Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 8th October 2006, 09:08 PM
Ronin2007 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 21
Gnome Workspaces

I just realized how useful the Gnome workspaces can be. Is there a keyboard shortcut to switch between workspaces?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 8th October 2006, 09:14 PM
Dan Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 23,279
Don't know about keyboard shortcuts, but if you park the mouse over the changer on the panel, and roll the mouse wheel, you can rocket through the selections!

Dan
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 8th October 2006, 09:16 PM
lazlow Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,172
ctrl + alt + arrow (left or right)

Lazlow
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th October 2006, 09:17 PM
Ronin2007 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 21
It's ok. I got it. You have to press Ctrl+ALT+Right Arrow or Ctrl+Alt+Left Arrow.
Sometimes whatever app Im running is on full screen and can't access the gnome workspaces with my mouse. That's why I was wondering if there were keyboard shortcuts.

Thanks anyways.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th October 2006, 09:19 PM
Ronin2007 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 21
Thanks lazlow.

Gee, I think we replied almost at the same time. Interesting.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 8th October 2006, 09:25 PM
lazlow Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,172
Ronin

It happens all the time. If sombody beats you to the punch in replying, it is helpful if you go back and edit your post for clarification. Do Not remove whatever you posted. It can really make things confusing.

Lazlow

Edit: Beat me to it again (an example)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 8th October 2006, 09:35 PM
Dan Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 23,279
Quote:
Sometimes whatever app Im running is on full screen and can't access the gnome workspaces with my mouse. That's why I was wondering if there were keyboard shortcuts.
Set "autohide" and "always on top" paramaters for the panel you are using to display your work spaces. Then all you have to do is mouse-bump the panel edge to bring it back on-screen. But Lazlow has you fixed right up! Enjoy!

Dan
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 8th October 2006, 11:18 PM
pete_1967 Online
Clueless in a Cuckooland
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Here now, elsewhere tomorrow.
Posts: 4,328
You can also do shift+alt+ctrl to move currently active window to another virtual desktop. Quick and handy way to move stuff out of the way. Forgot: +arrow left/ right

Last edited by pete_1967; 8th October 2006 at 11:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 8th October 2006, 11:33 PM
Ronin2007 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 21
Hey, Pete.

That's really cool. Now I got two ways to play with the workspaces. Geesh, ever since I discovered the usefulness of the gnome workspaces, I been able to get things done faster. Don't have to wait for an application to load anymore.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 8th October 2006, 11:42 PM
pete_1967 Online
Clueless in a Cuckooland
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Here now, elsewhere tomorrow.
Posts: 4,328
They ain't exactly Gnome specific, and you can alter the number of them at will, WindowMaker can even create new ones on the fly if you want it to by just scrolling your mousewheel You also have 6 virtual terminals (by default), ctrl+alr+f1-f6, ctrl+alt+f7 returns to x-windows.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gnome, workspaces

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
kernel update-loose Gnome extra workspaces Loki1950 Using Fedora 1 27th May 2009 01:20 AM
Lost GNOME workspaces cafetono Using Fedora 1 16th October 2008 09:58 PM
Gnome terminal on all workspaces kama Using Fedora 2 15th February 2007 12:05 PM
Problem with toolbars and workspaces on Gnome-FC5 Ainastros Using Fedora 1 7th August 2006 03:45 PM


Current GMT-time: 00:38 (Saturday, 25-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Auckland Travel Photos on Instagram - Botou - Tirunelveli