Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 14th June 2007, 11:19 PM
linnerd40 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
RT2500 Fedora 7 With ndiswrapper

Hello Fedora community!
Hoping for some help here. I just installed Fedora 7, and my rt2500 wireless card just will not work. I have tried every guide I can find on this forum and anywhere else online.. I can't get it to work! Not sure if its me, the card, or Fedora, but the card is working great in Ubuntu and Windows.
Ok, so here is my story:

Today I once again tried to get my wireless card working in Fedora 7. Still no success.
The Linux drivers I was using for the card just weren't working, so I decided to try using the Windows drivers through ndiswrapper. Using ndiswrapper, I successfully installed the Windows drivers for my wireless card which I got of the driver CD. To get the driver installed I issued the following command in the directory of the .inf and .sys files:

# /usr/sbin/ndiswrapper -i rt2500.inf

After that I ran

#/sbin/modprobe ndiswrapper

Just to make sure that the driver was loaded. After this I opened up the /etc/modprobe.conf file and added the new line:

alias ra0 ndiswrapper

I then proceeded with configuring the card through the Network configuration tool. The card was properly recognized as ra0. After configuring the card, I hit activate and crossed my fingers...
Well, it failed. It didn't give me the error this time saying that the card wasn't present (as it had when I use the drivers from RaLink's website and the ones from the rt2x00 project. It just wasn't able to retrieve any ip information.

Can anybody here help me out a bit? Or at least point me to a way that will work?

Thanks a million!

-linnerd40
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20th June 2007, 09:36 PM
VictorienSardou Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 628
in a command line:
what is the output from /sbin/iwconfig ra0
what is the output from /sbin/iwlist ra0 scan
what is the output from cat /etc/sysconfig/networking/devices/ifcfg-ra0
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st June 2007, 11:18 PM
linnerd40 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Here are the outputs:
iwconfig ra0:

ra0 RT2500 Wireless ESSID:"" Nickname:"localhost"
Mode:Managed Frequency=2.412 GHz Bit Rate=11 Mb/s Tx-Power:0 dBm
RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Link Quality=0/100 Signal level:-120 dBm Noise level:-79 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0


iwlist ra0 scan:

ra0 Failed to read scan data : Resource temporarily unavailable

and from ifcfg-ra0:

# Please read /usr/share/doc/initscripts-*/sysconfig.txt
# for the documentation of these parameters.
TYPE=Wireless
DEVICE=ra0
HWADDR=00:0e:2e:5c:9c:31
BOOTPROTO=dhcp
NETMASK=
DHCP_HOSTNAME=
IPADDR=
DOMAIN=
ONBOOT=yes
USERCTL=no
IPV6INIT=no
PEERDNS=yes
ESSID=stratmann_nw
CHANNEL=6
MODE=Managed
RATE=Auto

When I assign an essid with "/sbin/iwconfig ra0 essid network"
it doesn't want to "stick" or it doesn't get applied, because essid is blank the when I run iwconfig ra0.

Not sure what is going on. Thanks for you help, but my time with Fedora 7 is over (I was testing it as part of a summer plan to test a wide range of distros). Maybe I'll spend some more time it later.
Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd June 2007, 12:20 AM
spot221 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: ferndale, mi
Posts: 132
Hi,

Not sure if this is the problem however, the 2x00 module is installed by default. If you want to use ndiswrapper you may need to add that module to the blacklist inorder to get your card to work. That is what I had to do to get the older drivers (rt73) to work.
__________________
Between two evils I always pick one I never tried before - Mae West
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd June 2007, 10:01 PM
hramat Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands
Age: 37
Posts: 5
It seems that I have same problem, but with BCM4306 802.11b/g I have installed ndiswrapper from livna rep. and have loaded same driver as using in winxp, I have also blacklisted bcm43xx-mac80211, I can see al possible wireless connections in the range but cannot connect to them.

output of those tree commands
Code:
# /sbin/iwconfig wlan0
wlan0     IEEE 802.11g  ESSID:off/any  
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.462 GHz  Access Point: Not-Associated   
          Bit Rate=54 Mb/s   Tx-Power:16 dBm   
          RTS thr=2347 B   Fragment thr=2346 B   
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality:0  Signal level:0  Noise level:0
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0

# /sbin/iwlist wlan0 scan
wlan0     Scan completed :
          Cell 01 - Address: 00:50:18:47:D8:66
                    ESSID:"hramat"
                    Protocol:IEEE 802.11b
                    Mode:Managed
                    Frequency:2.462 GHz (Channel 11)
                    Quality:81/100  Signal level:-44 dBm  Noise level:-96 dBm
                    Encryption key:on
                    Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s
                              9 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s; 24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s
                              48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
                    Extra:bcn_int=100
                    Extra:atim=0

# cat /etc/sysconfig/networking/devices/ifcfg-wlan0
# Please read /usr/share/doc/initscripts-*/sysconfig.txt
# for the documentation of these parameters.
TYPE=Wireless
DEVICE=wlan0
HWADDR=00:0b:6b:4b:76:a0
BOOTPROTO=dhcp
NETMASK=
DHCP_HOSTNAME=
IPADDR=
DOMAIN=
ONBOOT=no
USERCTL=no
IPV6INIT=no
PEERDNS=yes
ESSID=hramat
CHANNEL=11
MODE=Auto
RATE=Auto
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23rd June 2007, 02:22 PM
VictorienSardou Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 628
hramat: you have mode=Auto in yout ifcfg-wlan0.
you should try mode=Managed
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23rd June 2007, 04:29 PM
hramat Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands
Age: 37
Posts: 5
Thanx for help.
So I have changed Mode to Managed but It didn't helped. I also enabled to load wireless during booting but it didn't connect also (I remember that with FC5 it worked). Can't the problem be connected with enabled 4K stack size or with blacklist 2x00 module? Why should I blacklist 2x00 module? What is its purpose?
I used ndiswrapper with that driver two weeks ago with ubuntu and it just worked without any big problem so it has to be connected with some fedora stuff running behind.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23rd June 2007, 05:27 PM
ramasees
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
hi if you want to remove rx00 and broadcom drivers you can do it by this command

su -
rm -rf /lib/modules/2.6.21-1.3228.fc7/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/mac80211/rt2x00; depmod

of course if your kernel ver is different you will need to adjust (uname -r)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 23rd June 2007, 06:05 PM
hramat Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands
Age: 37
Posts: 5
can I just that simply erase those drivers and run depmod?

Last edited by hramat; 23rd June 2007 at 06:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 23rd June 2007, 06:23 PM
hramat Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands
Age: 37
Posts: 5
nice, removing those drivers works quite nice but It didn't solve my problem. I have additional question, can I remove all of those drivers from /lib/modules/2.6.21-1.3228.fc7/kernel/drivers/net/wireless I guess I don't need them.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 23rd June 2007, 09:15 PM
ramasees
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
ok heres what i have done on my pci rt2500 on my laptop and used rutilt to connect to my network

su
rm -rf /lib/modules/2.6.21-1.3228.fc7/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/mac80211/rt2x00; depmod
wget http://kwizart.free.fr/fedora/kwizar...e-7.noarch.rpm
rpm -ivh kwizart-release-7.noarch.rpm
yum --enablerepo kwizart install RutilT
wget http://rt2x00.serialmonkey.com/rt2500-cvs-daily.tar.gz
tar -xvf rt2500-cvs-daily.tar.gz
cd rt2500*
cd Module
make
make install

then restart bear in mind this will remove any other current rtx00 drivers and broadcom installed
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12th July 2007, 08:25 AM
jmtdstoc
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
If you follow this hot-to I wrote here on Fedora Forums you will have your rt2500 card working in Fedora with Network Manager without any problems.

http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/sho...00+ndiswrapper
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fedora, ndiswrapper, rt2500

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora 11 + rt2500 + WPA riverbuoy Servers & Networking 15 11th January 2010 07:10 PM
RT2500 and Ndiswrapper jmtdstoc Guides & Solutions (Not For Questions) 3 26th July 2007 08:03 PM
Fedora 4 and MSI MP54G4 with rt2500 Dranzeraef Servers & Networking 0 31st May 2006 10:46 AM
Problem with Ralink RT2500 and Fedora Core 5 nauxe Fedora Core 5 - Dev 4 18th April 2006 06:22 PM
RT2500 Fedora core2 Willim99 Servers & Networking 0 24th October 2004 05:51 PM


Current GMT-time: 11:03 (Wednesday, 29-03-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat