Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 20th August 2012, 12:37 AM
blaplante Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4
linuxfirefox
Scanner not recognized in Simple Scan

I have an HP L7680 Officejet Pro All-In-One. The printer is recognized on the network without difficulty. The scanner on the other hand is not recognized. Simple Scan under preferences just sees my web cam and that is all. The L7680 is on and I have rebooted a couple times without luck for it to be recognized. Any help appreciated!!!

Thanks in advance,
Brian
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20th August 2012, 12:52 AM
nonamedotc Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: /
Posts: 4,259
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Scanner not recognized in Simple Scan

It might be a stupid question - nevertheless - have you installed HP imaging drivers? If not, try installing hplip from te repository. That might be of some help. Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20th August 2012, 03:24 AM
smr54 Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5,968
linuxchrome
Re: Scanner not recognized in Simple Scan

Also, if it isn't installed, after installing hplip, be sure that you have libsane-hpaio installed. For awhile at least, it wasn't pulled in as dependency, and the scanning part of Fedora's hplip wouldn't work without it. (Might not have just been Fedora, but I think Fedora was the only one where I was using the distribution's package as opposed to the source tarball from hplip).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st August 2012, 04:36 PM
blaplante Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4
linuxfirefox
Re: Scanner not recognized in Simple Scan

Hi again,

I tried all the suggestions here yesterday and at least the L7680 showed under preferences even though it could not connect. Now here is one for you, today the L7680 is missing in preferences and just the webcam is showing just like when I started. I guess there is a gremlin in my PC! Any ideas out there or am I just going to have to setting for no scanner.

Thank you,
Brian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st August 2012, 06:26 PM
smr54 Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5,968
linuxfirefox
Re: Scanner not recognized in Simple Scan

I would try removing it, then reinstalling with command line, using hp-setup -i <printer_address> and see if you have better luck. If that doesn't work, I'd probably try with an Ubuntu or other liveCD to see if it's a Linux or Fedora issue.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24th December 2012, 08:48 PM
teancum144 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Camas, WA USA
Posts: 103
linuxchrome
Re: Scanner not recognized in Simple Scan

I had a similar problem simple scan couldn't find my HP Officejet Pro 8500 network printer/scanner, but only saw my locally attached USB webcam. I installed hplip-gui and it didn't recognize my printer either. However, in the hplip-gui application, I was able to manually add it via it's IP address (then it recognized it). Once hplip-gui recognized my network printer/scanner, simple scan also recognized it. Good luck!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26th July 2015, 04:13 AM
teancum144 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Camas, WA USA
Posts: 103
linuxchrome
Re: Scanner not recognized in Simple Scan

I installed the hplip-gui package, but I cannot figure out how to open it in Fedora 20. It does not show up in a "Activities" search in Gnome. Please help.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26th July 2015, 04:47 AM
hieronymous Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: auckland
Posts: 103
The hplip - gui package is labelled HP Device Manager.
I use the scanner package xsane and have done so reliably through many versions of Fedora (currently f22).
If it works for you, and you have Gimp installed, there is a gimp-xsane plugin you can use.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26th July 2015, 06:40 AM
rbrick49 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Thailand
Age: 66
Posts: 197
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Scanner not recognized in Simple Scan

Do you have sane-backends-drivers-scanners installed and sane-backends
__________________
asrock extreme4 motherboard,intel i7 4770 cpu,dell 29 inch ultrawide monitor,asus xonar d2x sound card,32g ram,fedora 21workstation,sabayon,fedora 21 xfce spin,fedora 21 kde spin

Last edited by rbrick49; 26th July 2015 at 07:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 27th July 2015, 03:21 PM
teancum144 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Camas, WA USA
Posts: 103
windows_7chrome
Re: Scanner not recognized in Simple Scan

The way I got the scanner in my HP Office Jet 8500 Pro to be recognized by Simple Scan is as follows:
  • Installing the hplip - gui package
  • Opening HP Device Manager
  • Adding the network printer by IP address
Then, Simple Scan recognized the HP Office Jet 8500 Pro scanner.

Thanks to those in this thread who provided guidance.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 27th July 2015, 06:24 PM
Finalzone Online
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 2,564
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Scanner not recognized in Simple Scan

The issue is basically a bug with hplip. I posted another suggestion without using the gui package. Here is an extract
Code:
Where hp:/net/ is the protocol replacing dnssd://, zc=hostname is the name of hostmane for the all-in-one printer sometime subsituted by ip=ipaddress

For example, the uri of Photosmart eStation C510 is 

    hp:/net/Photosmart_eStn_C510_series?zc=HPFFBBC9

    hp:/Photosmart_eStn_C510_series?ip=192.168.1.64
__________________
Desktop CPU: AMD Phenom II(tm) X4 Processor 940 AM2+ - Memory: 8GB DDR2-RAM - GPU: Nvidia Geforce GTX 460 v2 - OS: Fedora 22 Workstation x86-64 and Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Laptop Sony VAIO N250E - OS: Fedora 22 Design Suite i386 Donated upon request
Laptop ASUS X550ZE - APU: AMD Quad Core A10 7400P + Dual Radeon R5 230 - Memory: 8GB DDR3-RAM - OS: Fedora 22 Design Suite x86-64
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
recognized, scan, scanner, simple

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] What Scanners are Supported by Simple Scan? JonBL Using Fedora 6 11th May 2012 02:03 AM
simple scan pdf problem geolab F16 Development 4 26th October 2011 04:02 PM
Scanner light goes off after each scan Volans Using Fedora 3 3rd May 2011 01:03 AM
Simple-scan not updated in F13 phm Hardware & Laptops 2 26th March 2011 08:48 PM
Fedora 13 - Simple Scan dalponis Hardware & Laptops 0 11th October 2010 06:19 PM


Current GMT-time: 05:50 (Friday, 04-09-2015)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat