Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 6th June 2007, 06:07 AM
strange err Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
problem install java runtime environment

Hi,

I'm using Fedora Core 6 on my laptop, still relatively new at it. I followed the instructions here here
but still no luck; I tried with the latest version (6u1) and that didn't work, so i tried again with the version they describe (5u9). I think the problem may be related to this command:

Quote:
ln -s /opt/jre1.5.0_xx/plugin/i386/ns7/libjavaplugin_oji.so /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/libjavaplugin_oji.so

because when I try to do that, I get a message that says "File exists."

Anyone got any ideas? Thanks!

~mark
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 6th June 2007, 06:14 AM
scotta3234 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 1,280
It's those xx's messing you up.... the correct command should read something like this, depending on which version you're trying to install of course.:
Code:
ln -s /opt/jre1.5.0_12/plugin/i386/ns7/libjavaplugin_oji.so /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/libjavaplugin_oji.so
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 6th June 2007, 06:30 AM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
you need to force if the link already exsists

ln -sf /opt/jre1.5.0_xx/plugin/i386/ns7/libjavaplugin_oji.so /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/libjavaplugin_oji.so

And as scott mentioned dont forget to correct the version ( /jre1.5.0_xx )
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 6th June 2007, 01:48 PM
v00d00 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 138
You need to install compat-libstdc++33 to get it running.
__________________
To Help Cure Diseases By Utilising Idle Cpus, Click Below:
Folding@Home

Registered Linux User #314489
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 6th June 2007, 04:20 PM
strange err Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by leigh123@linux
you need to force if the link already exsists

ln -sf /opt/jre1.5.0_xx/plugin/i386/ns7/libjavaplugin_oji.so /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/libjavaplugin_oji.so

And as scott mentioned dont forget to correct the version ( /jre1.5.0_xx )
Well that took care of the "file exists" problem, but I still have no JRE! (BTW I had the correct version number when I actually did the command on my computer, I just cut and pasted from the website and forgot to change it here on this forum.)

~mark
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 6th June 2007, 04:38 PM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Hello:
If you have not already done so, you may also have to create the symlink for your /usr/lib/firefox.X..x/plugins
as well
Just substitute /mozilla/ with your current version of firefox

Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 6th June 2007, 07:55 PM
strange err Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
Thanks, that did it!

~mark
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 6th June 2007, 08:17 PM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Hello:
Glad you got it sorted out.

Some plugins, and I don't know for sure which ones, need to be in both the /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins and /usr/lib/firefox.XX/plugins directory to work correctly with firefox.
Usually they are 3rd party plugins i.e, adobe acrobat, java, flash etc.

Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
environment, install, java, problem, runtime

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Java Runtime environment Esqulax Using Fedora 3 10th April 2009 08:03 PM
Java runtime environment pepribal Using Fedora 4 22nd March 2007 09:53 PM
problem with Java Runtime Environment (JRE) patrinos06 Using Fedora 4 29th October 2006 10:41 PM
java runtime environment cannot run in the firefox 1.5 after install freshmeat Using Fedora 1 9th January 2006 04:57 PM


Current GMT-time: 12:28 (Thursday, 02-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat