Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora Resources > Guides & Solutions (No Questions)
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Guides & Solutions (No Questions) Post your guides here (No links to Blogs accepted). You can also append your comments/questions to a guide, but don't start a new thread to ask a question. Use another forum for that.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10th June 2007, 05:21 AM
leadgolem Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Littleton, CO
Age: 29
Posts: 2,857
Logitech G15 How-To

Thanks to LaPirre and Leigh123@linux on this forum we now have i386 and x86_64 F7 rpms.
32bit rpms Currently unavailable.
64bit rpms
64bit-devel rpms

Source rpms

Source rpms that can be rebuilt for either 32 or 64bit systems. To rebuild an rpm, use "rpmbuild --rebuild nameoftargetrpm.src.rpm", from the command line in the same folder as the source rpm.

1. Uncompress the .tar.bz2 archive.
2. Open a terminal. In gnome that's the applications/system tools/terminal menu item.
3. Change to the folder with the rpms in it. Something like
Code:
cd Desktop/g15$HOSTTYPE
4. Become root.
Code:
su
5. Use yum to install the rpms.
Code:
yum localinstall *.rpm
6. Configure the g15 service.
Code:
/sbin/chkconfig --add g15daemon
7. Start the g15 service.
Code:
/sbin/service g15daemon start
That's it. Your g15's lcd should come online immediately.

The following instructions present another much more difficult method for installing g15tools. They have been left for reference purposes only.

I am by no means an expert, but this is how I got my logitech g15 lcd and additional keys working. This how-to created for fedora 7, though it may work on earlier distributions. There are undoubtedly better ways to do this, I simply haven't found them yet. Suggestions and comments welcome.

Before getting started, I feel I should comment that this is not exactly a simple process. As such, if you are unclear on what step to take next, post here first. Doing these steps out of order does not work. I will update this original post as this how to is refined. If you recieve any error messages, at any point, STOP and post the error here.

Here's a link to the G15tools homepage.

1. Download the files you will need.
You will need a total of five files and two devel rpms.

libg15-1.2.2.tar.bz2
libg15render-1.2.tar.bz2
g15daemon-1.2.7.tar.bz2
My G15 Archive

Once you have downloaded these files, open a terminal and
Code:
su
Enter your root password.
Note: Using su instead of su - allows $USERNAME to remain intact. That will be important in a few minutes.
Then we install the rpms.
Code:
yum clean all
yum -y install libusb-devel libdaemon-devel
Note: There is a bug in yum that can cause strange errors, running yum clean all beforehand usually prevents this.
Create a folder in your home directory called "g15stuff" and place the archives you just downloaded in it.
2. Uncompress the archives.
Now, back in our terminal.
Code:
cd g15stuff
tar -jxpvf libg15-1.2.2.tar.bz2
tar -jxpvf libg15render-1.2.tar.bz2
tar -jxpvf g15daemon-1.2.7.tar.bz2
tar -jxpvf g15.tar.bz2
Note: If someone knows how to do this as one command please let me know.
Note: Don't worry about permissions at this point, we will fix them later.

3. Now we start compiling.
When you are running these commands, don't just copy paste the whole block into your terminal. Run each command, and let it return to a command prompt before continuing. Back to the terminal.
Code:
cd libg15-1.2.2
./configure
make
make install
cd ../libg15render-1.2
./configure
make
make install
cd ../g15daemon-1.2.7
./configure
make
make install
We have now compiled and installed everything we need to run our logitech g15 keyboard.
4. Now we need to enable it, and set it up so the g15daemon autostarts.
First we are going to make it so we can run the g15 script I wrote as a command.
Code:
mv /home/$USERNAME/g15stuff/g15 /
Make sure you get that entire line. Then we make sure the permissions are set so we can actually execute the script.
Code:
chmod 744 /g15/g15
Note: We are not allowing anyone but root to execute this file, since you must have root permissions to write to the system log files for g15daemon.
My g15 script is now in the right place and can be execute. Now we need to tell the system to run it on startup each time. We are going to open a file that is automatically run as root on startup, and edit it to launch mine.
Code:
gedit /etc/rc.local
Note: You can substitute your favorite text editor for gedit
What we want to do, is add these lines to the end of the file.
Code:
/g15/g15
exit
If you are unsure how yours should look when you are done, here's mine. So you can compare.
Code:
#!/bin/sh
#
# This script will be executed *after* all the other init scripts.
# You can put your own initialization stuff in here if you don't
# want to do the full Sys V style init stuff.

/g15/g15
exit
Save the file when you are finished making the changes, and close the text editor.
Note: If you want to test your keyboards functionality you can do so by running /g15/g15 at this point.
Your logitech g15 keyboard will now start when the system boots.
Note: You should be able to tell if your keyboard is working correctly immediately after start up. The lcd on the keyboard will display the current time.

5. Cleaning up.
At the moment we have a bunch of files in our home folder that we don't own. That means we won't be able to do anything with them. Let's fix that.
Code:
chown -R $USERNAME /home/$USERNAME/g15stuff
All the files are now ours again. I would suggest getting rid of all the archive files we downloaded, but keeping the folders and all the files in them. They contain useful readmes, as well as files you will need if you ever need to uninstall your g15 keyboard driver/utilities.
Note: Upon rebooting, you may be asked if you want to import the profile for your g15. If the message pops up, just accept it. I am unsure if this is a result of the script I wrote to start the g15, or of one of the other steps I took trying to get it working.

6. Do "The Happy Dance"
Your Logitech G15 keyboard is now totally setup! All the G keys are recognized by the system as unique input, and your lcd screen displays something other the "Logitech." Share, and enjoy!
__________________
S.C.O.U.R.G.E. Heroes of lesser renown, contributor.

Last edited by leadgolem; 7th April 2008 at 05:10 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20th June 2007, 08:20 AM
leadgolem Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Littleton, CO
Age: 29
Posts: 2,857
The instructions for compiling do not work for the x86_64 version of fedora. The 64bit rpms at the top of the how-to function very well.
__________________
S.C.O.U.R.G.E. Heroes of lesser renown, contributor.

Last edited by leadgolem; 5th July 2007 at 09:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th August 2007, 11:54 PM
scorpio54 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: North Liberty, Iowa
Posts: 32
Steps 7 & 8 didn't work for me. Was hopeful I might be able to get the volume control on keyboard to work. Any thoughts as to why it failed?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st October 2007, 03:14 AM
leadgolem Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Littleton, CO
Age: 29
Posts: 2,857
Oh, my bad. I forgot I added /sbin to my regular users $PATH. Add /sbin/ in front of the commands. Like this.
Code:
/sbin/chkconfig --add g15daemon
/sbin/service g15daemon start
I will fix the above guide as well.

Just to be clear. The driver allows the use of the lcd screen, and let's the system see the buttons. It does not assign the buttons functions. You need to go into your system/preferences/personal/keyboard shortcuts menu item and setup the buttons.

Please excuse the lateness of my reply.
__________________
S.C.O.U.R.G.E. Heroes of lesser renown, contributor.

Last edited by leadgolem; 1st October 2007 at 03:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10th October 2007, 02:22 AM
Zophar Shinta Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
Has anyone tried this on the G11 keyboard?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10th October 2007, 11:01 AM
leadgolem Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Littleton, CO
Age: 29
Posts: 2,857
The g11 looks very similar, minus the lcd. Why don't you give it a try and let us know?
__________________
S.C.O.U.R.G.E. Heroes of lesser renown, contributor.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 9th November 2007, 05:18 PM
Zero-Override Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 741
worked like a charm!!!

thanks for all the work and effort

not quite sure how to change the lcd to anything besides the clock though but i'll see about figuring that out (any help would of course be greatly apreciated )
__________________
LINUX NUMBER 389596
machine number 290131
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 1st December 2007, 12:28 AM
ProbablyX Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 48
I got this working too, great work!

But can I do anything else than show the time on my LCD? Like use the buttons on the keyboard?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 1st December 2007, 01:02 AM
leadgolem Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Littleton, CO
Age: 29
Posts: 2,857
The buttons should be recognized by the system now. They just aren't setup to do anything. Go to system/preferences/personal/keyboard shortcuts. Assign them to something there.
__________________
S.C.O.U.R.G.E. Heroes of lesser renown, contributor.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 1st December 2007, 03:05 PM
ProbablyX Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 48
Thanks, but that's the GNOME way right?

