Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #2446  
Old 5th August 2012, 08:38 PM
surmabhopali Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: India
Age: 28
Posts: 95
linuxubuntufirefox
Re: What distro are you trying right now?

ubuntu...with gnome 3.4 and unity .....
Reply With Quote
  #2447  
Old 7th August 2012, 11:31 AM
Velociraptor Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tasmania
Posts: 23
windows_xp_2003firefox
Re: What distro are you trying right now?

After a long hiatus, i have returned. I use fedora and have since fedora 6.
I want to create a fedora based rescue usb stick that can run a windows anti-virus program eg macFee.
Putting fedora on a usb stick is well documented but, would any of you know if wine would run a windows anti-virus program?
This way, i could rid windows machines of viruses which, i encounter 90% of the time when trying to fix others PC's.
Any information forthcoming would greatly be appreciated and acknowledged.
__________________
We all wish to to be known for what we did in life but, i think it's how we lived that defines us.
Reply With Quote
  #2448  
Old 7th August 2012, 02:38 PM
Golf4Fun Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 120
linuxfirefox
Re: What distro are you trying right now?

You can run several Antivirus programs natively in Linux and scan the Windows systems.

http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/free-li...irus-programs/
__________________
Now running Fedora 17 64bit
64 bit works great!


Reply With Quote
  #2449  
Old 8th August 2012, 02:09 AM
Velociraptor Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tasmania
Posts: 23
windows_xp_2003firefox
Smile Re: What distro are you trying right now?

Many thanks Golf4Fun, The link you kindly provided gave me something to go on but, after reading the article on free anti-virus programs on offer - i much prefer to use my paid version. They just seem more robust.
I'm set on using fedora on a stick because, it is so easy to use on other people's machines.I'm going to try wine and use macfee on the stick but, i'm not sure on how the updates will go.Again thankyou
__________________
We all wish to to be known for what we did in life but, i think it's how we lived that defines us.
Reply With Quote
  #2450  
Old 8th August 2012, 03:22 PM
Dan Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 23,201
linuxfirefox
Re: What distro are you trying right now?

Hmmm.

Has anyone tried Vector Linux 7.0 yet?
Reply With Quote
  #2451  
Old 8th August 2012, 03:31 PM
nonamedotc Offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3,704
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: What distro are you trying right now?

Yup! I think I tried it when it was released - few months ago. It was quite nice - but I remember thinking why the boot was so slooow (in the default install).

I have to see if I still have the virtual hard disk with the install somewhere!

---------- Post added at 09:31 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:29 AM ----------

No wait! It was not a VM. I installed it directly on the hardware and it was, for some reason, slower to boot than everything else I have tried .... Once booted, it was a very responsive system though.
Reply With Quote
  #2452  
Old 8th August 2012, 03:34 PM
distributer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 109
windows_7firefox
Re: What distro are you trying right now?

Fedora
I like Gnome and had good experiences on my notebook with F16 and upgrade to F17 no problems. So I installed it onto my laptop (bigtop) last weekend to see how it goes. It needs to be reliable for ~1 year for my next courses and all the software I need is available as rpm so its best fit I would say...
Reply With Quote
  #2453  
Old 8th August 2012, 03:41 PM
Dan Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 23,201
linuxfirefox
Re: What distro are you trying right now?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nonamedotc View Post
Yup! I think I tried it when it was released - few months ago. It was quite nice - but I remember thinking why the boot was so slooow (in the default install).

I have to see if I still have the virtual hard disk with the install somewhere!

---------- Post added at 09:31 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:29 AM ----------

No wait! It was not a VM. I installed it directly on the hardware and it was, for some reason, slower to boot than everything else I have tried .... Once booted, it was a very responsive system though.
Did you use the 32 bit or the 64 bit version?
Reply With Quote
  #2454  
Old 8th August 2012, 03:59 PM
nonamedotc Offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3,704
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: What distro are you trying right now?

I think I used the 32-bit. I don't remember why though since I usually download only 64-bit ....
Reply With Quote
  #2455  
Old 16th August 2012, 11:25 PM
ElderSnake Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 810
linuxchrome
Re: What distro are you trying right now?

Sabayon 9 XFCE edition.

Not bad, not bad at all. Performs nicely and comes with everything, even fglrx (trying it on my netbook so I have an AMD Fusion) out of the box which surprised me a bit but hey it works fine.

A nice touch I find is the package manager providing notices about important package changes or bugs directly from the maintainers. I also like how casual and laid back they are, but if you don't like seeing swear words show up in your operating system maybe it wouldn't be for you (i.e, "Hey guys, as you know s*it happens sometimes so unfortunately x package affects y..." etc).

It's pretty well put together anyhow, so far it seems to provide all the packages that Arch can provide me on the same machine but with mainly weekly updates instead of daily, which is not a bad thing on a portable machine where I just don't bother to update as much. Yet the software is still up to date.
__________________
OS': Arch Linux (Xfce + Kwin) - Debian Testing (Xfce) - Fedora 20 - now Windows-free thanks Valve!
Reply With Quote
  #2456  
Old 17th August 2012, 02:36 AM
Wayne Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: In a cardboard box
Posts: 1,964
linuxubuntufirefox
Re: What distro are you trying right now?

Not exactly trying distros but different DEs. I've had installed and played around with E17, WindowMaker and OpenBox... So far I like WM best of the three but keep coming back to KDE... Would like to try CDE too
__________________
I used to miss my wife but then my aim improved.
Reply With Quote
  #2457  
Old 18th August 2012, 05:25 PM
jemadux Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Greece
Posts: 61
linuxdebianepiphany
Re: What distro are you trying right now?

just using for main OS Debian Testing

---------- Post added at 09:25 AM ---------- Previous post was at 04:50 AM ----------

and in virtualbox now i am using gNewSense
Reply With Quote
  #2458  
Old 18th August 2012, 06:21 PM
R3v0lut10nary Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 368
linuxfirefox
Re: What distro are you trying right now?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayne View Post
Not exactly trying distros but different DEs. I've had installed and played around with E17, WindowMaker and OpenBox... So far I like WM best of the three but keep coming back to KDE... Would like to try CDE too
How the hell did you get E17 to work?
Reply With Quote
  #2459  
Old 18th August 2012, 06:35 PM
CrimsonKing Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 119
windows_7firefox
Re: What distro are you trying right now?

I presume: Installing it from the repositories?
__________________
An operating system is the tool, not the purpose. · "Ubuntu: The African word for 'Windows is too hard for me'."
Reply With Quote
  #2460  
Old 19th August 2012, 04:58 PM
R3v0lut10nary Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 368
linuxfirefox
Re: What distro are you trying right now?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrimsonKing View Post
I presume: Installing it from the repositories?
Have you tried it?

I did. Then it shows up in the session options from KDM, but when attempting to log in I just get kicked back to the KDM logon screen.

And E17 isn't in Fedora's repositories, that's E16. I followed some instructions posted by Dan -

Code:
su
rpm -Uvh  http://repo.fedora.md/fmd/fedora/fedoramd-release-17.rpm
yum install enlightenment exchange
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best 64-bit distro ihavenoname Using Fedora 17 4th December 2010 03:07 AM
USB Distro eXDee Linux Chat 1 19th January 2008 10:48 AM
which distro for getting a job ? geek.arnuld Linux Chat 10 14th June 2007 06:37 AM
Which distro wallybeckster Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 6 11th April 2007 11:22 AM
Which distro? sloosley Using Fedora 15 29th July 2006 10:22 PM


Current GMT-time: 20:09 (Wednesday, 23-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat