Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 6th October 2005, 06:15 AM
cyb3rkn1ght Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Age: 27
Posts: 16
Logitech G15 Gaming Keyboard

Any one know if linux can be made to take advantage of this keyboard?

http://www.dvhardware.net/article6341.html

It has programmable macros, and an LCD screen. I would love to get one of these working. The LCD could display the hostname, uptime, messages, would be nice to have it work.

Last edited by cyb3rkn1ght; 6th October 2005 at 06:21 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28th November 2006, 05:48 AM
PseudoNym Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Secret City
Posts: 33
I own one of these keyboards ... haven't made any real effort yet to get all the lcd and xtra keys working on it yet but if you have a G15 also you might want to check out G15Tools for linux ... looks like it is possible to get everything working with a little work.
__________________
As always ... have a day :|

Nym

Lunar Outpost
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th May 2007, 09:43 PM
leadgolem Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Littleton, CO
Age: 30
Posts: 2,857
Has anyone actually done this?

I just tried and am frankly, very confused.
__________________
S.C.O.U.R.G.E. Heroes of lesser renown, contributor.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd June 2007, 12:57 AM
sixtyniner Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
i've repeatedly tried to get G15Ttools working for my keyboard, and I've failed every time with various (cryptic) error messages. But maybe somebody knows how to get it working.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th June 2007, 07:02 PM
leadgolem Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Littleton, CO
Age: 30
Posts: 2,857
That would be great. In case anybody is interested, the keys I programmed on mine from the official logitech software still work in linux. That would seem to indicate some sort of internal memory.
__________________
S.C.O.U.R.G.E. Heroes of lesser renown, contributor.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 8th June 2007, 04:17 AM
leadgolem Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Littleton, CO
Age: 30
Posts: 2,857
Even without messing with the logitech specific stuff I was able to set up volume control, next, previos, play/pause, and stop buttons. You can do this through system/preferences/personal/keyboard shortcuts.
__________________
S.C.O.U.R.G.E. Heroes of lesser renown, contributor.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 8th June 2007, 06:36 AM
sixtyniner Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
so you're saying that by setting up one of the G keys with a command in the logitech keyboard config program or whatever, you were then able to use those recorded commands in linux? if so, that's promising, and i'll definitely have to try it. Maybe the logitech program can be emulated in wine? I'm sure that's far-fetched but I'll try that also...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 8th June 2007, 06:41 AM
sixtyniner Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
um yeah.... wine doesn't help. bummer.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 8th June 2007, 07:58 AM
leadgolem Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Littleton, CO
Age: 30
Posts: 2,857
Quote:
Originally Posted by sixtyniner
so you're saying that by setting up one of the G keys with a command in the logitech keyboard config program or whatever, you were then able to use those recorded commands in linux? if so, that's promising, and i'll definitely have to try it. Maybe the logitech program can be emulated in wine? I'm sure that's far-fetched but I'll try that also...
That is exactly what I'm saying, though I had set the keys up some time ago in winblows. My more recent post was to point out that the media keys, volume play/pause etc seem to be recognized by fedora as unique inputs. For that reason you can assign them to there relevant functions in system/preferences/personal/keyboard shortcuts. At least that's where it is in gnome.

The system does pick up the pressing of an unassigned g key, but not as a unique key. They show up as f keys. I.E. G1=F1 etc... I'm not sure what they would do with G13-G18. Mine are already programmed.
__________________
S.C.O.U.R.G.E. Heroes of lesser renown, contributor.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
g15, gaming, keyboard, logitech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Logitech Access keyboard udovdh Hardware & Laptops 2 26th December 2007 03:10 PM
Logitech keyboard question Marvin Martian Hardware & Laptops 0 3rd March 2007 03:20 AM
Logitech wireless MM keyboard u-noneinc-s Using Fedora 0 4th January 2007 06:10 PM


Current GMT-time: 17:14 (Friday, 31-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Palin Travel Photos - Treviso Photos - Kapit Photos on Instagram