In KDE, I go to KControl -> Region and Accessibility -> Input Actions

Then when I create a new action, and try to set a trigger by pressing a "G15 button" nothing happens (works for other buttons like A-Z/1-0 etc though so theres nothing wrong with KControl...)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 1st December 2007, 11:24 PM
leadgolem Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Littleton, CO
Age: 29
Posts: 2,857
Don't know what to tell you. They work perfectly fine in my gnome. You could try rebuilding the .src rpm and see if that fixes it... I did actually need to do that to get the buttons working for Fedora 8.
__________________
S.C.O.U.R.G.E. Heroes of lesser renown, contributor.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2nd December 2007, 02:58 PM
ProbablyX Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 48
OK guys.

If youre using KDE:
1. Open the KMenu, select Run and type in "kcontrol". (Or open the KDE Control Panel via the menu).
2. Click the + to the right of "Region and Accessibility Tools" then navigate to "Keyboard Layout"
3. Click "Activate keyboard layouts"
4. Select Keyboard model: Logitech G15 extra keys via G15daemon
4a. If youre not using an American keyboard (like me) locate your country and language in the list to your left, select it and click "Add". Then select American on the right and click "Remove".
5. "Apply"

---

7. Now select "Input Actions" (2nd item under Region and Access.)
8. "New Group", I'm calling mine G15
9. Select G15 and click "New Action"
10. Click your new action and click the tab "Trigger".
11. Click New > Trigger by Shortcut
12. Click the "button" icon, now press any G15 key. I pressed the 'forward' key on mine and KDE detected "XF86AudioNext"
13. Click OK and "Trigger by shortcut XF86AudioNext" has been added to the Trigger list.
14. Select actions and add an action!

15. Repeat from 9 to add more actions
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 31st December 2007, 08:07 PM
reeko Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
hello,

i use fedora 8 64-bit and just got me the G15 rev2.

i followed the tutorial step by step with the 64bit rpms but when i try to start g15daemon with

Code:
/sbin/service g15daemon start
i always get

Code:
Starting G15daemon
An Error Occurred - 2 : ( Unable to initialise keyboard ) received
i can see "g15daemon" under services and i can restart it successfully, but it won't help.

any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 1st January 2008, 01:55 AM
leadgolem Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Littleton, CO
Age: 29
Posts: 2,857
Sorry, haven't updated this in a while. You need to rebuild the .src.rpms for fedora 8 x86_64.

Pull the g15 rpms, rebuild the source rpms and install the rebuild g15 rpms.
__________________
S.C.O.U.R.G.E. Heroes of lesser renown, contributor.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 7th February 2008, 11:37 PM
Zero-Override Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 741
question:

how did you manage to set your volume thingy to anything? when i try to insert it as a key it acts like i pressed tab or something like that it just moves away from the control

i'm working in KDE if that matters


**edit**

little update, i think my xorg.conf is sort of causing it, it is set to:

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

any clues?


**edit2**
this is the content of my /dev/input/by-id/

usb-Logitech_Logitech_Gaming_Keyboard-event-kbd
usb-Logitech_USB_RECEIVER-event-mouse
usb-Logitech_USB_RECEIVER-mouse

when i cat the usb-Logitech_Logitech_Gaming_Keyboard-event-kbd it doesn't respond at all when i press a G-key or a mediakey

can anybody help me figure this out? xD
__________________
LINUX NUMBER 389596
machine number 290131

Last edited by Zero-Override; 8th February 2008 at 01:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
g15, howto, logitech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Logitech MX Air BJM Hardware & Laptops 1 2nd March 2009 03:48 PM
Microsoft to Buy Logitech? Demz Wibble 31 12th January 2008 03:28 PM
Logitech mx1000 Santino Hardware & Laptops 3 21st September 2007 11:35 PM
Logitech MX in Linux d3viant Hardware & Laptops 0 11th October 2006 10:29 PM
Web Cam - Logitech Bram Hardware & Laptops 9 28th September 2004 11:43 AM


Current GMT-time: 14:46 (Tuesday, 29-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat