dazed.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 5th July 2007, 04:02 PM
gwon Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jongi
Am i missing something here. FC7 will setup grub to have both Windows and FC7 as options when it installs. If you are installing FC7 the option will be there. It will just show Windows as Other.
Not if, as the OP mentioned, you are using two different physical disks.

I just came in here to ask the same question. Thanks Wangberg.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 5th July 2007, 06:55 PM
Anniedog Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 653
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anniedog
Not really sure if this is the right place to post but it seems relevant to my question or rather will I be correct?
I have set up sata drive with XP and FC6. Everything is fine but I wish to add an IDE hard drive from the machine below which contains my boot to FC6 and FC7 on it.(restoring this machine to just XP)Togeher with a large amount of data partitions. FC7 will not run on my ASROCK machine but I wish to keep this just in case a fix is found.
If I install this dive with the bios to boot only from the sata drive Will this be OK? I do not wish the iDE boot to get involved as FC7 will really blow things apart.

Just posting back to say yep it worked fine after messing with bios. Seems only thing to worry about is making sure you boot to the disc containing grub. Grub seems able to sort out where all the os's are.
__________________
Dual Boot F14 x86 64 and Vista DeskTop
(intel dual, 2GB, Nvida 7300LE(nivida drivers))
F13 x86_64 Desktop ( AMD64, 3GB,Nvidia 7300LE)
Home Network Edimax AR7284 Wna wireless router
Wired
Above plus
1 XP Desktop and a Zyxel DMA1000
Wireless:
2 windows laptops (vista and win7),
2 desktops (win7 & XP/F16 dual boot(intelpro PCI 2915)),
1 FC16 laptop

Unwashed and some what slightly dazed.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 6th July 2007, 05:10 AM
stoat Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter_APIIT

I also facing hte same problem where i have one SATA(Windows) and another IDE(LInux) where the grub bootloader is corrupted the MBR of SATA(Windows). The windows hard disk cannot boot anymore.

I don't want to switch the devices in the BIOS.
Do you still need help with this? If GRUB is installed in the master boot record and booting Fedora, maybe you just need to tweak grub.conf to boot Windows. The alternative is to repair the Windows master boot record and configure the Windows boot loader to boot both systems. So, if you want to tweak grub.conf, paste the results of cat /boot/grub/grub.conf and /sbin/fdisk -l. If you would rather repair the master boot record and configure the Windows boot loader, which Windows OS is it?

Last edited by stoat; 6th July 2007 at 05:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 6th July 2007, 09:25 AM
Jongi Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,952
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwon
Not if, as the OP mentioned, you are using two different physical disks.

I just came in here to ask the same question. Thanks Wangberg.
I've installed previous versions of FC on a different physical disk to XP (XP being on hda) without problems. Does FC7 have an issue with this?
__________________
Desktop (64-bit) - F12, Debian Sid, OpenSUSE 11.2, ArchLinux
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
boot, drives, dual, fedora, separate, windows

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dual boot on separate hard drives problem blkwell Using Fedora 3 23rd February 2009 10:15 AM
how can I dual boot separate types of drives glenngds2006 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 6th April 2007 04:04 AM
Fedora 6 Installing dual boot 2 hard drives with windows xp error woms14 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 26th October 2006 02:50 PM
Dual boot w separate SATA drives newguy55 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 5 17th June 2006 08:59 PM
Dual boot using 2 separate hard drives matrixtna Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 22nd March 2006 11:07 PM


Current GMT-time: 13:51 (Tuesday, 30-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat