Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 16th September 2012, 05:30 AM
fedorax17 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: uk
Posts: 26
linuxfirefox
eclipse

hi .. im talking to much her i know

but am concern any try to install eclipse in fedora 17 in treminal just yum install eclipse

is any one interface problems with that ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16th September 2012, 06:41 AM
leosubhadeep Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: India
Posts: 9
It's better to download the eclipse tarball and manually decompressing it using command like 'rpm -ivh..' or ark.

Sent from my GT-S5830
__________________
Bites of bits & bytes
------------------------------
Subhadeep
Linux Counter Registered user #553793
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16th September 2012, 07:10 AM
fedorax17 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: uk
Posts: 26
linuxfirefox
Re: eclipse

Quote:
Originally Posted by leosubhadeep View Post
It's better to download the eclipse tarball and manually decompressing it using command like 'rpm -ivh..' or ark.

Sent from my GT-S5830
i have finsh download it but the c/c++ class or project dont show only java !

i hate java , its nothing do u know what to do ? now
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16th September 2012, 07:31 AM
ocratato Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Canberra
Posts: 1,552
linuxfirefox
Re: eclipse

Quote:
Originally Posted by fedorax17 View Post
hi .. im talking to much her i know

but am concern any try to install eclipse in fedora 17 in treminal just yum install eclipse

is any one interface problems with that ?
I usually just use the "Add/Remove Software" tool - type in "eclipse" in the search panel and select the bits I want when the list eventually comes up.

However, I note that you are also installing g++. Do not expect Eclipse to be very helpful for building C++ programs - its great if you know what you are doing, but if you are still trying to work out what a.out is, its going to be more of a hindrance than a help.

First get to understand g++ and what its myriad of options are about with some very small programs.

Then move on to using shell scripts to automate a few things.

Then move to using make files. You REALLY need to understand them before tackling any large projects.

Then you can try out Eclipse and autotools with a solid understanding of what is going on.

If you just try to jump into the deep end and expect Eclipse to be a life jacket, you are likely to drown

---------- Post added at 04:31 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:24 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by fedorax17 View Post
i have finsh download it but the c/c++ class or project dont show only java !

i hate java , its nothing do u know what to do ? now
You need the Eclipse CDT components to do C/C++ work. You might be able to install them from within Eclipse - go to Help > Install New Software. Then select --All Available sites--, Then select Linux Tools and select the CDT options.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd September 2012, 10:08 PM
ShivaS Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Age: 32
Posts: 256
linuxfirefox
Re: eclipse

Not to open a new topic regarding eclipse ...
I want to install Eclipse on my F16 laptop for PHP and Adroid development. So far, there are 2 ways of doing it:
1. install Eclipse from Fedora repos (comes with a lot of packages (ant-*, java-*, tomcat-*, etc, etc) and I'm not sure what I need to install (eclipse-platform + eclipse-phpeclipse or just eclipse-phpeclipse)
2. Install Sun's JRE/JDK and download Eclipse from it's official site which means no automatic update and probably working issues when updating my F16 box.

Which should be the best approach here?

L.E. after reading more about this...
Seems like either way I need Sun's JRE/JDK for best performance. If I'm installing Eclipse from Fedora repos then I need to correctly configure it's default plug-in directory, which for Fedora 16 is http://download.eclipse.org/releases/indigo/ (F16 ships with Eclipse 3.7 Indigo).
__________________
Joy, frustration, excitement, madness, aha's, headaches ... codito ergo sum!

You can't have everything ....Where would you put it?
We, humans, are used with loops, not leaps...

Last edited by ShivaS; 22nd September 2012 at 11:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25th September 2012, 04:59 PM
cyborg Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Brackley, England
Age: 23
Posts: 191
linuxfirefox
Re: eclipse

Just to note, not sure if you care or not, but if you download one of the Eclipse packages from their site, you don't need to install it, it's all self contained. You do need JRE / JDK setup correctly though. If you have issues with that, make sure you point the config.ini to the install of Java.
__________________
[joe@host]
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 30th September 2012, 08:12 AM
ShivaS Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Age: 32
Posts: 256
linuxfirefox
Re: eclipse

I finally decided to install eclipse from its official site because the Fedora packages for Eclipse still have issues when updating one or more (mostly there are conflicts between updated Eclipse SDK and plugin packages)
__________________
Joy, frustration, excitement, madness, aha's, headaches ... codito ergo sum!

You can't have everything ....Where would you put it?
We, humans, are used with loops, not leaps...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 31st October 2012, 03:47 PM
vedant1811 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: kolkata, india
Posts: 1
linuxchrome
Re: eclipse

Quote:
Originally Posted by leosubhadeep View Post
It's better to download the eclipse tarball and manually decompressing it using command like 'rpm -ivh..' or ark.

Sent from my GT-S5830
I have extracted the above archive. Now how shall I use the Eclipse IDE?
Additional Info: I have just started using fedora 17. Earlier I have been using windows 7
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 31st October 2012, 04:37 PM
errorxp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 371
windows_7firefox
Re: eclipse

You run it with ./eclipse
__________________
these command lines are like casino slot machines, every time I input commands NOTHING HAPPENS
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eclipse

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eclipse/CDT help rlbond86 Using Fedora 0 5th July 2008 11:22 PM
Eclipse pppswing Using Fedora 1 2nd June 2008 04:38 AM
Eclipse Platform crashes! "org.eclipse.ui.ide.workbench" could not be found wangxiaohu Using Fedora 1 16th June 2005 11:12 AM


Current GMT-time: 06:41 (Tuesday, 29-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat